Back Biographies & Memoirs | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Approval Junkie: Adventures in Caring Too Much

Faith Salie · Crown Archetype
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait ... Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of humorous essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval. Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Negroland: A Memoir

Margo Jefferson · Pantheon Books
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAt once incendiary and icy, mischievous and provocative, celebratory and elegiac - here is a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author's rarefied upbringing and education among a black elite concerned with distancing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Train to Crystal City: FDR's Secret Prisoner Exchange Program and America's Only Family Internment Camp During World War II

Jan Jarboe Russell · Scribner
Pages: 393
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling dramatic and never-before-told story of a secret FDR-approved American internment camp in Texas during World War II: "A must-read ... .The Train to Crystal City is compelling, thought-provoking, and impossible to put down" (Star-Tribune, Minneapolis)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreamers and Deceivers: True Stories of the Heroes and Villains Who Made America

Glenn Beck · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

The new nonfiction from #1 bestselling author and popular radio and television host Glenn Beck.THEIR NAMES ARE FAMILIAR.THEIR STORIES ARE NOT.Everyone has heard of a "Ponzi scheme," but do you know what Charles Ponzi actually did to make his name synonymous with fraud? Credit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truevine : a strange and troubling tale of two brothers in jim crow america

Beth Macy · Little
Pages: 420
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BESTSELLER The true story of two African-American brothers who were kidnapped and displayed as circus freaks, and whose mother endured a 28-year struggle to get them back. The year was 1899 and the place a sweltering tobacco farm in the Jim Crow South town of Truevine, Virginia....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nine Essential Things I've Learned About Life

Harold S Kushner · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 171
Format: Print book

From the beloved author of When Bad Things Happen to Good People, deeply moving and illuminating reflections on what it means to live a good life. As a congregational rabbi for half a century and the best-selling author of twelve books on faith, ethics, and how to apply the timeless wisdom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Dance: My Life with Marvin Gaye

Jan Gaye · Amistad Pr
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A riveting cautionary tale about the ecstasy and dangers of loving Marvin Gaye, a performer passionately pursued by all - and a searing memoir of drugs, sex, and old school R&B from the wife of legendary soul icon Marvin Gaye.After her seventeenth birthday in 1973, Janis Hunter met Marvin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bella's Gift: How One Little Girl Transformed Our Family and Inspired a Nation

Rick Santorum · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Rick and Karen Santorum's inspiring story of life with Bella, their special-needs youngest child Four days after Rick and Karen Santorum welcomed their eighth baby into the world they were given the devastating news that their little girl, Bella, was going to die. The full story of life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Genghis Khan and the Quest for God: How the World's Greatest Conqueror Gave Us Religious Freedom

Jack Weatherford · Viking
Pages: 407
Format: Print book

A landmark biography by the New York Times bestselling author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World that reveals how Genghis harnessed the power of religion to rule the largest empire the world has ever known. Throughout history the world's greatest conquerors have made their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Morgue: A Life in Death

Vincent Dimaio · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 268
Format: Print book

Forensic science is booming. TV dramas, books and movies have made morgues cool. Complex technology and intricate research can take curdled blood, bone shards, and flakes of skin and turn them into justice. And Vincent Di Maio, MD, son of a famous New York City medical examiner, is one of the lions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life

Ruth Franklin · Liveright
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Notable Book of 2016 A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Pick of 2016 An Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016 A Time Magazine Top Nonfiction of 2016 A Seattle Times Best Book of 2016 A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2016 An NPR 2016's Great Read A Boston Globe Best Book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Even This I Get to Experience

Norman Lear · Penguin Press; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

"This is, flat out, one of the best Hollywood memoirs ever written ... An absolute treasure." --Booklist (STARRED)In my ninety-plus years I've lived a multitude of lives. In the course of all these lives, I had a front-row seat at the birth of television; wrote, produced,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swansong 1945: A Collective Diary of the Last Days of the Third Reich

Walter Kempowski · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A monumental work of history that captures the last days of the Third Reich as never before.Swansong 1945 chronicles the end of Nazi Germany and World War II in Europe through hundreds of letters, diaries, and autobiographical accounts covering four days that fateful spring: Hitler's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
As Night Falls: A Novel

Jenny Milchman · Ballantine Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family - a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.Sandy Tremont has always tried...
Read More check catalog