Back Biographies & Memoirs | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Charlie Chaplin: A Brief Life

Peter Ackroyd · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A brief yet definitive new biography of one of film's greatest legends: perfect for readers who want to know more about the iconic star but who don't want to commit to a lengthy work.He was the very first icon of the silver screen and is one of the most recognizable of Hollywood faces,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The dead duke, his secret wife, and the missing corpse : an extraordinary Edwardian case of deception and intrigue

Piu Marie Eatwell · Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, 2015.
Pages: 338
Format: Print book

"One of the most notorious and bizarre mysteries of the Edwardian age, for readers who loved The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher. At the close of the Victorian era, as now, privacy was power. The extraordinarily wealthy 5th Duke of Portland had a mania for it, hiding in his horsedrawn carriage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Settle for More

Megyn Kelly · Harper
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

Click Here For the Autographed Copy Anchor of the number one news show on cable, The Kelly File, Fox News Channel's Megyn Kelly writes her much anticipated book, a revealing and surprising memoir detailing her rise as one of the most respected journalists working today. From the values...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stalin: Volume I: Paradoxes of Power, 1878-1928

Stephen Kotkin · Penguin Press; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A magnificent new biography that revolutionizes our understanding of Stalin and his worldIt has the quality of myth a poor cobblers son, a seminarian from an oppressed outer province of the Russian empire, reinvents himself as a top leader in a band of revolutionary zealots. When the band...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Hate Everyone, Except You

Clinton Kelly · Gallery Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly pens a hilariously candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult.Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Called to Be Amish: My Journey from Head Majorette to the Old Order

Marlene C Miller · Herald Press, 2015.
Pages: 255
Format: Print book

Fewer than one hundred people have joined the Old Order Amish and stayed since 1950. Marlene C. Miller is one of them. In this rare memoir, Marlene recounts her unhappy and abusive childhood, how she throws herself into cheerleading and marching band, and how she falls in love with Johnny,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Goddess Pose: The Audacious Life of Indra Devi, the Woman Who Helped Bring Yoga to the West

Michelle Goldberg
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

When the woman who would become Indra Devi was born in Russia in 1899, yoga was virtually unknown outside of India. By the time of her death, in 2002, it was being practiced everywhere, from Brooklyn to Berlin to Ulaanbaatar. In The Goddess Pose, New York Times best-selling author Michelle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not Dead Yet

Phil Collins · Crown Archetype
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Phil Collins pulls no punches - about himself, his life, or the ecstasy and heartbreak that's inspired his music. In his much-awaited memoir, Not Dead Yet, he tells the story of his epic career, with an auspicious debut at age 11 in a crowd shot from the Beatles' legendary film A Hard Day's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Underground in Berlin: A Young Woman's Extraordinary Tale of Survival in the Heart of Nazi Germany

Marie Jalowicz Simon · Knopf Canada; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

By turns thrilling and terrifying, Underground in Berlin is the autobiographical account of a young Jewish woman who ripped off her yellow star and survived the war by going underground from 1942 to 1945.     Berlin, 1941. Marie Jalowicz Simon, a 19-year-old Jewish woman, makes an extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Girls: The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina DeJesus

John Glatt · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling crime writer John Glatt tells the true story behind the kidnappings and long-overdue rescue of three women found in a Cleveland basement.The Lost Girls tells the truly amazing story of Amanda Berry, Gina DeJesus and Michelle Knight, who were kidnapped, imprisoned,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young and Damned and Fair: The Life of Catherine Howard, Fifth Wife of King Henry VIII

Gareth Russell · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

Written with an exciting combination of narrative flair and historical authority, this interpretation of the tragic life of Catherine Howard, fifth wife of Henry VIII, breaks new ground in our understanding of the very young woman who became queen at a time of unprecedented social and political...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man in the Monster: An Intimate Portrait of a Serial Killer

Martha Elliott · Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

An astonishing portrait of a murderer and his complex relationship with a crusading journalistMichael Ross was a serial killer who raped and murdered eight young women between 1981 and 1984, and several years ago the state of Connecticut put him to death. His crimes were horrific, and he paid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chick and the Dead: Life and Death Behind Mortuary Doors

CARLA VALENTINE · ST MARTIN'S Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Carla Valentine works with the dead. After studying forensics, she assisted pathologists with post-mortems for years before becoming the curator of the world's most famous pathology museum. When it comes to death, she truly is an expert, and in this book she shares that expertise. Using...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Notorious RBG : the life and times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Irin Carmon · DEY ST.
Pages: 227
Format: Print book

Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg never asked for fame -- she was just trying to make the world a little better and a little freer. But along the way, the feminist pioneer's searing dissents and steely strength have inspired millions. Notorious RBG takes you behind the myth for an intimate,...
Read More check catalog