Back All Non-Fiction | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Excellent Daughters: The Secret Lives of Young Women Who Are Transforming the Arab World

Katherine Zoepf · Penguin Press
Pages: 258
Format: Print book

For more than a decade, Katherine Zoepf has lived in or traveled throughout the Arab world, reporting on the lives of women, whose role in the region has never been more in flux. Only a generation ago, female adolescence as we know it in the West did not exist in the Middle East. There...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans

Gary Krist · Crown; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Gary Krist, a vibrant and immersive account of New Orleans' other civil war, at a time when commercialized vice, jazz culture, and endemic crime defined the battlegrounds of the Crescent City Empire of Sin re-creates the remarkable story of New Orleans'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI

David Grann · Doubleday
Pages: 338
Format: Hardcover

From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history In the 1920s, the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink

Juliana Barbassa · Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Detroit: An American Autopsy and Maximum City comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa.Juliana Barbassa moved a great deal throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 Years Younger Instant Makeovers: The Quick & Easy Anti-Aging Plan for Beautiful Skin, Hair, Mind & Body

Editors of Woman's Day · 7YY
Format: Hardcover

7 Years Younger Instant Makeovers
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Brothers: The Road to an American Tragedy

Masha Gessen · Riverhead Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An important story for our era: How the American Dream went wrong for two immigrants, and the nightmare that resulted. On April 15, 2013, two homemade bombs exploded near the finish line of the Boston marathon, killing three people and wounding more than 264 others. In the ensuing manhunt,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Survived Ted Bundy: The Attack, Escape & PTSD that Changed My Life

Rhonda Stapley · Galaxy-44 Publishing, LLC
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

She was an innocent Mormon girl. He was America's most notorious serial killer. When their paths crossed on a quiet autumn afternoon, he planned to kill her. But this victim had an incredible will to survive and would live to tell her story nearly three decades after he met death in a Florida...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kaplan ASVAB 2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with 4 Practice Tests: Book Online

Kaplan · Kaplan Publishing
Pages: 588
Format: Paperback

Kaplan's ASVAB 2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with 4 Practice Tests is a print online mobile study system that prepares you to succeed on the ASVAB and AFQT, with extensive review of all ASVAB subject tests. Kaplan's ASVAB 2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review includes:4...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meb For Mortals: How to Run, Think, and Eat like a Champion Marathoner

Scott Douglas · Rodale Books
Format: Print book

With his historic win at the 2014 Boston Marathon, Meb Keflezighi cemented his legacy as one of the great champions of long-distance running. Runners everywhere wanted to know how someone two weeks away from his 39th birthday, who had only the 15th best time going into the race, could defeat...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dressmaking: The Indispensable Guide

Julia Fallon · Firefly Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A practical illustrated guide to techniques, tools and troubleshooting from a couture dressmaker. This book is a beautifully presented and comprehensive resource for dressmakers new to the craft and for those who want to take their skills further. It features scores of step-by-step...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infectious Madness: The Surprising Science of How We "Catch" Mental Illness

Harriet A Washington · Little, Brown and Company, 2015.
Pages: 292
Format: Print book

A groundbreaking look at the connection between germs and mental illness, and how we can protect ourselves. Is it possible to catch autism or OCD the same way we catch the flu? Can a child's contact with cat litter lead to schizophrenia? In her eye-opening new book, National Book Critics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 Years Younger The Anti-Aging Breakthrough Diet: Lose 20 Pounds

Editors of Good Housekeeping · 7YY; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Get slimmer and younger in just 7 short weeks! Banish the wrinkles and the fat with this delicious and - yes! - proven-to-work big time weight loss plan for men and women. It's built on the foods science shows deliver cutting-edge anti-aging benefits. Adopt this easy-to-follow 7-week...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Absence: Reclaiming What We’ve Lost in a World of Constant Connection

Michael Harris · Current
Format: Hardcover

Soon enough nobody will remember life before the Internet What does this unavoidable fact mean For future generations it wont mean anything very obvious They will be so immersed in online life that questions about the Internets basic purpose or meaning will vanish But those of us who have...
Read More check catalog