Back All Non-Fiction | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
American Governor: Chris Christie's Bridge to Redemption

Matt Katz · Threshold Editions
Pages: 452
Format: Print book

The ultimate insider to Chris Christie's 2016 presidential campaign delivers a definitive biography of the popular and controversial governor of New Jersey - including the true story behind the Bridgegate lane-closure scandal.

Journalist Matt Katz has been covering Christie since...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eat Delicious: 125 Recipes for Your Daily Dose of Awesome

Dennis Prescott · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Energetic, classic, adventurous and completely satisfying, Eat Delicious is packed with stunning photography and big bold recipes-- perfect for fans of Jamie Oliver, Smitten Kitchen and the hundreds of thousands of followers of Dennis the Prescott on Instagram.From the creator of the wildly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fodor's Alaska 2015

Fodor's · Fodor's; Fol Pap/Ma edition
Format: Print book

Fodor's correspondents highlight the best of Alaska, including Anchorage, Denali National Park, Mendenhall Glacier, and cruises along the Inside Passage. Our local experts vet every recommendation to ensure you make the most of your time, whether it's your first trip or your fifth....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Called to Be Amish: My Journey from Head Majorette to the Old Order

Marlene C Miller · Herald Press, 2015.
Pages: 255
Format: Print book

Fewer than one hundred people have joined the Old Order Amish and stayed since 1950. Marlene C. Miller is one of them. In this rare memoir, Marlene recounts her unhappy and abusive childhood, how she throws herself into cheerleading and marching band, and how she falls in love with Johnny,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nevertheless: A Memoir

Alec Baldwin · Harpercollins
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

One of the most accomplished and outspoken actors today chronicles the highs and lows of his life in this beautifully written, candid memoir.

Over the past three decades, Alec Baldwin has established himself as one of Hollywood's most gifted, hilarious, and controversial leading...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow: My Life

Sophia Loren · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

In her first memoir, the Academy Awardwinning actress Sophia Loren tells her incredible life story from the struggles of her childhood in war-torn Naples to her life as a screen legend, icon of elegance, and devoted mother. In her acting career spanning more than six decades, Sophia Loren...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor and hick : the love affair that shaped a first lady

Susan Quinn · Penguin Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

A warm, intimate account of the love between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok - a relationship that, over more than three decades, transformed both women's lives and empowered them to play significant roles in one of the most tumultuous periods in American history

In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Selected Letters of Langston Hughes

Langston Hughes · Knopf
Format: Hardcover

This is the first comprehensive selection from the correspondence of the iconic and beloved Langston Hughes. It offers a life in letters that showcases his many struggles as well as his memorable achievements. Arranged by decade and linked by expert commentary, the volume guides us through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meatless in Cowtown: A Vegetarian Guide to Food and Wine, Texas-Style

Laura Samuel Meyn · Running Press
Format: Print book

Inside the test kitchens of Bon Appetit, Laura Samuel Meyn and Anthony Head repeatedly found themselves the lone vegetarians at a table of carnivores, but this never deterred them from eating the foods they loved, even after they both moved to meat-loving Texas. In Meatless in Cowtown they've...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Food Swings: 125 Recipes to Enjoy Your Life of Virtue & Vice

Jessica Seinfeld · Ballantine
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An all-new collection of more than 125 delectable recipes perfect for the reality of the actual human experience: sometimes healthy, sometimes indulgent - delicious, either way

Food Swings offers a range of simple and satisfying recipes that speak to both...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Can't Kill Us All: The Story of #blacklivesmatter

Wesley Lowery · Little
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The first book to go behind the barricades of #blacklivesmatter to tell the story of the young men and women who are calling for a new America. In a closely reported book that draws on his own experience as a young biracial journalist, "Washington Post "reporter Wesley Lowery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Decks

David Toht · The Taunton Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Building a deck is one of the most popular outdoor projects for home DIYers. The job takes time and effort, but if you have some basic carpentry skills and the right tools, and you work slowly, carefully, and safely, you can produce a great-looking deck that you can be proud of.

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mad Hungry Family: 120 Essential Recipes to Feed the Whole Crew

Lucinda Scala Quinn · Artisan
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Author of the beloved Mad Hungry: Feeding Men and Boys, Lucinda Scala Quinn is the country's foremost evangelist for family meals every day of the week. And she knows that the only way to make them a reality is by building a repertoire of dishes that are quick and easy to prepare,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inheritance: A Family on the Front Lines of the Battle Against Alzheimer's Disease

Niki Kapsambelis · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring race against time: The courageous, hopeful story of the one family who may hold the key to finding a cure for Alzheimer's disease.

Every sixty-nine seconds, someone is diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Of the top ten killers, it is the only disease for which there...
Read More check catalog