Back Entertainment | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Life Moves Pretty Fast: The Lessons We Learned from Eighties Movies

Hadley Freeman - Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From Vogue contributor and Guardian columnist Hadley Freeman, a personalized guide to eighties movies that describes why they changed movie-making forever - featuring exclusive interviews with the producers, directors, writers and stars of the best cult classics.

For...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebel Homemaker: Food, Family, Life

Drew Barrymore - ?Dutton
Format: Hardcover

In her first lifestyle book, she'll take you inside her kitchen and her life, featuring thirty-six amazing recipes, from Yuzu Eggs to Brie and Apple Sandwiches to Harissa Spaghetti, which she developed along with chef Pilar Valdes, a personal friend and a regular guest on Drew's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

Maurice Carlos Ruffin - One World
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son - even if it means turning him white

"An incisive and necessary work of brilliant satire." - Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist

"You...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Class

Lucinda Rosenfeld - Little
Pages: 341
Format: Print book

A satirical novel about a mother whose life spirals out of control when she's forced to rethink her bleeding heart liberal ideals

For idealistic forty-something Karen Kipple, it isn't enough that she works full-time in the non-profit sector, aiding an organization that helps hungry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Italian Bulldozer: A Novel

Alexander Mccall Smith - Pantheon
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From one of our most beloved and best-selling authors: a hilarious new stand-alone novel about one man's misadventures in travel and romance in the Italian countryside.


When writer Paul Stewart heads to the idyllic Italian town of Montalcino to finish his already overdue cookbook,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Always a Bridesmaid

Jen Glantz - Atria Books
Pages: 220
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Sloane Crosley, Mindy Kaling, and Katie Heaney, a hilarious and insightful memoir about one New York City Millennial's journey to find herself, her dream career, and true love, all while juggling a truly unique job as the world's only professional bridesmaid.

After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Reason You're Alive: A Novel

MATTHEW QUICK - Harper
Pages: 226
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook offers a timely novel featuring his most fascinating character yet, a Vietnam vet embarking on a quixotic crusade to track down his nemesis from the war.

After sixty-eight-year-old David Granger crashes his BMW,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Antoni in the Kitchen

Antoni Porowski - Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Antoni Porowski, the food and wine guru on Netflix's sensation Queer Eye, meets people where they live - literally. With appealing vulnerability, he shows cooks of all levels how to become more confident and casual in the kitchen. The verve and naturalness of his approach earned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Romeo and/or Juliet: A Chooseable-Path Adventure

Ryan North - Riverhead Books, 2016.
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Romeo loves Juliet. Or Rosaline. And Juliet loves Romeo. Or Viola. Or Orlando. It's Shakespeare as you've never played him before.

In this choose-your-own-path version of Romeo and Juliet, you choose where the story goes every time you read! What if Romeo never met Juliet?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Clothes Make the Girl

Brittany Gibbons - Dey Street Books
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

A sartorial follow-up to her hilarious memoir in stories, Fat Girl Walking, internet personality Brittany Gibbons once again deep dives into the world of the plus size woman, this time chronicling her love/hate (but mostly hate) relationship with what fashion.

From Pinterest...

Read More check catalog