Back All Non-Fiction | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Schott's Quintessential Miscellany

Ben Schott · Bloomsbury USA

In 2003, a curious, old-fashioned, pocket-size book transformed the way we look at information. Since then, Schott's Original Miscellany and its two sequel volumes have been translated into more than fifteen languages and have sold some three million copies.Now Ben Schott returns to the miscellany...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freedom of Speech: Mightier Than the Sword

David K. Shipler · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A provocative, timely assessment of the state of free speech in America With his best seller The Working Poor, Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times veteran David K. Shipler cemented his place among our most trenchant social commentators. Now he turns his incisive reporting to a critical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
World Order

Henry Kissinger · Penguin Books
Pages: 420
Format: Print book

Walter Isaacson, Time:"Dazzling and instructive... [a] magisterial new book."Henry Kissinger offers in World Order a deep meditation on the roots of international harmony and global disorder. Drawing on his experience as one of the foremost statesmen of the modern era - advising...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jesus on Trial: A Lawyer Affirms the Truth of the Gospel

David Limbaugh · Regnery Publishing; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller!In Jesus on Trial, David Limbaugh applies his lifetime of legal experience to a unique new undertaking: making a case for the gospels as hard evidence of the life and work of Jesus Christ. Limbaugh, a practicing attorney and former professor of law, approaches...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plankton: Wonders of the Drifting World

Christian Sardet · University Of Chicago Press
Format: Hardcover

Ask anyone to picture a bird or a fish and a series of clear images will immediately come to mind. Ask the same person to picture plankton and most would have a hard time conjuring anything beyond a vague squiggle or a greyish fleck. This book will change that forever. Viewing these creatures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alpha Docs: The Making of a Cardiologist

Daniel Muñoz · Random House Inc
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Scott Turow's One L and Atul Gawande's Better comes a real-time, real-life chronicle from an impassioned young doctor on the front lines of high-stakes cardiology.It takes drive, persistence, and plenty of stamina to practice cardiology at the highest level....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way Forward: Renewing the American Idea

Paul Ryan · Grand Central Pub
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the intellectual leader of the Republican party, an unvarnished look into the state of the conservative movement today and a clear plan for what needs to be done to save the American Idea.THE WAY FORWARD challenges conventional thinking, outlines his political vision for 2014 and beyond,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death of Caesar: The Story of History's Most Famous Assassination

Barry Strauss · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The exciting, dramatic story of one of history's most famous events - the death of Julius Caesar - now placed in full context of Rome's civil wars by eminent historian Barry Strauss.Thanks to William Shakespeare, the death of Julius Caesar is the most famous assassination in history....
Read More check catalog