Back Psychology & Philosophy | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
Ancestors: Who We Are and Where We Come From

David Hertzel · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

People involve their ancestors in every aspect of culture. Individuals and societies worldwide and throughout history have incorporated ancestors into rituals public and private, religious and secular. Societies often organize their aristocracies, tribes, and other kinship groups around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue Dreams: The Science and the Story of the Drugs that Changed Our Minds

Lauren Slater · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A start-to-finish narrative history of our major psychotropic drugs, from "a thoroughly exhilarating and entertaining writer" (Washington Post) . As our approach to mental illness has oscillated from biological to psychoanalytical and back again, so have our treatments. With...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Careful: A User's Guide to Our Injury-Prone Minds

STEVE CASNER · Riverhead Books
Pages: 326
Format: Hardcover

"Gripping, page-turning material . . . a new way of thinking about survival in a world filled with hazards and distractions." - Charles Duhigg, author of Smarter Faster Better and The Power of HabitA safety expert reveals why few of us are as careful as we think we are, and what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dangerous Case of Donald Trump: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess a President

Bandy X Lee · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The consensus view of two dozen psychiatrists and psychologists that Trump is dangerously mentally ill and that he presents a clear and present danger to the nation and our own mental health.This is not normal.Since the start of Donald Trump's presidential run, one question has quietly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Fall in Love with Anyone: A Memoir in Essays

MANDY LEN CATRON · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 238
Format: Hardcover

An insightful, charming, and absolutely fascinating memoir from the author of the popular New York Times essay, "To Fall in Love with Anyone, Do This," (one of the top five most popular New York Times pieces of 2015) explores the romantic myths we create and explains how they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inkblots: Hermann Rorschach, His Iconic Test, and the Power of Seeing

Damion Searls · Crown
Pages: 405
Format: Hardcover

The captivating, untold story of Hermann Rorschach and his famous inkblot test In 1917, working alone in a remote Swiss asylum, psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach devised an experiment to probe the human mind: a set of ten carefully designed inkblots. For years he had grappled with the theories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It Takes One to Tango: How I Rescued My Marriage with (Almost) No Help from My Spouse?and How You Can, Too

Winifred M Reilly · Touchstone
Pages: 288
Format: Book

With a focus on self-empowerment and resilience, this refreshing and witty relationship guide has a reassuring counterintuitive message for unhappy spouses: you only need one partner to initiate far-reaching positive change in a marriage. Conventional wisdom says that "it takes two"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Most Important Year: Pre-Kindergarten and the Future of Our Children

Suzanne M Bouffard · Avery
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

An eye-opening look inside pre-K in America and what it will take to give all children the best start in school possible. At the heart of this groundbreaking book are two urgent questions: What do our young children need in the earliest years of school, and how do we ensure that they all get it? Cutting-edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention

Meredith Maran · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a "lusty, kickass*" post-divorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life's savings, and the collapse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Password

Martin Paul Eve · Bloomsbury
Pages: 124
Format: Print book

Object Lessons is a series of short, beautifully designed books about the hidden lives of ordinary things.Where does a password end and an identity begin? A person might be more than his chosen ten-character combination, but does a bank know that? Or an email provider? What's an 'identity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Psychology Book

Nigel Benson · DK
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology. From its philosophical roots through behaviorism, psychotherapy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Refrigerator

Jonathan Rees · Bloomsbury Academic, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., 2015.
Pages: 124
Format: Print book

Object Lessons is a series of short, beautifully designed books about the hidden lives of ordinary things. It may be responsible for a greater improvement in human diet and longevity than any other technology of the last two thousand years-but have you ever thought seriously about your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shooting Ghosts: A U.S. Marine, a Combat Photographer, and Their Journey Back from War

THOMAS J BRENNAN · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"A majestic book." --Bessel van der Kolk, MD, author of The Body Keeps the ScoreA unique joint memoir by a U.S. Marine and a conflict photographer whose unlikely friendship helped both heal their war-wounded bodies and souls"The dueling-piano spirit of SHOOTING GHOSTS works...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stars in Our Eyes: The Famous, the Infamous, and Why We Care Way Too Much About Them

JULIE KLAM · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Julie Klam comes a lively and engaging exploration of celebrity: why celebrities fascinate us, what it means to be famous today, and why celebrities are so important. "When I was young I was convinced celebrities could save me," Julie Klam admits in The Stars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU

Mike Dooley · Hay House, Inc.; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

“I know this may come as a shock, and you know I’m not fond of using stale one-liners, but—‘reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated.’ I’m as alive now as I was on the day we met, except, maybe, more so.”      If the dead...
Read More check catalog