Back Ages 9-12 | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called Life

Kwame Alexander · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller! You gotta know the rules to play the game. Ball is life. Take it to the hoop. Soar. What can we imagine for our lives? What if we were the star players, moving and grooving through the game of life? What if we had our own rules of the game to help us get what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gorillas

Katie Marsico · Children's Press
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

The largest of todays primates, gorillas are among humans closest relatives in the animal kingdom. In the wild, they face few natural enemies. However, human activities are threatening these animals survival. Readers will learn what life is like for wild gorillas and why these amazing animals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ali's Knockout Punch: How a Photograph Stunned the Boxing World

Michael Burgan
Format: Library Binding

Its one of the most famous sports images of all time. Former heavyweight boxing champion Sonny Liston is sprawled on his back in the boxing rim. Muhammad Ali stands over Liston, holding his right hand as if ready to throw another punch. The reigning world champion had just thrown
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pottymouth and Stoopid

JAMES PATTERSON · jimmy patterson
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author James Patterson's best book for boys in years! Tired of being bullied, middle-school underdogs "Pottymouth" and "Stoopid" finally fight back with the power of funny.David and his best friend Michael were tagged with awful nicknames way back in preschool...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best of Sonic the Hedgehog Comics: Ultimate Edition

Sonic Scribes · Archie Comic
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

After nearly twenty years of comics, specials and mini-series, SONIC THE HEDGEHOG has hundreds of great stories to his name! Through the laughs and thrills, the action and adventure, the highs and lows, some stories stand out among the rest. Join us for the ultimate anthology of Sonic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Was Jane Austen?

SARAH FABINY · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: eBook

Step into the world of Georgian England and learn more about the genteel life of this beloved author.Although Jane Austen's works were first published anonymously and brought her little personal recognition, today they are rarely out of print and have inspired movies, television shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Wouldn't Want to Live in Pompeii!

John Malam · Franklin Watts
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Get ready . . . as a trusted slave in a quiet Roman town in 79 CE, youre about to undergo the most terrifying experience of your life. Youll never forget what its like to live in Pompeii. Find out all about the horrible fate of the residents of Pompeii, what remains of the town today, and how Vesuvius'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pashmina

NIDHI CHANANI · First Second
Pages: 161
Format: Hardcover

Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her mother abandon her home in India years ago? What was it like there? And most importantly, who is her father, and why did her mom leave him behind? But Pri's mom avoids these questions -- the topic of India is permanently closed.For...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invention of the Atomic Bomb

Clara Maccarald · The Childs World Inc
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Gives readers a behind-the-scenes look at the invention of the atomic bomb. Additional features include a table of contents, a Fast Facts spread, critical-thinking questions, primary source quotes and accompanying source notes, a phonetic glossary, an index, and sources for further research....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Griffin's Feather

Cornelia Funke · Chicken House
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

It's now been two years since Ben and Firedrake defeated Nettlebrand and rescued the silver dragons. Both boy and dragon have finally found homes, but they must live hundreds of miles apart and can only see each other every once in a while.During one such visit, news reaches Ben, the Greenblooms,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River Between Us

Richard Peck · Puffin Books
Pages: 164
Format: Paperback

The year is 1861. Civil war is imminent and Tilly Pruitt's brother, Noah, is eager to go and fight on the side of the North. With her father long gone, Tilly, her sister, and their mother struggle to make ends meet and hold the dwindling Pruitt family together. Then one night a mysterious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meatless?: A Fresh Look At What You Eat

Sarah Elton · Owlkids Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Humans are eating more meat than ever before. At the same time, vegetarianism is capturing more widespread attention. From Meatless Mondays to vegan options, people are talking more about meat and whether or not to eat it. Journalist Sarah Elton tackles the topic by explaining what vegetarianism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fight to Learn: The Struggle to Go to School

Laura Scandiffio · Annick Press
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

In many countries around the world, universal access to education is a seemingly unattainable dream; however, determined individuals with vision and drive have made this dream come true for many. This book highlights people such as Okello, a former child soldier in Uganda, who founded a school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Here Comes Trouble

Kate Hattemer · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious story of a wannabe-reformed-prankster perfect for readers who loved Dead End in Norvelt and Better Nate Than Never.Soren Skaar is a notorious prankster. After his partner-in-pranking-crime moves away, Soren's ready to leave his life of causing trouble behind. But when his hipster...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freedom of Speech

Jenny Mason · Gareth Stevens Publishing
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Sometimes, citizens believe having freedom of speech means they can say anything with no consequences. But over time, laws and Supreme Court rulings have limited the full freedom of this right to exclude hate speech and other potentially harmful expressions. Through examples, historical...
Read More check catalog