Back Science | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Science Hacks

Colin Barras · Cassell
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

With Science Hacks, you no longer need a PhD to understand the fascinating ideas behind science's greatest theories and discoveries. This latest addition to the ingenious new Hacks series will show you a technique for understanding and, crucially, remembering 100 of the most important...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War

MARY ROACH · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A New York Times / National Bestseller "America's funniest science writer" (Washington Post) Mary Roach explores the science of keeping human beings intact, awake, sane, uninfected, and uninfested in the bizarre and extreme circumstances of war.Grunt tackles the science behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hacking of the American Mind: The Science Behind the Corporate Takeover of Our Bodies and Brains

ROBERT H LUSTIG · Avery
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

"Explores how industry has manipulated our most deep-seated survival instincts." - David Perlmutter, MD, Author, #1 New York Times bestseller, Grain Brain and Brain MakerThe New York Times-bestselling author of Fat Chance reveals the corporate scheme to sell pleasure, driving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gene Machine: How Genetic Technologies Are Changing the Way We Have Kids--and the Kids We Have

Bonnie Rochman · Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A sharp-eyed exploration of the promise and peril of having children in an age of genetic tests and interventionsIs screening for disease in an embryo a humane form of family planning or a slippery slope toward eugenics? Should doctors tell you that your infant daughter is genetically predisposed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Math: A Teenage Genius and His Teacher Reveal the Strange Connections Between Math and Everyday Life

David Darling · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A successful science writer and a teenage math prodigy reveal the complex mathematics that is all around usEveryone has stared at the crumpled page of a math assignment and wondered, where on Earth will I ever use this? It turns out, Earth is precisely the place. As teen math prodigy Agnijo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Everything Parent's Guide to Common Core Math, Grades K-5: Understand the New Math Standards to Help Your Children Learn and Succeed

Robyn Ricci Wood · Adams Media Corporation
Format:  Book : English

The Common Core, a new set of national educational standards, focus on critical thinking and conceptual understanding. Brennan provides examples and exercises that correspond to each standard of the new Common Core national standards for math to grade 5, so you'll have the confidence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Popular: The Power of Likability in a Status-Obsessed World

MITCH PRINSTEIN · Viking
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

A leading psychologist examines how our popularity affects our success, our relationships, and our happiness - and why we don't always want to be the most popularNo matter how old you are, there's a good chance that the word "popular" immediately transports you back to your teenage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Butchering Art: Joseph Lister's Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine

Lindsey Fitzharris · Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A Top 10 Science Book of Fall 2017, Publishers WeeklyThe gripping story of how Joseph Lister's antiseptic method changed medicine foreverIn The Butchering Art, the historian Lindsey Fitzharris reveals the shocking world of nineteenth-century surgery and shows how it was transformed by advances...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Earth Gazers: On Seeing Ourselves

CHRISTOPHER POTTER · Pegasus Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

It will soon be the fiftieth anniversary of the first manned mission to the moon, when men first saw for themselves the Earth as a sphere falling through space -- they saw a world without borders and these images continue to give hope and inspire.Only twenty-four people have seen the whole...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Science in the Soul: Selected Shorter Writings

RICHARD DAWKINS · Random House
Pages: 438
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The legendary biologist and bestselling author mounts a timely and passionate defense of science and clear thinking with this career-spanning collection of essays, including twenty pieces published in the United States for the first time. For decades, Richard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between Hope and Fear: A History of Vaccines and Human Immunity

MICHAEL KINCH · Pegasus Books
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

A smart and compelling examination of the science of immunity, the public policy implications of vaccine denial, and the real-world outcomes of failing to vaccinate. If you have a child in school, you may have heard stories of long-dormant diseases suddenly reappearing -- cases of measles,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Astronomy Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

INC DORLING KINDERSLEY · DK
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An essential guide to milestone developments in astronomy, telling the story of our ideas about space, time, and the physics of the cosmos - from ancient times to the present day.From planets and stars to black holes and the Big Bang, take a journey through the wonders of the universe....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perpetual Now: A Story of Amnesia, Memory, and Love

Michael Lemonick · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the aftermath of a shattering illness, Lonni Sue Johnson lives in a "perpetual now," where she has almost no memories of the past and a nearly complete inability to form new ones. The Perpetual Now is the moving story of this exceptional woman, and the groundbreaking revelations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rise of Yeast: How the Sugar Fungus Shaped Civilization

Nicholas P Money · Oxford University Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The great Victorian biologist Thomas Huxley once wrote, "I know of no familiar substance forming part of our every-day knowledge and experience, the examination of which, with a little care, tends to open up such very considerable issues as does yeast." Huxley was right. Beneath...
Read More check catalog