Back Science | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Astronomy For Dummies

STEPHEN P MARAN · For Dummies
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Your updated guide to exploring the night sky Do you know the difference between a red giant and a white dwarf? From asteroids to black holes, this easy-to-understand guide takes you on a grand tour of the universe. Featuring updated star maps, charts, and an insert with gorgeous full-color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Drug Hunters: The Improbable Quest to Discover New Medicines

Donald R Kirsch · W W Norton
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

The surprising, behind-the-scenes story of how our medicines are discovered, told by a veteran drug hunter.The search to find medicines is as old as disease, which is to say as old as the human race. Through serendipity - by chewing, brewing, and snorting - some Neolithic souls discovered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everyday Mathematics for Parents: What You Need to Know to Help Your Child Succeed

Kathleen Pitvorec · University Of Chicago Press
Format: Print book

The Everyday Mathematics (EM) program was developed by the University of Chicago School Mathematics Project (UCSMP) and is in use in more than 185,000 classrooms by almost three million students. Its research-based learning delivers the kinds of results that all school districts aspire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Glass Universe

Dava Sobel · Viking
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

New from #1 New York Times bestselling author Dava Sobel, the "inspiring" (People) , little-known true story of women's landmark contributions to astronomy"A joy to read." - The Wall Street JournalNamed one of the best books of the year by NPR, The Economist, Smithsonian,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If Our Bodies Could Talk : A Guide To Operating And Maintaining A Human Body

James Hamblin · Doubleday
Format: Paperback

"If you want to understand the strange workings of the human body, and the future of medicine, you must read this illuminating, engaging book." --SiddharthaMukherjee,author ofThe Gene In 2014, James Hamblin launched a series of videos for The Atlantic called "If Our Bodies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Improbable Destinies: Fate, Chance, and the Future of Evolution

Jonathan B Losos · Riverhead Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A major new work overturning our assumptions about how evolution works Earth's natural history is full of fascinating instances of convergence: phenomena like eyes and wings and tree-climbing lizards that have evolved independently, multiple times. But evolutionary biologists also point...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Popular: The Power of Likability in a Status-Obsessed World

MITCH PRINSTEIN · Viking
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

A leading psychologist examines how our popularity affects our success, our relationships, and our happiness - and why we don't always want to be the most popularNo matter how old you are, there's a good chance that the word "popular" immediately transports you back to your teenage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rise of Yeast: How the Sugar Fungus Shaped Civilization

Nicholas P Money · Oxford University Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The great Victorian biologist Thomas Huxley once wrote, "I know of no familiar substance forming part of our every-day knowledge and experience, the examination of which, with a little care, tends to open up such very considerable issues as does yeast." Huxley was right. Beneath...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River of Consciousness

Oliver Sacks · Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of Gratitude, On the Move, and Musicophilia, a collection of essays that displays Oliver Sacks's passionate engagement with the most compelling and seminal ideas of human endeavor: evolution, creativity, memory, time, consciousness, and experience. Oliver Sacks,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Schaum's Easy Outline of Human Anatomy and Physiology, Second Edition

Kent Van De Graaff · McGraw-Hill; 2 edition
Format: Paperback

When you need just the essentials of human anatomy and physiology, this Easy Outlines book is there to help If you are looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview of human anatomy and physiology, it’s got to be Schaum's Easy Outline. This book is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Seeds of Life: From Aristotle to da Vinci, from Sharks' Teeth to Frogs' Pants, the Long and Strange Quest to Discover Where Babies Come From

Edward Dolnick · Basic Books
Pages: 309
Format: Hardcover

Why cracking the code of human conception took centuries of wild theories, misogynist blunders, and ludicrous mistakes Throughout most of human history, babies were surprises. People knew the basics: men and women had sex, and sometimes babies followed. But beyond that the origins of life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
Read More check catalog