Back Professional & Technical | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Professional & Technical  
The Big Picture: The Fight for the Future of Movies

Ben Fritz · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The stunning metamorphosis of twenty-first-century Hollywood and what lies ahead for the art and commerce of film In the past decade, Hollywood has endured a cataclysm on a par with the end of silent film and the demise of the studio system. Stars and directors have seen their power dwindle,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bringing Columbia Home: The Untold Story of a Lost Space Shuttle and Her Crew

Michael Leinbach · Arcade Publishing
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Mike Leinbach was the launch director of the space shuttle program when Columbia disintegrated on reentry before a nation's eyes on February 1, 2003. And it would be Mike Leinbach who would be a key leader in the search and recovery effort as NASA, FEMA, the FBI, the US Forest Service,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Burn the Business Plan: What Great Entrepreneurs Really Do

Carl J. Schramm · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"The evangelist of entrepreneurship" (The Economist) reveals the true stories about how a range of entrepreneurs created their successful start-ups: hint, many of them never began with a business plan.Business schools teach that the most important prerequisite for starting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CompTIA A Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Ninth Edition

Mike Meyers · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 1473
Format: Hardcover

This bestselling on-the-job reference and test preparation guide has been fully revised for the new 2015 CompTIA A+ exam objectives for exams 901 & 902Written by the leading authority on CompTIA A+ certification and training, this self-study book and CD has been thoroughly updated to cover...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CompTIA Network+ All-In-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition

Mike Meyers · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 872
Format: Hardcover

From Mike Meyers, the #1 name in CompTIA training and exam preparation, a thorough revision of his bestselling exam guide -- updated to cover the 2015 release of the CompTIA Network+ exam. Get complete coverage of all the CompTIA Network+ exam objectives inside this comprehensive resource....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Comptia Security All-in-one Exam Guide Exam Sy0-501

· McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 647
Format: CD-ROM

This fully updated study guide covers every topic on the current version of the CompTIA Security+ examTake the latest version of the CompTIA Security+ exam with complete confidence using the detailed information contained in this highly effective self-study system. Written by a team of leading...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Doing Harm: The Truth about How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick

Maya Dusenbery · Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Format: Audiobook

This stunning expose is the first comprehensive analysis of gender bias in modern medical treatment in the United States today, putting women at increased risk for sickness and death. In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth

MICHIO KAKU · Doubleday
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The #1 bestselling author of The Future of the Mind traverses the frontiers of astrophysics, artificial intelligence, and technology to offer a stunning vision of man's future in space, from settling Mars to traveling to distant galaxies.Formerly the domain of fiction, moving human civilization...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating

Charles Spence · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The science behind a good meal: all the sounds, sights, and tastes that make us like what we're eating - and want to eat more.Why do we consume 35 percent more food when eating with one other person, and 75 percent more when dining with three? How do we explain the fact that people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Break Up With Your Phone: The 30-day Plan to Take Back Your Life

Catherine Price · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Packed with tested strategies and practical tips, this book is the essential, life-changing guide for everyone who owns a smartphone. Is your phone the first thing you reach for in the morning and the last thing you touch before bed? Do you frequently pick it up "just to check,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life 3.0: Being Human in the Age of Artificial Intelligence

Max Tegmark · Knopf
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

How will Artificial Intelligence affect crime, war, justice, jobs, society and our very sense of being human? The rise of AI has the potential to transform our future more than any other technology - and there's nobody better qualified or situated to explore that future than Max Tegmark,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Making Contact: Jill Tarter and the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence

Sarah Scoles · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For anyone who has ever looked up at the night sky and wondered, "Are we alone?" A brilliant examination of the science behind the search for extraterrestrial intelligence and its pioneer, Jill Tarter, the inspiration for the main character in Carl Sagan's Contact. Jill Tarter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man Who Designed the Future: Norman Bel Geddes and the Invention of Twentieth-Century America

Barbara Szerlip · Melville House
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Before there was Steve Jobs, there was Norman Bel Geddes. A ninth-grade dropout who found himself at the center of the worlds of industry, advertising, theater, and even gaming, Bel Geddes designed everything from the first all-weather stadium, to Manhattan's most exclusive nightclub,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void

Mary Roach · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The author of Stiff and Bonk explores the irresistibly strange universe of space travel and life without gravity. Space is a world devoid of the things we need to live and thrive: air, gravity, hot showers, fresh produce, privacy, beer. Space exploration is in some ways an exploration of what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stealing Fire: How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work

Steven Kotler · Dey Street Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

It's the biggest revolution you've never heard of, and it's hiding in plain sight. Over the past decade, Silicon Valley executives like Eric Schmidt and Elon Musk, Special Operators like the Navy SEALs and the Green Berets, and maverick scientists like Sasha Shulgin and Amy Cuddy have turned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teaching Outside the Box: How to Grab Your Students By Their Brains

LouAnne Johnson · Jossey-Bass
Pages: 338
Format: Paperback

Bring a fresh perspective to your classroom Teaching Outside the Box: How to Grab Your Students by Their Brain, Third Edition integrates practical strategies and engaging advice for new and experienced teachers. Whether you are preparing for your first year of teaching or have been working...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Typewriters: Iconic Machines from the Golden Age of Mechanical Writing

Anthony Casillo · Chronicle Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the creation of the QWERTY keyboard to the world's first portable typing machine, this handsome collection is a visual homage to the golden age of the typewriter. From the world's first commercially successful typewriter - the Sholes & Glidden Type Writer of 1874 - to the iconic...
Read More check catalog