Back Politics | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama (P.S.)

Rachel L. Swarns · Amistad; Reprint edition
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama’s mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research—in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chicago on the Make: Power and Inequality in a Modern City

Andrew J Diamond · University of California Press
Pages: 440
Format: Book

Heralded as America's quintessentially modern city, Chicago has attracted the gaze of journalists, novelists, essayists, and scholars as much as any city in the nation. And, yet, few historians have attempted big-picture narratives of the city's transformation over the twentieth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clean House: Exposing Our Government's Secrets and Lies

Tom Fitton · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Corruption Chronicles comes a devastating expose of the scandals of Obama's second term. Judicial Watch President Tom Fitton reveals what the largest watchdog agency in America has uncovered in its battles against Obama secrecy.Clean House...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs

Ed Asner · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 304
Format: Book

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner - a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show - reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it. Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hamlet Fire: A Tragic Story of Cheap Food, Cheap Government, and Cheap Lives

Bryant Simon · The New Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For decades the small, quiet town of Hamlet, North Carolina thrived thanks to the railroad. But by the 1980s, it had become post-industrial backwater, a magnet for businesses looking for cheap labor with little or almost no official oversight. One of these businesses was Imperial Foods,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The List: A Week-by-Week Reckoning of Trump's First Year

Amy Siskind · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 528
Format: Book

The shocking first-draft history of the Trump regime, and its clear authoritarian impulses, based on the viral Internet phenom "The Weekly List." In the immediate aftermath of Donald Trump's election as president, Amy Siskind, a former Wall Street executive and the founder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Media Madness: Donald Trump, the Press, and the War over the Truth

Howard Kurtz · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Book

With outrageous examples of left-wing media bias and insider scoops on front-page skirmishes between the Trump White House and reporters, Howard Kurtz's new book is an astonishing expose of the media industry that is reminiscent of Bernard Goldberg's game changing New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
#NeverAgain: A New Generation Draws the Line

DAVID HOGG · Random House Trade Paperbacks
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

From two students of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School comes a declaration for our times, and an in-depth look at the making of the #NeverAgain movement that arose after the Parkland, Florida, shooting.On February 14, 2018, seventeen-year-old David Hogg and his fourteen-year-old sister,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Odyssey: The Story of the Twenty-First Century Refugee Crisis

Patrick Kingsley · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the humane tradition of Katherine Boo's Behind the Beautiful Forevers comes a searing account of the international refugee crisis. Intrepid and empathetic, Patrick Kingsley has traveled through seventeen countries to bear witness to the largest forced migration since the end of World...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our 50-State Border Crisis: How the Mexican Border Fuels the Drug Epidemic Across America

HOWARD G BUFFETT · Hachette Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From one of America's most prominent philanthropists, an eye-opening, myth-busting new perspective on the crisis at the U.S.-Mexico border. Howard G. Buffett has seen first-hand the devastating impact of cheap Mexican heroin and other opiate cocktails across America. Fueled by failing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Overload: Finding the Truth in Today's Deluge of News

BOB SCHIEFFER · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 190
Format: Hardcover

We are in the midst of a communications revolution. We have access to more information than any people in history. But are we more informed or just overwhelmed by so much information we can't process? In Overload, legendary television journalist Bob Schieffer examines today's journalism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pence: The Path to Power

ANDREA NEAL · Red Lightning Books
Pages: 200
Format: Hardcover

What does it take to become the second-in-command of one of the most powerful countries in the world? Mike Pence's rise to the vice presidency of the United States wasn't always easy. To some, he is the personification of American conservative values, but to others, his ideals are the epitome...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rise of Andrew Jackson: Myth, Manipulation, and the Making of Modern Politics

David Stephen Heidler · Basic Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The story of Andrew Jackson's improbable ascent to the White House, centered on the handlers and propagandists who made it possibleAndrew Jackson was volatile and prone to violence, and well into his forties his sole claim on the public's affections derived from his victory in a thirty-minute...
Read More check catalog
 
 
That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans

Michael Graham · Regnery Publishing
Format: Book

Responsible. Independent. Hard-working. These are qualities which used to define Americans. But now we’re a nation of whiners, blamers, and excuse-makers. So says Michael Graham—radio talk show host, former GOP campaign consultant, and journalist—in his new book, That’s...
Read More check catalog