Back Health, Mind & Body | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
The Complete Guide to Nutrients: An A-Z of Superfoods, Herbs, Vitamins, Minerals and Supplements

Dr. Michael Sharon · Carlton Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Want to know how healthy your food choices are? This updated edition of the guide to essential nutrition reveals all! With processed foods and commercially farmed produce offering us less in the way of essential nutrition, and food industry labels exaggerating the health benefits of their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Super Metabolism Diet: The Four-Week Plan to Torch Fat, Ignite Your Fuel Furnace, and Stay Lean for Life!

DAVID ZINCZENKO · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Lose up to 20 pounds in four weeks with a scientifically proven and rigorously tested eating plan that will torch fat and ignite your body's fuel furnace - from ABC News nutrition and wellness correspondent David Zinczenko, the bestselling author of Zero Sugar Diet, Zero Belly Diet, the Abs Diet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Metabolism Revolution: Lose 14 Pounds in 14 Days and Keep It Off for Life

Haylie Pomroy · Harper Wave
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Lose 14 pounds in 14 days - harness the power of food to reset your metabolism for good with this breakthrough program complete with recipes and a detailed, easy-to-use diet plan from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fast Metabolism Diet.The diet industry has been plagued...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barron's PCAT, 7th Edition: Pharmacy College Admission Test

Marie A. Chisholm-Burns Pharm.D. MPH MBA FCCP FASHP FAST · Barron's Educational Series
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Prepare for success with this thoroughly updated manual that covers all of the upcoming changes to the PCAT exam. It includes two full-length practice tests with questions answered and explained, additional practice questions and answers, and reviews of all test topics. Test topics include:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Alzheimer's: The First Program to Prevent and Reverse Cognitive Decline

DALE BREDESEN · Avery
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking plan to prevent and reverse Alzheimer's Disease that fundamentally changes how we understand cognitive decline. Everyone knows someone who has survived cancer, but until now no one knows anyone who has survived Alzheimer's Disease. In this paradigm shifting book,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
MERCK MANUAL OF DIAGNOSIS AND THERAPY

· Merck
Pages: 3500
Format: Hardcover

Back by popular demand! The world's most widely used medical reference is now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy now in its 20th edition has been thoroughly updated and thoughtfully expanded with a new larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harper
Pages: 383
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy Orenstein,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Make the Pool Your Gym: No-Impact Water Workouts for Getting Fit, Building Strength and Rehabbing from Injury

Karl Knopf · Ulysses Press; 1 Original edition
Format: Print book

STEP INTO THE NON-IMPACT, TOTAL-BODY BENEFITS OF WATER EXERCISEOnce used primarily for rehabilitation, water exercise has been proven to build strength, improve cardiovascular fitness and burn calories — all without the strain and trauma of land-based activities. This flexible training...
Read More check catalog
 
 
ATI TEAS Crash Course® Book Online

John Allen · Research & Education Association
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback

NEW! REA's ATI TEAS Crash Course®Perfect for nursing and allied health program applicantsIn August 2016, the ATI TEAS exam replaced the TEAS V. The ATI TEAS, already the most widely-used nursing school admission exam in the U.S., is now also used for allied health program admission...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brainstorm: Detective Stories from the World of Neurology

Suzanne O'Sullivan · Other Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A leading neurologist recounts some of her most astonishing, challenging cases, which demonstrate how crucial the study of epilepsy has been to our understanding of the brain.Brainstorm follows the stories of people whose medical diagnoses are so strange even their doctor struggles to know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memory Rescue: Supercharge Your Brain, Reverse Memory Loss, and Remember What Matters Most

Dr. Daniel G. Amen · Tyndale Momentum
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A proven program from #1 New York Times bestselling author and brain researcher Dr. Daniel Amen to help you change your brain and improve your memory today!Brain imaging research demonstrates that memory loss actually starts in the brain decades before you have any symptoms. Learn the actions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
UFOs and The White House: What Did Our Presidents Know and When Did They Know It?

William J. Birnes · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The author team that wrote the upcoming Skyhorse title Edison vs. Tesla, as well as The Haunting of the Presidents and other titles about the weird, the supernatural, and the unexplained, turn their attention to the oval office for a unique view of UFOs in America and more specifically,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Woman's Guide to Living with Heart Disease

Carolyn Thomas · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 212
Format: Hardcover

Heart disease is the leading cause of death for women worldwide. Yet most people are still unaware that heart disease is not just a man's problem. Carolyn Thomas, a heart attack survivor herself, is on a mission to educate women about their heart health. Based on her popular Heart Sisters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Bodies, Our Data: How Companies Make Billions Selling Our Medical Records

Adam Tanner · Beacon Press
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

How the hidden trade in our sensitive medical information became a multibillion-dollar business, but has done little to improve our health-care outcomesHidden from consumers, patient medical data has become a multibillion-dollar worldwide trade between our health-care providers, drug companies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living with Cancer: A Step-by-Step Guide for Coping Medically and Emotionally with a Serious Diagnosis

Vicki A Jackson · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 351
Format: Hardcover

The prospect of entering treatment is overwhelming for anyone facing a diagnosis of cancer. While patients have access to a vast amount of medical information online, this advice is often unreliable or confusing. In Living with Cancer, Drs. Vicki A. Jackson and David P. Ryan have crafted...
Read More check catalog