Back Entertainment | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Are You Anybody: A Memoir

Jeffrey Tambor · Crown/Archetype
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

It's rare that an actor embodies even one memorable character over the arc of a career. Jeffrey Tambor has managed to create three, beginning with Hank "Hey Now!" Kingsley on The Larry Sanders Show, the series created by Garry Shandling, Jeffrey's first mentor in television. He went...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Encore: A Memoir in Three Acts

Charity Tillemann-Dick · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable true story of acclaimed opera singer Charity Tillemann-Dick, who received not one but two double lung transplants and went from struggling to draw a single breath to singing at the most prestigious venues in the world.Charity Tillemann-Dick was a vivacious young American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canada

Mike Myers · Doubleday Canada
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In this instant national bestseller, comedy superstar Mike Myers writes from the (true patriot) heart about his 53-year relationship with his beloved Canada. Mike Myers is a world-renowned actor, director and writer, and the man behind some of the most memorable comic characters of our time....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 244
Format: Paperback

Award-winning beloved actress and talented singer/songwriter Katey Sagal crafts an evocative and gripping memoir told in essays - perfect for fans of Patti Smith's M Train and Mary-Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You.In Grace Notes, Katey Sagal chronicles the rollercoaster ride of her life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Coffee Creak Screenwriter : Writing Your Script Ten Minutes at a Time

Pilar Alessandra · Michael Wiese Productions
Format: Paperback

"'The Coffee Break Screenwriter' keeps it focused and simple. Writers -- from novice to professional -- benefit at every stage of the writing process with a relaxed, "ten minutes at a time" method"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dharma of The Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us About Buddhism and Relationships

Ethan Nichtern · North Point Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An engagingly contemporary approach to Buddhism -- through the lens of an iconic film and its memorable charactersHumorous yet spiritually rigorous in the tradition of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and The Tao of Pooh, drawing from pop culture and from personal experience, The Dharma...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Be Damned: How My Young and Restless Life Led Me To America's #1 Daytime Drama

Eric Braeden · Dey Street Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In this startling candid and poignant memoir, the legendary Emmy Award-winning star of The Young and The Restless, America's #1 soap opera, chronicles his amazing life, from his birth in World War II Germany to his arrival in America to his rise to humanitarian and daytime superstar for the past...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Have What She's Having: How Nora Ephron's Three Iconic Films Saved the Romantic Comedy

ERIN CARLSON · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A backstage look at the making of Nora Ephron's revered trilogy--When Harry Met Sally, You've Got Mail, and Sleepless in Seattle--which brought romantic comedies back to the fore, and an intimate portrait of the beloved writer/director who inspired a generation of Hollywood women, from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Never Change My Name: An Immigrant's American Dream from Ukraine to the USA to Dancing with the Stars

Valentin Chmerkovskiy · Dey Street Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Valentin Chmerkovskiy, the world championship-winning and beloved Dancing with the Stars ballroom dancer invites fans into his life as never before, sharing the experiences, including the failures and successes, that have shaped him, from his early childhood in Ukraine to growing up as an immigrant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Judy and I: My Life with Judy Garland

Sid Luft · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The third of Judy Garland's five husbands, Sid Luft was the one man in her life who stuck around. He was chiefly responsible for the final act of Judy's meteoric comeback after she was unceremoniously booted off the MGM lot: he produced her iconic, Oscar-nominated vehicle A Star Is Born...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Makeup Man: From Rocky to Star Trek The Amazing Creations of Hollywood's Michael Westmore

Michael Westmore · Lyons Pr
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Headline: A peak behind the Hollywood mask by one of its foremost makeup artistsIn Hollywood's heyday, almost every major studio had a Westmore heading up the makeup department. Since 1917, there has never been a time when Westmores weren't shaping the visages of stardom. For their century-long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Steven Spielberg: A Life in Films

Molly Haskell · Yale University Press
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A film-centric portrait of the extraordinarily gifted movie director whose decades-long influence on American popular culture is unprecedented "Everything about me is in my films," Steven Spielberg has said. Taking this as a key to understanding the hugely successful moviemaker,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection

Carol Burnett · Three Rivers Press; Reprint edition
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A touching and hilarious memoir by the author of Carrie and Me: A Mother Daughter Love Story, This Time Together is 100 percent Carol Burnett – funny, irreverent, and irresistible. Carol Burnett is one of the most beloved and revered actresses and performers in America. The Carol...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warner Bros: The Making of an American Movie Studio

MR DAVID THOMSON · Yale University Press
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

Behind the scenes at the legendary Warner Brothers film studio, where four immigrant brothers transformed themselves into the moguls and masters of American fantasyWarner Bros charts the rise of an unpromising film studio from its shaky beginnings in the early twentieth century through...
Read More check catalog