Back Entertainment | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
The Awkward Thoughts of W. Kamau Bell: Tales of a 6' 4

W. Kamau Bell · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Book

You may know W. Kamau Bell from his new critically acclaimed, Emmy-nominated hit show on CNN, United Shades of America. Or maybe you've read about him in The New York Times, which called him, "the most promising new talent in political comedy in many years." Or maybe in The New Yorker,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bachelor Nation: Inside the World of America's Favorite Guilty Pleasure

Amy Kaufman · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Book

The first definitive, unauthorized, behind-the-scenes cultural history of the Bachelor franchise, America's favorite guilty pleasure For fifteen years and thirty-five seasons, the Bachelor franchise has been a mainstay in American TV viewers' lives. Since it premiered in 2002,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Calypso

David Sedaris · Little
Pages: 259
Format: Hardcover

David Sedaris returns with his most deeply personal and darkly hilarious book. If you've ever laughed your way through David Sedaris's cheerfully misanthropic stories, you might think you know what you're getting with Calypso. You'd be wrong. When he buys a beach house on the Carolina coast,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canada

Mike Myers · Doubleday Canada
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In this instant national bestseller, comedy superstar Mike Myers writes from the (true patriot) heart about his 53-year relationship with his beloved Canada. Mike Myers is a world-renowned actor, director and writer, and the man behind some of the most memorable comic characters of our time....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Get Shot: And Other Advice From White People

D.L. Hughley · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Book

A cutting satire of race relations in the age of Trump and Black Lives Matter from the hugely popular comedian - one of "The Original Kings of Comedy" - and author of the New York Times bestseller Black Man, White House. "White people are always giving out 'helpful'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Hell Did This Happen?: The Election of 2016

P. J. O'Rourke · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

This election cycle was so absurd that celebrated political satirist, journalist, and die-hard Republican P. J. O'Rourke endorsed Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. As P.J. put it, "America is experiencing the most severe outbreak of mass psychosis since the Salem witch trials of 1692....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I've Put My Faith in Beyoncé

Michel Arceneaux · Atria / 37 INK
Pages: 256
Format: Book

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can't Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Was Told There'd Be Cake: Essays

Sloane Crosley · Riverhead Books
Pages: 230
Format: Paperback

From the author of the novel, The Clasp, hailed by Michael Chabon, Heidi Julavits, and J. Courtney Sullivan.Wry, hilarious, and profoundly genuine, this debut collection of literary essays from Sloane Crosley is a celebration of fallibility and haplessness in all their glory. From despoiling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Improv Nation: How We Made a Great American Art

Sam Wasson · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 464
Format: Book

From the best-selling author of Fosse, a sweeping yet intimate - and often hilarious - history of a uniquely American art form that has never been more popular. At the height of the McCarthy era, an experimental theater troupe set up shop in a bar near the University of Chicago. Via word-of-mouth,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Black Unicorn

Tiffany Haddish · Gallery Books
Pages: 288
Format: Book

From stand-up comedian, actress, and breakout star of Girls Trip, Tiffany Haddish, comes The Last Black Unicorn, a sidesplitting, hysterical, edgy, and unflinching collection of (extremely) personal essays, as fearless as the author herself. Growing up in one of the poorest neighborhoods...
Read More check catalog
 
 
30 Before 30: How I Made a Mess of My 20s, and You Can Too

Marina Shifrin · Wednesday Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

A charming, relatable and hilarious collection of essays documenting a young woman's attempt to accomplish thirty life goals before turning thirty. Something was nagging Marina Shifrin. As a freshly minted adult with student loan payments, a barely hospitable New York apartment, a "real"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You're Not That Great:

Elan Gale · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

I am addicted to positivity. I am addicted to positivity. I am addicted to positivity.I care more about feeling great than being great.I am NOT THAT GREAT.The self-help industry tells you that if you're positive, if you put your best foot forward and if you just believe in yourself...
Read More check catalog