Back Entertainment | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Ghostbuster's Daughter: Life with My Dad, Harold Ramis

Violet Ramis Stiel · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the daughter of Ghostbusters star Harold Ramis (and featuring a Foreword by Seth Rogen) comes a hilarious and heartwarming account of his life, work, and legacy.Most of us know Harold Ramis as the filmmaker and actor who brought warmth and humor to the big screen in classics like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Girls

TODD FISHER · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A revelatory and touching tribute to the lives of Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds written by the person who knew them best, Todd Fisher's poignant memoir is filled with moving stories of growing up among Hollywood royalty and illustrated with never-before-seen photos and memorabilia.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel

Oyinkan Braithwaite · Doubleday
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

"My Sister, the Serial Killer is a gem, in the most accurate sense: small, hard, sharp, and polished to perfection."--Edgar Cantero, New York Times bestselling author of Meddling KidsSatire meets slasher in this short, darkly funny hand grenade of a novel about a Nigerian woman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voice Lessons: A Sisters Story

Cara Mentzel · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Voice Lessons is the story of one younger sister growing up in the shadow of a larger-than-life older sister -- looking up to her, wondering how they were alike and how they were different and, ultimately, learning how to live her own life and speak in her own voice on her own terms. As Cara...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Did You Just Eat That?: Two Scientists Explore Double-Dipping, the Five-Second Rule, and other Food Myths in the Lab

PAUL DAWSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Is the five-second rule legitimate? Are electric hand dryers really bacteria blowers? Am I spraying germs everywhere when I blow on my birthday cake? How gross is backwash?When it comes to food safety and germs, there are as many common questions as there are misconceptions. And yet there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thanks, Obama: My Hopey Changey White House Years

David Litt · Ecco
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover

Remember when presidents spoke in complete sentences instead of in unhinged tweets? Former Obama speechwriter David Litt does. In his comic, coming-of-age memoir, he takes us back to the Obama years - and charts a path forward in the age of Trump. More than any other presidency, Barack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hank and Jim: The Fifty-Year Friendship of Henry Fonda and James Stewart

SCOTT EYMAN · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 367
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Scott Eyman tells the story of the remarkable friendship of two Hollywood legends who, though different in many ways, maintained a close friendship that endured all of life's twists and turns.Henry Fonda and James Stewart were two of the biggest stars in Hollywood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cinemaps: An Atlas of 35 Great Movies

Andrew DeGraff · Quirk Books
Pages: 157
Format: Hardcover

This beautifully illustrated atlas of beloved movies is an essential reference for cinephiles, fans of great films, and anyone who loves the art of mapmaking. Acclaimed artist Andrew DeGraff has created beautiful hand-painted maps of all your favorite films, from King Kong and North by Northwest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Never Change My Name: An Immigrant's American Dream from Ukraine to the USA to Dancing with the Stars

Valentin Chmerkovskiy · Dey Street Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Valentin Chmerkovskiy, the world championship-winning and beloved Dancing with the Stars ballroom dancer invites fans into his life as never before, sharing the experiences, including the failures and successes, that have shaped him, from his early childhood in Ukraine to growing up as an immigrant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adjustment Day: A Novel

Chuck Palahniuk · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 316
Format: Hardcover

The author of Fight Club takes America beyond our darkest dreams in this timely satire.People pass the word only to those they trust most: Adjustment Day is coming. They've been reading a mysterious book and memorizing its directives. They are ready for the reckoning.Adjustment Day, the author's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Judy and I: My Life with Judy Garland

Sid Luft · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The third of Judy Garland's five husbands, Sid Luft was the one man in her life who stuck around. He was chiefly responsible for the final act of Judy's meteoric comeback after she was unceremoniously booted off the MGM lot: he produced her iconic, Oscar-nominated vehicle A Star Is Born...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Makeup Man: From Rocky to Star Trek The Amazing Creations of Hollywood's Michael Westmore

Michael Westmore · Lyons Pr
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Headline: A peak behind the Hollywood mask by one of its foremost makeup artistsIn Hollywood's heyday, almost every major studio had a Westmore heading up the makeup department. Since 1917, there has never been a time when Westmores weren't shaping the visages of stardom. For their century-long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lose Well

Chris Gethard · HarperOne
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A laugh-out-loud, kick-in-the-pants self-help narrative for anyone who ever felt like they didn't fit in or couldn't catch a break - comedian and cult hero Chris Gethard shows us how to get over our fear of failure and start living life on our own terms.Let's face it: we all want a seat...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warner Bros: The Making of an American Movie Studio

MR DAVID THOMSON · Yale University Press
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

Behind the scenes at the legendary Warner Brothers film studio, where four immigrant brothers transformed themselves into the moguls and masters of American fantasyWarner Bros charts the rise of an unpromising film studio from its shaky beginnings in the early twentieth century through...
Read More check catalog