Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  

Nothing that happened in that story could possibly happen in real life, could it?

Find out!

Check out the Science Reference Center by finding the ONLINE RESOURCES link in the LEARN box.  Then click on SCIENCE, then SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER, and see if that book really is just science fiction!

The Bear and the Nightingale

Katherine Arden · Del Rey
Pages: 322
Format: Book

A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Swords

Gardner Dozois · Bantam
Pages: 524
Format: Book

New epic fantasy in the grand tradition - including a never-before-published Song of Ice and Fire story by George R. R. Martin! Fantasy fiction has produced some of the most unforgettable heroes ever conjured onto the page: Robert E. Howard's Conan the Barbarian, Michael Moorcock's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Borne

Jeff VanderMeer · MCD
Pages: 323
Format: Book

Named one of the most anticipated books of 2017 by The New York Times, The Huffington Post, Book Riot, Chicago Reader, The Week, and Publishers Weekly. "Am I a person?" Borne asked me. "Yes, you are a person," I told him. "But like a person, you can be a weapon,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Census

Jesse Ball · Ecco
Pages: 272
Format: Book

A powerful and moving new novel from an award-winning, acclaimed author: in the wake of a devastating revelation, a father and son journey north across a tapestry of towns When a widower receives notice from a doctor that he doesn't have long left to live, he is struck by the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eggshells

Caitriona Lally · Melville House
Pages: 288
Format: Book

- Irish Book of the Year Finalist! A whimsical, touching debut about loneliness, friendship and hope... Vivian doesn't feel like she fits in - and never has. As a child, she was so whimsical that her parents told her she was "left by fairies." Now, living alone in Dublin,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emergence

C. J. Cherryh · Daw
Pages: 336
Format: Book

The nineteenth book in C.J. Cherryh's beloved Foreigner space opera series begins a new era for diplomat Bren Cameron, as he navigates the tenuous peace he has struck between human refugees and the alien atevi. Alpha Station, orbiting the world of the atevi, has taken aboard five thousand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Feed

Nick Windo · William Morrow
Pages: 336
Format: Book

Set in a post-apocalyptic world as unique and vividly imagined as those of Station Eleven and The Girl with All the Gifts, a startling and timely debut that explores what it is to be human and what it truly means to be connected in the digital age. IT MAKES US. IT DESTROYS US. NOW WE MUST...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ghost Notebooks

Ben Dolnick · Pantheon
Pages: 256
Format: Book

A supernatural story of love, ghosts, and madness as a young couple, newly engaged, become caretakers of a historic museum. When Nick Beron and Hannah Rampe decide to move to the tiny upstate town of Hibernia, New York, they aren't running away, exactly, but they need a change. Their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lonely Hearts Hotel

Heather O'Neill · Riverhead Books
Pages: 400
Format: Book

A spellbinding story about two gifted orphans - in love with each other since they can remember - whose childhood talents allow them to rewrite their future. The Lonely Hearts Hotel is a love story with the power of legend. An unparalleled tale of charismatic pianos, invisible dance partners,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mongrel Mage

L. E. Modesitt Jr. · Tor Books
Pages: 559
Format: Book

The Saga of Recluce chronicles the history of this world with world-building detail and an ingenious and disciplined magic system. L. E. Modesitt, Jr. returns to his longest and bestselling fantasy series with volume nineteen, The Mongrel Mage, which marks the beginning of a new story arc. In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Penric's Mission

Loid McMaster Bujold · Subterranean
Pages: 264
Format: Book

Learned Penric sails on a journey to Cedonia not as a sorcerer in the white robes of the Bastard's Order, but disguised as a young lawyer on business. His real mission is one of clandestine diplomacy on behalf of the Duke of Adria. His usual traveling companion, the slyly clever chaos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ready Player One

Ernest Cline · Broadway Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

The bestselling cult classic - soon to be a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.In the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Void Star

Zachary Mason · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 400
Format: Book

A riveting, beautifully written, fugue-like novel of AIs, memory, violence, and mortality Not far in the future the seas have risen and the central latitudes are emptying, but it's still a good time to be rich in San Francisco, where weapons drones patrol the skies to keep out the multitudinous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walkaway

Cory Doctorow · Tor Books
Pages: 379
Format: Book

From New York Times bestselling author Cory Doctorow, an epic tale of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end of death.   Hubert Vernon Rudolph Clayton Irving Wilson Alva Anton Jeff Harley Timothy Curtis Cleveland Cecil Ollie Edmund Eli Wiley Marvin Ellis Espinoza -- known to his friends...
Read More check catalog