Back Entertainment | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
You'll Grow Out of It

Jessi Klein · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 291
Format: Hardcover

PEOPLE'S BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Theft by Finding: Diaries

DAVID SEDARIS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

One of the most anticipated books of 2017: Boston Globe, New York Times Book Review, New York's "Vulture", The Week, Bustle, BookRiotDavid Sedaris tells all in a book that is, literally, a lifetime in the makingIt's no coincidence that the world's best writers tend to keep diaries....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Approval Junkie: Adventures in Caring Too Much

Faith Salie · Crown Archetype
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait ... Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of humorous essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval. Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alfred Hitchcock

Peter Ackroyd · Nan A. Talese/Doubleday
Pages: 276
Format: Print book

A gripping short biography of the extraordinary Alfred Hitchock, the master of suspense. Alfred Hitchcock was a strange child. Fat, lonely, burning with fear and ambition, his childhood was an isolated one, scented with fish from his father's shop. Afraid to leave his bedroom, he would...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mother of All Questions: Further Reports from the Feminist Revolutions

Rebecca Solnit · Haymarket Books
Pages: 180
Format: Print book

Praise for Men Explain Things to Me:"It's a fraught time to be female in America (or should I say fraught-er) , and Rebecca Solnit's Men Explain Things to Me is the most clarifying, soothing, and socially aware document I've read on the topic this year." - Lena Dunham,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness

Paula Poundstone · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness is a remarkable journey. I laughed. I cried. I got another cat." - Lily Tomlin Is there a secret to happiness? Beloved comedian Paula Poundstone conducts a series of "thoroughly scientific" experiments...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill 'Em and Leave: Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

James McBride · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown after receiving a tip that promises to uncover the man behind the myth. His surprising journey illuminates not only our understanding of this immensely troubled, misunderstood, and complicated soul...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kirk and Anne

KIRK DOUGLAS · Running Press
Pages: 221
Format: Hardcover

Film legend Kirk Douglas and Anne Buydens, his wife of nearly sixty-three years, look back on a lifetime filled with drama both on and off the screen. Sharing priceless correspondence with each other as well as the celebrities and world leaders they called friends, Kirk and Anne is a candid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Leonard: My Fifty-Year Friendship with a Remarkable Man

William Shatner · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner first crossed paths as actors on the set of The Man from U.N.C.L.E. Little did they know that their next roles, in a new science fiction television series, would shape their lives in ways no one could have anticipated. In seventy-nine television episodes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Hell Did This Happen?: The Election of 2016

P. J. O'Rourke · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

This election cycle was so absurd that celebrated political satirist, journalist, and die-hard Republican P. J. O'Rourke endorsed Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. As P.J. put it, "America is experiencing the most severe outbreak of mass psychosis since the Salem witch trials of 1692....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infinite Tuesday: An Autobiographical Riff

Michael Nesmith · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The long, strange journey of Michael Nesmith is as fascinating as it as was fraught--from fleeing Dallas as a young man with his pregnant girlfriend, to gaining international fame as a member of the Monkees, to falling deep into the grips of what he calls Celebrity Psychosis, to finally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You'll Grow Out of It.

Klein Jessi.
Format:  Print book : English

pages
Read More check catalog
 
 
Theft by Finding: Diaries

DAVID SEDARIS · LITTLE

From bestselling author David Sedaris, for the first time in print: selections from the diaries that are the source of his remarkable autobiographical essays.For nearly four decades, David Sedaris has faithfully kept a diary in which he records his thoughts and observations on the odd and funny...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare

Gabourey Sidibe · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The Oscar-nominated Precious star and Empire actress delivers a much-awaited memoir - wise, complex, smart, funny - a version of the American experience different from anything we've read Gabourey Sidibe - "Gabby" to her legion of fans - skyrocketed to international fame in 2009...
Read More check catalog