Back Entertainment | May Newsletter

Simple News Pro
  Show Business  
You'll Grow Out of It

Jessi Klein · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 291
Format: Hardcover

PEOPLE'S BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR! ONE OF NEW YORK TIMES' NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2016!INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!YOU'LL GROW OUT OF IT hilariously, and candidly, explores the journey of the twenty-first century woman. As both a tomboy and a late bloomer, comedian Jessi Klein...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Make This Up: Life Lessons

KEVIN HART · Atria / 37 INK
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.: Essays

Samantha Irby · Vintage
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Sometimes you just have to laugh, even when life is a dumpster fire. With We Are Never Meeting in Real Life., "bitches gotta eat" blogger and comedian Samantha Irby turns the serio-comic essay into an art form. Whether talking about how her difficult childhood has led to a problem...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Theft by Finding: Diaries

DAVID SEDARIS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

One of the most anticipated books of 2017: Boston Globe, New York Times Book Review, New York's "Vulture", The Week, Bustle, BookRiotDavid Sedaris tells all in a book that is, literally, a lifetime in the makingIt's no coincidence that the world's best writers tend to keep diaries....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Approval Junkie: Adventures in Caring Too Much

Faith Salie · Crown Archetype
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait ... Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of humorous essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval. Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alfred Hitchcock

Peter Ackroyd · Nan A. Talese/Doubleday
Pages: 276
Format: Print book

A gripping short biography of the extraordinary Alfred Hitchock, the master of suspense. Alfred Hitchcock was a strange child. Fat, lonely, burning with fear and ambition, his childhood was an isolated one, scented with fish from his father's shop. Afraid to leave his bedroom, he would...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mother of All Questions: Further Reports from the Feminist Revolutions

Rebecca Solnit · Haymarket Books
Pages: 180
Format: Print book

Praise for Men Explain Things to Me:"It's a fraught time to be female in America (or should I say fraught-er) , and Rebecca Solnit's Men Explain Things to Me is the most clarifying, soothing, and socially aware document I've read on the topic this year." - Lena Dunham,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness

Paula Poundstone · Algonquin Books
Pages: 290
Format: Hardcover

"A remarkable journey. I laughed. I cried. I got another cat." - Lily Tomlin "Paula Poundstone is the funniest human being I have ever known." - Peter Sagal, host of Wait Wait . . . Don't Tell Me! and author of The Book of Vice "Is there a secret to happiness?"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill 'Em and Leave: Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

James McBride · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown after receiving a tip that promises to uncover the man behind the myth. His surprising journey illuminates not only our understanding of this immensely troubled, misunderstood, and complicated soul...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kirk and Anne

KIRK DOUGLAS · Running Press
Pages: 221
Format: Hardcover

Film legend Kirk Douglas and Anne Buydens, his wife of nearly sixty-three years, look back on a lifetime filled with drama both on and off the screen. Sharing priceless correspondence with each other as well as the celebrities and world leaders they called friends, Kirk and Anne is a candid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Leonard: My Fifty-Year Friendship with a Remarkable Man

William Shatner · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner first crossed paths as actors on the set of The Man from U.N.C.L.E. Little did they know that their next roles, in a new science fiction television series, would shape their lives in ways no one could have anticipated. In seventy-nine television episodes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Authorized Roy Orbison

NOT AVAILABLE. · Center Street
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 9.0px Helvetica} p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 9.0px Helvetica} For the first time, legendary performer Roy Orbison's story as one of the most beloved rock legends will be revealed through family accounts and records. p.p1...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Hell Did This Happen?: The Election of 2016

P. J. O'Rourke · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

This election cycle was so absurd that celebrated political satirist, journalist, and die-hard Republican P. J. O'Rourke endorsed Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. As P.J. put it, "America is experiencing the most severe outbreak of mass psychosis since the Salem witch trials of 1692....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Godzilla FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the King of the Monsters

BRIAN SOLOMON · Applause Theatre & Cinema Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

(FAQ) . Perhaps no other character in all of international film is as beloved by American audiences as Godzilla. Since 1954, Godzilla has been one of the cinema's most enduring and popular characters, and with a total of 28 films under his massive belt (not even including two American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infinite Tuesday: An Autobiographical Riff

Michael Nesmith · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The long, strange journey of Michael Nesmith is as fascinating as it as was fraught--from fleeing Dallas as a young man with his pregnant girlfriend, to gaining international fame as a member of the Monkees, to falling deep into the grips of what he calls Celebrity Psychosis, to finally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You'll Grow Out of It.

Klein Jessi.
Format:  Print book : English

pages
Read More check catalog
 
 
Theft by Finding: Diaries

DAVID SEDARIS · LITTLE

From bestselling author David Sedaris, for the first time in print: selections from the diaries that are the source of his remarkable autobiographical essays.For nearly four decades, David Sedaris has faithfully kept a diary in which he records his thoughts and observations on the odd and funny...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare

Gabourey Sidibe · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
It Takes Two: Our Story

JONATHAN SCOTT · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller! Jonathan and Drew Scott, known for their wildly popular HGTV shows including Property Brothers and Brother vs Brother, follow up their New York Times bestseller, Dream Home, with a highly anticipated memoir. It Takes Two: Our Story shares never-before-revealed...
Read More check catalog