Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Serpent & Dove

Shelby Mahurin · HarperTeen
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned. As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Daughter

Shveta Thakrar · HarperTeen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight." - New York Times bestselling author Holly BlackThis gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.The daughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Wish They Were Us

Jessica Goodman · Razorbill
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island.In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive downtown shops to the manicured beaches, to the pressed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow Series (2))

Margaret Owen · HENRY HOLT
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

As the new chieftain of the Crows, Fie knows better than to expect a royal to keep his word. Still she's hopeful that Prince Jasimir will fulfill his oath to protect her fellow Crows. But then black smoke fills the sky, signaling the death of King Surimir and the beginning of Queen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kind of a Big Deal

Shannon Hale · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Shannon Hale comes Kind of a Big Deal: a hilarious, deliciously readable YA novel that will suck you in -- literally.There's nothing worse than peaking in high school. Nobody knows that better than Josie Pie.She was kind of a big deal -- she dropped out of high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nemesis

S. J. Kincaid · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Three years ago, Tyrus Domitrian shocked the galaxy by killing the woman he swore to love forever. The woman for whom he upended the Empire. The woman with whom he wanted to build a new and brighter future. Now, the once-idealistic heir apparent has become the cruel Emperor Tyrus, wielding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Ask Me Where I'm From

Jennifer De Leon · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

First-generation American LatinX Liliana Cruz does what it takes to fit in at her new nearly all-white school. But when family secrets spill out and racism at school ramps up, she must decide what she believes in and take a stand.Liliana Cruz is a hitting a wall - or rather, walls. There's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Kids

Christina Hammonds Reed · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Infused with honesty, heart, and humor, The Black Kids is a true love letter to Los Angeles, highlighting the beauty and flaws of the city, and the people who call it home." - Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Volunteering: Insights and Tips for Teenagers

Jean Rawitt · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Volunteering: Insights and Tips for Teenagers provides a complete guide to the world of volunteerism. It shows you how to become engaged in what will be among the most gratifying and worthwhile experiences of your life.In this book you'll learn why volunteerism is so important both...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bookish and the Beast

Ashley Poston · Quirk Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Rosie Thorne is feeling stuck - on her college application essays, in her small town, and on that mysterious General Sond cosplayer she met at ExcelsiCon. Most of all, she's stuck in her grief over her mother's death. Her only solace was her late mother's library of rare Starfield...
Read More check catalog