Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction Books  
The God Peak

Patrick Hemstreet · Blackstone Audiobooks
Format: Audiobook

They started with the best intentions ...Chuck Brenton had a simple idea: if brain waves can make the needles on an EEG machine move, why couldn't they be trained to move other things? He and mathematician Matt Streegman developed an astonishing program that enabled a group of highly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Noumenon

MARINA J LOSTETTER · Harper Voyager
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

With nods to Arthur C. Clarke's Rama series and the real science of Neal Stephenson's Seveneves, a touch of Hugh Howey's Wool, and echoes of Octavia Butler's voice, a powerful tale of space travel, adventure, discovery, and humanity that unfolds through a series of generational...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reincarnation Blues: A Novel

MICHAEL POORE · Del Rey
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Cloud Atlas comes a wildly imaginative novel about a man who is reincarnated over ten thousand lifetimes to be with his one true love: Death herself. First we live. Then we die. And then . . . we get another try? Ten thousand tries, to be exact. Ten thousand lives to "get...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Starfire: A Red Peace

SPENCER ELLSWORTH · Tor.com
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

A Red Peace, first in Spencer Ellsworth's Starfire trilogy, is an action-packed space opera in a universe where the oppressed half-Jorian crosses have risen up to supplant humanity and dominate the galaxy.Half-breed human star navigator Jaqi, working the edges of human-settled space...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amatka

Karin Tidbeck · Vintage
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gods of Dawn

Steve White · Baen
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Book #6 in Steve White's exciting Jason Thanou series. Jason and his team from the Temporal Regulatory Authority must travel to late 20th century Earth to prevent a device that allows its user to see back in time from falling into the hands of the Transhumanist Underground.Jason Thanou...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Massacre of Mankind: Sequel to The War of the Worlds

STEPHEN BAXTER · Crown
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A sequel to the H.G. Wells classic THE WAR OF THE WORLDS, brilliantly realized by award-winning SF author and Wells expert Stephen BaxterIt has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dichronauts

Greg Egan · Night Shade Books
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Seth is a surveyor, along with his friend Theo, a leech-like creature running through his skull who tells Seth what lies to his left and right. Theo, in turn, relies on Seth for mobility, and for ordinary vision looking forwards and backwards. Like everyone else in their world, they are symbionts,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the English Fall: A Novel

David Williams · Algonquin Books
Pages: 242
Format: Hardcover

See all Editorial Reviews
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sip

Brian Allen Carr · Soho Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A lyrical, apocalyptic debut novel about addiction, friendship, and the struggle for survivalIt started with a single child and quickly spread: you could get high by drinking your own shadow. At night, lights were destroyed so that addicts could sip shadow in the pure light of the moon.Gangs...
Read More check catalog