Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Cocoa Beach: A Novel

BEATRIZ WILLIAMS · WILLIAM MORROW
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Essex Serpent: A Novel

SARAH PERRY · Custom House
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

Costa Book Award Finalist and the Waterstones (UK) Book of the Year 2016"I loved this book. At once numinous, intimate and wise, The Essex Serpent is a marvelous novel about the workings of life, love and belief, about science and religion, secrets, mysteries, and the complicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wildling Sisters

Eve Chase · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor. Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets. When fifteen-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Epiphany Machine

David Burr Gerrard · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Everyone else knows the truth about you, now you can know it, too. That's the slogan. The product: a junky contraption that tattoos personalized revelations on its users' forearms. It's an old con, playing on the fear that we are obvious to everybody except ourselves. This particular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Rich?: A Novel

Matthew Klam · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age - the long-awaited first novel from the the acclaimed author of Sam the CatEvery summer, a once-sort-of-famous forty-two-year-old cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gypsy Moth Summer

JULIA FIERRO · ST MARTIN'S PRESS
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2017!The Huffington Post: 2017 Book Preview: 33 Titles To Add To Your ShelfThe Week: 28 books to read in 2017The Millions: The Great 2017 Book PreviewNylon Magazine: 50 Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017Read It Forward: 17 Books We're Excited...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swimming with Bridgeport Girls: A Novel

ANTHONY TAMBAKIS · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

If a Richard Russo protagonist went on a bender in Vegas, the result would be something like Swimming with Bridgeport Girls: an uproarious romantic comedy about a charismatic gambler who loses everything and sets off on a misguided quest (based on a misremembering of how The Great Gatsby...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miles Off Course

Sulari Gentill · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 330
Format: Hardcover

"Norman Lindsay is a complete and utter bastard!"With this curse heaped upon the renowned real-life Australian artist and cartoonist, Miles Off Course gets underway. It is early in 1933, and wealthy bohemian Rowland Sinclair and his companions, a poet, a painter, and a sculptress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Necklace: A Novel

Claire McMillan · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Two generations of Quincy women - a bewitching Jazz Age beauty and a young lawyer - bound by a spectacular and mysterious Indian necklace.Always the black sheep of the tight-knit Quincy clan, Nell is cautious when she's summoned to the elegantly shabby family manor after her great aunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After Anatevka: A Novel Inspired by "Fiddler on the Roof"

Alexandra Silber · Pegasus Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping historical novel in the grand tradition of Russian literature that imagines what happens to the characters of Fiddler on the Roof after the curtain falls. The world knows well the tale of Tevye, the beloved Jewish dairyman from the shtetl Anatevka of Tsarist Russia. In stories...
Read More check catalog