Back Ages 9-12 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Next Great Paulie Fink

Ali Benjamin · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In this highly anticipated second novel by the author of the award-winning, bestselling The Thing About Jellyfish, being the new kid at school isn't easy, especially when you have to follow in the footsteps of a classroom prankster like Paulie Fink.When Caitlyn Breen enters the tiny Mitchell...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Problim Children

NATALIE LLOYD · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

With a dash of Lemony Snicket, a dollop of the Addams Family, and a hearty dose of adventure, New York Times bestselling author Natalie Lloyd introduces a new series about seven strange and adventurous siblings who tackle problems together - even when their new neighbors try to tear them...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spy School British Invasion

Stuart Gibbs · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Superspy middle schooler Ben Ripley is finally going to take SPYDER down, once and for all, in this latest addition to the New York Times bestselling Spy School series.Stranded in Mexico after nearly capturing the leaders of SPYDER, thirteen-year-old Ben Ripley desperately needs to take...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where Is Our Solar System?

STEPHANIE SABOL · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Readers will want to grab a telescope and explore the night skies after finishing this overview of our solar system.Our solar system consists of eight planets, as well as numerous moons, comets, asteroids, and meteoroids. For thousands of years, humans believed that Earth was at the center...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Usual Suspects

Maurice Broaddus · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus. Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He's in special ed, separated from the "normal" kids at school who don't have any "issues."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Camp Average

Craig Battle · Owlkids
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A group of 11-year-olds arrives to spend six weeks playing sports at Camp Avalon -- which they affectionately call Camp Average, because they never win at any sport. And that's the way they like it. But this summer, new camp director Winston -- who hates losing -- has some hyper-competitive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Yosemite

Audra Wallace · Childrens Pr
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Millions of years ago, rivers and glaciers carved a deep valley through the Sierra Nevada mountains in California. Today, we know this region as Yosemite Valley, the centerpiece of the world-famous Yosemite National Park. Readers will get an up-close look at the parks roaring waterfalls,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den

Aimée Carter · Bloomsbury
Pages: 307
Format: Print book

A thrilling debut in the tradition of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull about a boy who discovers he's part of a secret race of animal shape shifters.Twelve-year-old Simon Thorn's life has never been easy or normal, but things like being bullied at school and living in a cramped Manhattan apartment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Itch!: Everything You Didn't Want to Know About What Makes You Scratch

ANITA SANCHEZ · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Everybody gets itchy, and every kid will love this title that scratches the itch to know more and about the history, anatomy, botany, biology behind it. Perfect for fans of Grossology books looking for something more substantive and dynamic. You can feel it coming on - that terrible, tortuous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cucumber Quest: The Doughnut Kingdom

Gigi D.G. · First Second
Pages: 187
Format: Hardcover

What happens when an evil queen gets her hands on an ancient force of destruction? World domination, obviously. The seven kingdoms of Dreamside need a legendary hero. Instead, they'll have to settle for Cucumber, a nerdy magician who just wants to go to school. As destiny would have it, he and his way more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gabby the Bubblegum Fairy

DAISY MEADOWS · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 80
Format: Paperback

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Gabby's special magic means sweets and treats everywhere taste delicious. But when Jack Frost steals her magical item, her bubble is well and truly burst! Can Rachel and Kirsty defeat him and return the sweetness to Fairyland?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lizard of Oz

R L Stine · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Kate Orton loves animals, especially unusual ones. So when she sees a pop-up ad on her computer for an amazing lizard from Australia, she has to have it. The ad says the lizard is actually a kind of chameleon--it can change its color to blend in with its surroundings. But what makes this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jack and the Geniuses: At the Bottom of the World

Bill Nye · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 247
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling authors Bill Nye the Science Guy and Gregory Mone take middle-grade readers on a scientific adventure in the launch of an exciting new chapter book series, Jack and the Geniuses. The perfect combination to engage and entertain readers, the series features real-world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Key to Every Thing

PAT SCHMATZ · Candlewick
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

For eleven-year-old Tash, Cap'n Jackie isn't just the elderly next-door neighbor - she's family. When she disappears, only Tash holds the key that might bring her back.Tash didn't want to go to camp, didn't want to spend the summer with a bunch of strangers, didn't want to be separated...
Read More check catalog