Back Ages 9-12 | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Real McCoys

Matthew Swanson · Imprint
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Her name's Moxie. Moxie McCoy.Bold, opinionated, and haplessly self-confident, the world's greatest fourth-grade detective faces her biggest challenge! When someone kidnaps beloved school mascot Eddie the Owl, Moxie is on the case -- but she's forced to fly solo now that her best friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barack Obama

Tamara L Britton · Big Buddy Books
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

This title introduces readers to Barack Obama, the forty-forth and first African-American president of the United States. This engaging biography explores Obamas childhood, education, and early career. Readers learn how he overcame challenges and what inspired him to public service. The presidents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Was Leif Erikson?

Nico Medina · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Hold on to your Viking helmets as you learn about the first known European to set foot on North America in this exciting addition to the Who Was? series!Leif Erikson was born to be an explorer. His father, Erik the Red, had established the first European settlement in present-day Greenland,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arizona

Ann Heinrichs · Child's World
Pages: 40
Format: Library Binding

From the stunning Grand Canyon to La Fiesta de Tumacacori, there's lots to see and do in Arizona! Additional features include maps on each spread, state symbols, famous people, fact bubbles, and informative captions that highlight some of the things that make Arizona special. A table...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shawn Mendes: Pop Star

PEGGY CARAVANTES · Child's World
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Bring readers along to witness pop star Shawn Mendes's rise to fame. Shawn became an instant sensation after posting song covers to Vine. Additional features include a Fast Facts spread, critical thinking questions, primary source quotes and accompanying source notes, a phonetic glossary,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Iowa

ANN HEINRICHS · Child's World
Pages: 40
Format: Library Binding

From learning how tractors are made to cooling off in the ice cream capital of the world, there's lots to see and do in Iowa! Additional features include maps on each spread, state symbols, famous people, fact bubbles, and informative captions that highlight some of the things that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World of Minecraft

Heather E. Schwartz · Lerner Publications
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Do you know all the different ways that video game fans can play Minecraft? Do you know where the inventor of Minecraft got the idea for the game? This book explores the history and culture surrounding the Minecraft games, books, toys, and more. You'll have more fun than a Minecraft...
Read More check catalog
 
 
People and Places of the Northeast

John Micklos · Capstone Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Take a trip to the Northeast! Each page is filled with exciting facts about this part of the United States, including its history, rich culture, geography, major cities, and everyday life. Buckle up as you read about and see pictures of this part of our fascinating country.
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Cat's Guide to the Night Sky

Stuart Atkinson · Laurence King Publishing
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

If you look up at the sky on a dark night, what do you see? There's a whole universe staring back at you. In the company of Felicity the cat, discover the phases of the moon, the constellations, and how to spot the Northern Lights and the Milky Way.This beautiful, fun book will introduce...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wonderling

MIRA BARTOK · Candlewick
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks his destiny.Have you been unexpectedly burdened by a recently orphaned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look at the Weather

BRITTA TECKENTRUP · Owlkids
Pages: 152
Format: Hardcover

When you stop to think about it, weather is incredible: it's whimsical, varied, ever-present, sometimes destructive and other times, beautiful. This immersive illustrated nonfiction book is an invitation for readers to ponder weather and approach it with a newfound sense of understanding,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dragon's Hoard: Stories from the Viking Sagas

Lari Don · Frances Lincoln Children's Bks
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

Eleven amazing stories from the Viking Sagas, packed with warriors and battles, heroes and heroines, Berserkers, monsters and zombies. AND LOTS OF MAGIC. Stories include: The Dragon's Hoard * The Swan Warrior * The Berserker's Baby * Tusker versus the Earl * The Bear in Chains * The Raven...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sky at Our Feet

Nadia Hashimi · HarperCollins
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Louis Undercover

Fanny Britt · Groundwood Books
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

In this powerful new graphic novel from Fanny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault, we meet Louis, a young boy who shuttles between his alcoholic dad and his worried mom, and who, with the help of his best friend, tries to summon up the courage to speak to his true love, Billie. Louis's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
125 Best Cupcake Recipes

Julie Hasson · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A hilarious and spunky new heroine in the vein of the heroines of such beloved books as Ramona the Pest, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, from Crystal Allen - the acclaimed author of How Lamar's Bad Prank Won a Bubba-Sized Trophy. Nine-year-old Mya Tibbs is boot-scootin' excited for the best...
Read More check catalog