Back Ages 9-12 | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Clydesdales

Pamela Dell · Weigl Pub Inc
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Clydesdales are big, heavy horses. They are able to do very hard work. Learn more about the history and features of this powerful breed in Clydesdales, part of the All About Horses series.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caveboy Dave: Not So Faboo

AARON REYNOLDS · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

From New York Times bestselling author Aaron Reynolds comes the latest installment of Caveboy Dave, a middle-grade graphic novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants.Twelve-year-old Dave Unga-Bunga is having a great year: he survived his deadly Baby-Go-Boom ceremony, he's earned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bringing Back the Wolves: How a Predator Restored an Ecosystem

Jude Isabella · Kids Can Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

An unintended experiment in Yellowstone National Park, in which an ecosystem is devastated and then remarkably rehabilitated, provides crucial lessons about nature's intricate balancing act.In the 1800s, hunters were paid by the American government to eliminate threats to livestock...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hard Luck

Jeff Kinney · Thorndike Press Large Print
Format: Large print book

A #1 New York Times Bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Giant from the Fire Sea

John Himmelman · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Jat is a boy who wants more from life than collecting coal from the Fire Sea. Newton is a misfit giant, cast out of his homeland for his love of science and reading. Brought together by chance, the two become the best of friends. But when enemy giants threaten to ruin everything, it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Panther The Young Prince

RONALD L SMITH · Marvel Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Black Panther. Ruler of Wakanda. Avenger.

This is his destiny. But right now, he's simply T'Challa-the young prince.

Life is comfortable for twelve-year-old T'Challa in his home of Wakanda, an isolated, technologically advanced African nation. When he's not learning how to rule...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Real McCoys

Matthew Swanson · Imprint
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Her name's Moxie. Moxie McCoy.

Bold, opinionated, and haplessly self-confident, the world's greatest fourth-grade detective faces her biggest challenge! When someone kidnaps beloved school mascot Eddie the Owl, Moxie is on the case -- but she's forced to fly solo now that her best...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Burning Maze

Centrale Raad van Beroep. · Thorndike Press Large Print
Format: Library Binding

De rechtbank heeft het bezwaar van appellant terecht alsnog niet-ontvankelijk verklaard wegens niet verschoonbare termijnoverschrijding bij het instellen van bezwaar. Voor zover de verstandelijke vermogens van appellant beperkt moeten worden geacht, wat daar ook van zij, heeft hem dat niet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Book of Knowledge

DK · DK Children
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

The perfect encyclopedia for any information-hungry kid who wants to boost their general knowledge, this pocket-sized book is packed full of facts.From earthquakes to Marco Polo, magnets to how the brain works, this fully updated book of knowledge covers just about every topic that a curious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Saving Hanno

Miriam Halahmy · Holiday House
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Nine-year-old Rudi and his beloved dog Hanno escape from Nazi Germany in a novel for readers of Number the Stars and animal lovers.

What if you had to leave your dog behind when you fled? Nine-year-old Rudi has a chance to leave the dangers of Nazi Germany on a Kindertransport to England....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gross Book of Jokes

Little Bee Books. · Little Bee Books, an imprint of Bonnier Publishing Group, 2015. ©2014
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

A gruesome book of over 400 jokes that will gross out all your friends!What is a cow's snot called? Moo-cus. Why wouldn't the pirate's phone work? He left it off the hook. Why did the witch give up fortune-telling? She saw no future in it. This hilarious, gruesome book of jokes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Property Office

James R Hannibal · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 390
Format: Print book

James R. Hannibal presents a thrilling adventure through history, complete with mysteries, secret items, codes, and a touch of magic in this stunning middle grade debut.

Thirteen-year-old Jack Buckles is great at finding things. Not just a missing glove or the other sock, but things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost: Thirteen Haunting Tales to Tell

Illustratus · Chronicle Books
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

A finger against the inside of a mirror... a wood where the trees look back... a basement door blocked by a brick wall so thick, it stifles the screams from below ... This original collection of chilling poems and tales contains the only true ghost stories in existence (as the book itself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Graphix Book: Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #1: The Dragonet Prophecy

Tui T. Sutherland · Graphix
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Not every dragonet wants a destiny ...

Clay has grown up under the mountain, chosen along with four other dragonets to fulfill a mysterious prophecy and end the war between the dragon tribes of Pyrrhia. He's not so sure about the prophecy part, but Clay can't imagine not living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What's Life Like With a Single Parent?

Patty Swinton · Powerkids Pr
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Families come in all sizes, and having a single parent is nothing unusual. This book looks at what life is like for a child living with a single parent. It touches briefly on the circumstances that may cause a child to have a single parent, including divorce, an unmarried parent, and the death...
Read More check catalog