Back Health, Mind & Body | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
The Cancer Whisperer: Finding Courage, Direction, and The Unlikely Gifts of Cancer

Sophie Sabbage · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

The self-published sensation and UK bestseller that has helped thousands touched by cancer. "I have cancer. Cancer does not have me." Sophie Sabbage was forty-eight years old, happily married, and mother to a four-year-old daughter when she was diagnosed with late-stage lung cancer....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healing Arthritis: Your 3-Step Guide to Conquering Arthritis Naturally

Susan Blum · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The author of the bestselling The Immune System Recovery Plan shares her science-based, drug-free treatment plan for the almost fifty million people who suffer from arthritis: an amazing 3-step guide to eliminate the disease naturally.Arthritis is the most common cause of disability in the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Bodies, Our Data: How Companies Make Billions Selling Our Medical Records

Adam Tanner · Beacon Press
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

How the hidden trade in our sensitive medical information became a multibillion-dollar business, but has done little to improve our health-care outcomesHidden from consumers, patient medical data has become a multibillion-dollar worldwide trade between our health-care providers, drug companies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hot Topic: A Life-Changing Look at the Change of Life

Christa D'Souza · Atria Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

This humorous, candid, and well-researched book is a refreshing and accessible guide to menopause for today's modern woman.There has never been a better time to be a menopausal woman. After all, technology is such that sixty really is the new forty ... But, for Christa D'Souza,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wired for Dating: How Understanding Neurobiology and Attachment Style Can Help You Find Your Ideal Mate

Stan Tatkin · New Harbinger Publications
Pages: 200
Format: eBook

In the age of online dating, finding a real connection can seem more daunting than ever! So, why not stack the odds of finding the right person in your favor? This book offers simple, proven-effective principles drawn from neuroscience and attachment theory to help you find the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harpercollins
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pretty Intense: The 90-Day Mind, Body and Food Plan that will absolutely Change Your Life

DANICA PATRICK · Avery
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

America's NASCAR standout offers a 90-day program to sculpt your body, calm your mind, and achieve your greatest goalsEverything Danica Patrick does is Pretty Intense. A top athlete in her field, not to mention a fan favorite and the first woman to rule in her male-dominated sport, Danica...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eating Clean For Dummies

Consumer Dummies · For Dummies
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

Fight disease and inflammation by eating clean Change your eating habits without sacrificing taste Make more than 40 delicious clean-eating recipes Embrace the clean eating lifestyle! Even if you've lived on white carbs and trans fats your whole life, this book makes it easy to embrace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good News About What's Bad for You . . . The Bad News About What's Good for You

Jeff Wilser · Flatiron Books, 2015.
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Eat more steak, drink more whiskey, take more naps, lay off all the kale, and throw out your multivitamins and standing desk. In The Good News About What's Bad For You-The Bad News About What's Good for You author Jeff Wilser shares all the research that allows you to celebrate all your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Body Fuel: Calorie-Cycle Your Way to Reduced Body Fat and Greater Muscle Definition

Mark Lauren · Ballantine Books, 2016.
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A no-frills, fail-safe, easy-to-follow "calorie-cycling" eating plan designed to jumpstart your metabolism, stimulate weight loss, define your body, and keep you fit for life - from the bestselling author of You Are Your Own Gym FUEL UP, BURN FAT International fitness phenomenon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living

Meik Wiking · William Morrow
Pages: 221
Format: Print book

Embrace Hygge (pronounced hoo-ga) and become happier with this definitive guide to the Danish philosophy of comfort, togetherness, and well-being.Why are Danes the happiest people in the world? The answer, says Meik Wiking, CEO of the Happiness Research Institute in Copenhagen, is Hygge....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Language of Kindness: A Nurse's Story

Christie Watson · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A moving, lyrical, beautifully-written portrait of a nurse and the lives she has touched Christie Watson spent twenty years as a nurse, and in this intimate, poignant, and remarkably powerful book, she opens the doors of the hospital and shares its secrets. She takes us by her side down...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mirror Touch: Notes from a Doctor Who Can Feel Your Pain

Joel M D Salinas · Harper One
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A doctor with a rare - seemingly superhuman - neurological trait takes us on a compelling tour deep into the human brain in this blend of memoir and scientific exploration that combines the compassionate wisdom of Oliver Sacks and the personal revelations of Jill Bolte Taylor's My Stroke...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Better Brain Solution: How to Start Now--at Any Age--to Reverse and Prevent Insulin Resistance of the Brain, Sharpen Cognitive Function, and Avoid Memory Loss

Steven Masley · Knopf
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the best-selling 30-Day Heart Tune-Up and Smart Fat--the first book to show how the brain can become insulin resistant through diet and lifestyle, and to make clear how and why this has been directly linked to cognitive decline and memory loss. With a detailed program...
Read More check catalog