Back Business & Investing | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Play Bigger: How Pirates, Dreamers, and Innovators Create and Dominate Markets

Al Ramadan
Format: Print book

The founders of a respected Silicon Valley advisory firm study legendary category-creating companies and reveal a groundbreaking discipline called category design.Winning today isn't about beating the competition at the old game. It's about inventing a whole new game - d
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running a Food Truck For Dummies

Myrick · John Wiley & Sons
Pages: 358
Format: Print book

Drive your food truck business to success While food trucks may not be the new kid on the block anymore, it's a segment that continues to swell - and there's still plenty of room for growth. If you have your sights set on taking your culinary prowess on the road, Running a Food Truck For Dummies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brotopia: Breaking Up the Boys' Club of Silicon Valley

EMILY CHANG · Portfolio
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Silicon Valley is a modern utopia where anyone can change the world. Unless you're a woman. For women in tech, Silicon Valley is not a fantasyland of unicorns, virtual reality rainbows, and 3D-printed lollipops, where millions of dollars grow on trees. It's a "Brotopia," where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warren Buffett's Ground Rules: Words of Wisdom from the Partnership Letters of the World's Greatest Investor

Jeremy Miller · Harperbusiness
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Using the letters Warren Buffett wrote to his partners between 1956 and 1970, a veteran financial advisor presents the renowned guru's "ground rules" for investing - guidelines that remain startlingly relevant today.In the fourteen years between his time in New York with value-investing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Suppression: Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy

Zachary Roth · Crown
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A deeply reported look inside the new conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Control of the country is up for grabs - and Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Knock 'em Dead Resumes: A Killer Resume Gets MORE Job Interviews!

Martin Yate · Adams Media Corporation
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empire of Guns: The Violent Making of the Industrial Revolution

PRIYA SATIA · Penguin Press
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

By a prize-winning young historian, an authoritative work that reframes the Industrial Revolution, the expansion of British empire, and emergence of industrial capitalism by presenting them as inextricable from the gun tradeWe have long understood the Industrial Revolution as a triumphant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Investing For Dummies

Eric Tyson · John Wiley & Sons
Pages: 456
Format: Print book

The easy way to invest in your financial future In the world of investing, slow and steady wins the race. With this mantra in mind, trusted author and finance guru Eric Tyson is back with the latest edition of the #1 bestselling book, Investing For Dummies, to help you achieve your investment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Myth of the Nice Girl: Achieving a Career You Love Without Becoming a Person You Hate

Fran Hauser · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A candid guide for ambitious women who want to succeed without losing themselves in the process In THE MYTH OF THE NICE GIRL, Fran Hauser deconstructs the negative perception of "niceness" that many women struggle with in the business world. If women are nice, they are seen as weak...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hustle Economy: Transforming Your Creativity Into a Career

Jason Oberholtzer · Running Press
Pages: 223
Format: Print book

To survive in today's gig economy, you must be a mover, a shaker, a doer, and a maker. In The Hustle Economy, we give you 25 essays from founders, writers, producers, game makers, artists, and creative types from every path who share one common trait - they are all self-made hustlers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Women Rise: Break the 12 Habits Holding You Back from Your Next Raise, Promotion, or Job

Sally Helgesen · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Since the publication of his international bestseller What Got You Here Won't Get You There, business guru Marshall Goldsmith has spoken to hundreds of thousands of people around the world, sharing the ideas he put forth in that groundbreaking book. But a few years ago, he realized that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grow Wherever You Work: Straight Talk to Help with Your Toughest Challenges

Joanna Barsh · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Powerful, unvarnished advice for growing through the work challenges all aspiring leaders faceThe business world is full of catchphrases: follow your passion; think positive; be authentic; suck it up; take risks; network. All well-intentioned, but let's be honest. This inch-deep advice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Wall Street Matters

WILLIAM D COHAN · RANDOM HOUSE
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

For readers of Michael Lewis comes a counterintuitive defense of the banks. One of America's most respected financial journalists debunks all the misinformed arguments against Wall Street - while acknowledging the greed and excess that fuel those feelings - and argues persuasively that,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beautiful Money: The 4-Week Total Wealth Makeover

Leanne Jacobs · TarcherPerigee
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

This revolutionary four-week financial/wealth plan shows you how to transform your relationship with money from the inside out by exploring your financial behaviors and beliefs. Most of us know what it feels like to chase success. We sacrifice time with our loved ones, our weekends, our vacation,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Getting financial aid 2017.

College Board. · College Board
Pages: 1040
Format: Paperback

A latest edition of an annual reference provides insights into the specific challenges of today's economy while sharing step-by-step, simplified instructions for the FAFSA form and the College Board's CSS/Financial Aid PROFILEĀ® form, in a guide complemented by financial profiles for more...
Read More check catalog