Back Biographies & Memoirs | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Manderley Forever

Tatiana De Rosnay · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

The nonfiction debut from beloved international sensation and #1 New York Times bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay: her bestselling biography of novelist Daphne du Maurier."It's impressive how Tatiana was able to recreate the personality of my mother, including her sense of humor....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ostend: Stefan Zweig, Joseph Roth, and the Summer Before the Dark

Volker Weidermann · Pantheon
Pages: 163
Format: Print book

It's the summer of 1936, and the writer Stefan Zweig is in crisis. His German publisher no longer wants him, his marriage is collapsing, and his house in Austria - searched by the police two years earlier - no longer feels like home. He's been dreaming of Ostend, the Belgian beach town...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Things: The Joy of Reading Children's Literature as an Adult

BRUCE HANDY · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An irresistible, nostalgic, and insightful - and totally original - ramble through classic children's literature from Vanity Fair contributing editor (and father) Bruce Handy.In 1690, the dour New England Primer, thought to be the first American children's book, was published in Boston....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Defiance: The Extraordinary Life of Lady Anne Barnard

STEPHEN TAYLOR · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant and unconventional figure, Anne Barnard lived a life that might have been the outline of a novel by her contemporary, Jane Austen, or by Edith Wharton.She was born in Scotland in 1772, lived at the heart of Georgian society, and yet defined herself by defiance of convention....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take a stand : lessons from rebels

Jorge Ramos · Celebra
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

"People ask if I am a journalist or an activist. The truth is that I am just a journalist who asks questions, but one who does in fact take a stand." - Jorge Ramos After 30 fascinating years uncovering the hard truth, Emmy Award-winning journalist Jorge Ramos opens up for the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York's City's Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation

Brad Ricca · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

★ Recipient of the Kirkus Star, Awarded to Books of Exceptional Merit"An express train of a story...Rapid, compelling storytelling informed by rigorous research and enlivened by fecund imagination." -Kirkus ReviewsMrs. Sherlock Holmes tells the true story of Mrs. Grace Humiston,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Van Gogh's Ear

Bernadette Murphy · Farrar
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

The best-known and most sensational event in Vincent van Gogh's life is also the least understood. For more than a century, biographers and historians seeking definitive facts about what happened on a December night in Arles have unearthed more questions than answers. Why would an artist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grown-Up Anger: The Connected Mysteries of Bob Dylan, Woody Guthrie, and the Calumet Massacre of 1913

DANIEL WOLFF · Harper
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

See all Editorial Reviews
Read More check catalog
 
 
Krazy: George Herriman, a Life in Black and White

Michael Tisserand · Harpercollins
Pages: 560
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged - and the deep secret he explored through his art.The creator of the greatest comic strip in history finally gets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

Jeffrey Gettleman · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From Jeffrey Gettleman, a Pulitzer Prize - winning New York Times journalist, comes a memoir about finding love and finding a calling in one of the most violent yet most beautiful places in the world.A seasoned war correspondent, Jeffrey Gettleman has covered every major conflict over the past...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man with the Poison Gun: A Cold War Spy Story

Serhii Plokhy · Basic Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

"From one of the foremost historians of the former Soviet Union, a nonfiction spy thriller about a KGB assassin whose defection to the West changed the face of Cold War espionage" In the fall of 1961, KGB assassin Bogdan Stashinsky defected to West Germany. After spilling his secrets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Nadar: The Man Behind the Camera

Adam Begley · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling, stylish biography of a fabled Parisian photographer, adventurer, and pioneer.A recent French biography begins, Who doesn't know Nadar? In France, that's a rhetorical question. Of all of the legendary figures who thrived in mid-19th-century Paris - a cohort that includes Victor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dying to Wake Up: A Doctor's Voyage into the Afterlife and the Wisdom He Brought Back

Rajiv Parti · Atria Books
Pages: 240
Format: eBook

A rare glimpse into heaven, hell, and previous lives - Dr. Rajiv Parti's near-death experience brought him on a journey through the afterworld, leading to a spiritual awakening that transformed his career, his lifestyle, and even his fundamental beliefs.Before his near-death experience,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Les Parisiennes : how the women of Paris lived, loved, and died under Nazi occupation

Anne Sebba · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

"What did it feel like to be a woman living in Paris from 1939 to 1949? These were years of fear, power, aggression, courage, deprivation and secrets until--finally--renewal and retribution. Even at the darkest moments of Occupation, with the Swastika flying from the Eiffel Tower and pet dogs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wrestling With His Angel: The Political Life of Abraham Lincoln Vol. II, 1849-1956

Sidney Blumenthal · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

Volume II of Sidney Blumenthal's acclaimed, landmark biography, The Political Life of Abraham Lincoln, reveals the future president's genius during the most decisive period of his political life when he seizes the moment, finds his voice, and helps create a new political party.In 1849,...
Read More check catalog