Back All Non-Fiction | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Tangle Journey: Exploring the Far Reaches of Tangle Drawing, from simple strokes to color and mixed media

Beckah Krahula · Quarry Books
Format: Print book

Find the next step in your zentangle journey, with even more step-by-step techniques and beautiful inspirational drawings! An exciting and in-depth follow up to One Zentangle A Day, Beckah Krahula guides you along with her sure-footed instruction and beautiful examples as she shows you how to take...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians

Ian Frisch · Dey Street Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Neil Strauss' The Game and Joshua Foer's Moonwalking with Einstein comes the fascinating story of one man's colorful, mysterious, and personal journey into the world of magic, and his unlikely invitation into an underground secret society of revolutionary magicians from...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Deepa's Secrets: Slow Carb New Indian Cuisine

Deepa Thomas · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A journey from old traditions to modern Indian cooking with deliciously simple and gut-healing recipes that leave you feeling fulfilled - rather than full. Upon learning that rice and bread were the culprits for her husband's Type 2 diabetes, Deepa Thomas deconstructed and reinvented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To the Bridge: A True Story of Motherhood and Murder

Nancy Rommelmann · Little A
Format: Hardcover

The case was closed, but for journalist Nancy Rommelmann, the mystery remained: What made a mother want to murder her own children?On May 23, 2009, Amanda Stott-Smith drove to the middle of the Sellwood Bridge in Portland, Oregon, and dropped her two children into the Willamette River....
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life with Bob: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues

Pamela Paul · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 256
Format: eBook

Imagine keeping a record of every book you've ever read. What would this reading trajectory say about you? With passion, humor, and insight, the editor of The New York Times Book Review shares the stories that have shaped her life.Pamela Paul has kept a single book by her side for twenty-eight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Me: Elton John Official Autobiography

Elton John · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In his first and only official autobiography, music icon Elton John reveals the truth about his extraordinary life, from his rollercoaster lifestyle as shown in the film Rocketman, to becoming a living legend.

Christened...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Leonardo da Vinci

Walter Isaacson · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover

"Majestic...Isaacson takes on another complex, giant figure and transforms him into someone we can recognize...Enthralling, masterful, and passionate." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A monumental tribute to a titanic figure." - Publishers Weekly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Pocket Guide to the Weather of North America

JACK WILLIAMS · National Geographic
Pages: 178
Format: Paperback

Everybody talks about the weather but how many really understand it? This little book is a basic reference on storms, sky phenomena, global patterns of wind and pressure, weather forecasting techniques, interpreting cloud formations, and extreme weather safety. Each one of 144 featured...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meathooked: The History and Science of Our 2.5-Million-Year Obsession with Meat

Marta Zaraska · Basic Books, a member of the Perseus Books Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

One of the great science and health revelations of our time is the danger posed by meat-eating. Every day, it seems, we are warned about the harm producing and consuming meat can do to the environment and our bodies. Many of us have tried to limit how much meat we consume, and many of us have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wilcopedia: A Comprehensive Guide To The Music Of America's Best Band

Daniel Cook Johnson · Jawbone Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Wilcopedia is a comprehensive guide to the music of the preeminent US rock band of the twenty-first century. It offers a thorough appraisal of the entire Wilco canon, with detailed insights into every album and song the band have released, as well as side projects, collaborations, covers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog

Lauren Watt · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 244
Format: Print book

"A lightbeat, epic account of how the 20-something author brought her giant English Mastiff to her first tiny New York apartment after college, while navigating boyfriends, first jobs, her mother's illness and a bucket list that involves her dog's participation, "--NoveList.

"Lauren...

Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Side Hustles: Unexpected Ideas for Making Extra Money Without Quitting Your Day Job

Chris Guillebeau · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author Chris Guillebeau presents a full-color ideabook featuring 100 stories of regular people launching successful side businesses that almost anyone can do.

This unique guide features the startup stories of regular people launching side businesses that almost anyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Briefing

SEAN SPICER · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Sean Spicer takes readers behind the scenes of his turbulent tenure as President Trump's press secretary, shedding new light on the headline-grabbing controversies of the Trump administration's first year.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ten Innings at Wrigley: The Wildest Ballgame Ever, with Baseball on the Brink

Kevin Cook · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The dramatic story of a legendary 1979 slugfest between the Chicago Cubs and the Philadelphia Phillies, full of runs, hits, and subplots, at the tipping point of a new era in baseball history

It was a Thursday at Chicago's Wrigley Field, mostly sunny with the wind blowing out....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Flâneuse: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London

Lauren Elkin · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Amazon Best Books of the Month (March 2017)

The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

Financial Times, New Statesman and The Guardian Best Books of 2016

The flneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure...

Read More check catalog