Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Best Selling Nonfiction  
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NAMED BY THE TIMES AS ONE OF "6 BOOKS TO HELP UNDERSTAND TRUMP'S WIN""You will not read a more important book about America this year." - The Economist "A riveting book." - The Wall Street Journal"Essential reading."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magnolia Story
The Magnolia Story

Chip Gaines · W Publishing
Pages: 184
Format: Print book

Are you ready to see your fixer upper? These famous words are now synonymous with the dynamic husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines, stars of HGTV's Fixer Upper. As this question fills the airwaves with anticipation, their legions of fans continue to multiply and ask a different...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Benedict Option: A Strategy for Christians in a Post-Christian Nation
The Benedict Option: A Strategy for Christians in a Post-Christian Nation

Rod Dreher · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

In a radical new vision for the future of Christianity, NYT bestselling author and conservative columnist Rod Dreher calls on American Christians to prepare for the coming Dark Age by embracing an ancient Christian way of life. The light of the Christian faith is flickering out all over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Portraits of Courage: A Commander in Chief's Tribute to America's Warriors
Portraits of Courage: A Commander in Chief's Tribute to America's Warriors

George W. Bush · Crown/Archetype
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A vibrant collection of oil paintings and stories by President George W. Bush honoring the sacrifice and courage of America's military veterans. With Forewords by former First Lady Laura Bush and General Peter Pace, 16th Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Growing out of President...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Breath Becomes Air
When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi · Random House
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit

Michael Finkel · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trump's War: His Battle for America
Trump's War: His Battle for America

MICHAEL SAVAGE · CENTER ST
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 16.0px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} The wall, taxes, tariffs, deportations, Obamacare, guns, military strength, schools, abortion, religion - what will the new president do? The "Godfather of Trumpmania,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions
Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE · ALFRED A KNOPF
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend. A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking her how to raise her baby...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Killing the Rising Sun: How America Vanquished World War II Japan
Killing the Rising Sun: How America Vanquished World War II Japan

Bill O'Reilly · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 323
Format: Print book

The powerful and riveting new book in the multimillion-selling Killing series by Bill O'Reilly and Martin DugardAutumn 1944. World War II is nearly over in Europe but is escalating in the Pacific, where American soldiers face an opponent who will go to any length to avoid defeat. The Japanese...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Agenda: President Trump's Plan to Save America
Big Agenda: President Trump's Plan to Save America

David Horowitz · Humanix Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Donald Trump's victory in the 2016 election was more than a historic upset. It was the beginning of a major political, economic, and social revolution that will change America - and the world.One of the nation's foremost conservative commentators, New York Times bestselling author, and a mentor...
Read More check catalog