Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Best Selling Nonfiction  
The Witches: Salem, 1692

Stacy Schiff · Little Brown and Company
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Cleopatra, the #1 national bestseller, unpacks the mystery of the Salem Witch Trials.It began in 1692, over an exceptionally raw Massachusetts winter, when a minister's daughter began to scream and convulse. It ended less than a year later, but not before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Name of God Is Mercy

Pope Francis · Random House
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Drawing on his own experience as a priest and shepherd for his book, Pope Francis discusses mercy, a subject of central importance in his teaching and testimony, and in addition sums up other ideas - reconciliation, the closeness of God - that comprise the heart of his papacy. Written in conversation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Not Me?

Mindy Kaling · Crown Archetype
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

From the author of the beloved New York Times bestselling book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and the creator and star of The Mindy Project comes a collection of essays that are as hilarious and insightful as they are deeply personal.
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End

Atul Gawande · Metropolitan Books, Henry Holt and Company, 2014.
Pages: 282
Format: Hardcover


In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending

Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious...

Read More check catalog
 
 
When breath becomes air

Paul Kalanithi · Random House
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between the World and Me

Ta-Nehisi Coates · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 152
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER * NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * The Washington Post * People * Entertainment Weekly * Vogue * Los Angeles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Humans of New York: Stories

Brandon Stanton · St. Martin's Press, 2015.
Pages: 428
Format: Print book

Now a #1 New York Times Bestseller. In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project - to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the accompanying interviews became the blog Humans of New York. In the first three...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Binge

Tyler Oakley · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Pop culture phenomenon, social rights advocate, and the most prominent LGBTQ voice on YouTube, Tyler Oakley brings you his first collection of witty, personal, and hilarious essays written in the voice that's earned him more than twenty-one million followers across social media....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates: The Forgotten War That Changed American History

Brian Kilmeade · Sentinel
Pages: 238
Format: Print book

"Another blockbuster! Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates reads like an edge-of-your-seat, page-turning thriller. You will love this book and also wonder why so few people know this story. No one captures the danger, intrigue, and drama of the American Revolution and its aftermath...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Killing Reagan: The Violent Assault That Changed a Presidency

Bill O'Reilly · Henry Holt & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From the bestselling team of Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard comes Killing Reagan, a page-turning epic account of the career of President Ronald Reagan that tells the vivid story of his rise to power -- and the forces of evil that conspired to bring him down.

Just two months...

Read More check catalog