Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Sports & Leisure  
UNFORGIVING MINUTE : mind, muscle, and the extraordinary science of human endurance

ALEX HUTCHINSON · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 320

Featuring a foreword by Malcolm Gladwell"If you want to gain insight into the mind of great athletes, adventurers, and peak performers then prepare to be enthralled by Alex Hutchinson's Endure. " -- Bear GryllsWriting from both the cutting edge of scientific discovery and the front-lines...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Can't Nothing Bring Me Down: Chasing Myself in the Race against Time

Ida Keeling · Zondervan
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Can't Nothing Bring Me Down is the memoir of 101-year-old, world-record-holding runner Ida Keeling. Miss Ida, as she's known throughout her Bronx community, isn't your typical runner. Her fierce independence helped her through the Depression and the Civil Rights movement. But her greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game That Brought a Divided Town Together

Amy Bass · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.When thousands of Somali...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Vanishing: A Memoir of Wanderlust

Laura Smith · Viking
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A young woman chafing at the confines of marriage confronts the high cost of craving freedom and adventureAt twenty-five, as her wedding date approached, Laura Smith began to feel trapped. Not by her fiancé, who shared her appetite for adventure, but by the unsettling idea that it was hard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Pieces Matter: The Inside Story of The Wire®

JONATHAN ABRAMS · Crown Archetype
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The definitive oral history of the iconic and beloved TV show The Wire, as told by the actors, writers, directors, and others involved in its creationSince its final episode aired in 2008, HBO's acclaimed crime drama The Wire has only become more popular and influential. The issues it tackled,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Homey Don't Play That!: The Story of In Living Color and the Black Comedy Revolution

David Peisner · Atria / 37 INK
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Discover the fascinating behind-the-scenes stories and lasting impact of the trailblazing sketch comedy show that upended television, launched the careers of some of our biggest stars, and changed the way we talk, think, and laugh about race: In Living Color.Few television shows revolutionized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
North on the Wing: Travels with the Songbird Migration of Spring

BRUCE M BEEHLER · Smithsonian Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The story of an ornithologist's journey to trace the spring migration of songbirds from the southern border of the United States through the heartland and into Canada.In late March 2015, ornithologist Bruce M. Beehler set off on a solo four-month trek to track songbird migration and the northward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Berlin 1936: Sixteen Days in August

Oliver Hilmes · Other Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A lively account of the 1936 Olympics told through the voices and stories of those who witnessed it, from an award-winning historian and biographerBerlin 1936 takes the reader through the sixteen days of the Olympiad, describing the events in the German capital through the eyes of a select...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madness: The Ten Most Memorable NCAA Basketball Finals

MARK MEHLER · Sports Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The annual NCAA Basketball Tournament, which has become known as "March Madness" has emerged as a major sports event, matched only by the Super Bowl and the Olympics. In Madness, Mark Mehler and Charles Paikert tell the stories behind the ten most compelling and memorable championship...
Read More check catalog