Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Sports & Leisure  
Dressing Barbie

Carol Spencer · Harper Design
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

A legendary fashion designer for Barbie shares the story of her adventures working behind-the-scenes at Mattel, and spotlights the creations that transformed the world's most famous doll into a style icon in this beautifully designed book - published in commemoration of Barbie's sixtieth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Horizon

Barry Lopez · Knopf
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

From the National Book Award-winning author of the now-classic Arctic Dreams, a vivid, poetic, capacious work that recollects the travels around the world and the encounters--human, animal, and natural--that have shaped an extraordinary life.Taking us nearly from pole to pole--from modern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Home: A Memoir

Katie Arnold · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, a former Outside magazine writer tells her story - of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.I'm running to forget, and to remember. Katie Arnold learned early how her legs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
See You in the Piazza: New Places to Discover in Italy

Frances Mayes · Crown
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling and beloved author Frances Mayes discovers the hidden pleasures of Italy in a sumptuous travel narrative that crisscrosses each region, with inventive new recipes celebrating Italian cuisineThe Roman Forum, the Leaning Tower, the Piazza San Marco: these are the sights synonymous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Impossible Climb: Alex Honnold, El Capitan, and the Climbing Life

Mark Synnott · Dutton
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

"One of the most compelling accounts of a climb and the climbing ethos that I've ever read." --Sebastian JungerThe Impossible Climb climaxes with Alex Honnold's unprecedented, almost unimaginable feat: a 3,000-foot vertical climb up El Capitan in Yosemite, without a rope. Mark...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Explores: Stories of Life-Changing Adventures on the Road and in the Wild

Gale Straub · Chronicle Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

For every woman who has ever been called outdoorsy comes a collection of stories that inspires unforgettable adventure.Beautiful, empowering, and exhilarating, She Explores is a spirited celebration of female bravery and courage, and an inspirational companion for any woman who wants to travel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fishing Through the Apocalypse: An Angler's Adventures in the 21st Century

Matthew L. Miller · Lyons Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

What does the future hold for fish and the people who pursue them? Fishing Through the Apocalypse explores that question through a series of fishing stories about the reality of the sport in the 21st century. Matthew Miller (director of science communications for The Nature Conservancy)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Said It Couldn't Be Done: The '69 Mets, New York City, and the Most Astounding Season in Baseball History

Wayne Coffey · Crown Archetype
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The story of the 1969 Miracle Mets, unlikely world champions against the backdrop of the space race and Vietnam, on the 50th anniversary of their Cinderella seasonIn 1962, the New York Mets spent their first year in existence racking up the worst record in baseball history. Things scarcely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
26 Marathons: What I've Learned About Faith, Identity, Running, and Life From Each Marathon I've Run

Meb Keflezighi · Rodale Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Four-time Olympic marathoner Meb Keflezighi shares his lessons on life, family, faith, and running through a reflection on each of the 26 marathons he's run in his storied career.When four-time Olympian Meb Keflezighi ran his final marathon in New York City on November 5, 2017, it marked...
Read More check catalog