Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Sports  
Rise: Surviving the Fight of My Life

Paige VanZant · Hachette Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

AN INSPIRING MEMOIR FOR ANYONE WHO'S BEEN KNOCKED DOWN AND CAME UP SWINGING

Paige VanZant is a rising Mixed Martial Arts star in the UFC's women's strawweight division and holds a reputation for her ability to defeat obstacles and brutal fights in and out of the octagon. But long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be Well: The 6 Keys to a Happy and Healthy Life

Frank Lipman · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In How to Be Well, best-selling author and leading health expert Dr. Frank Lipman shares his formula for lifelong vitality - the Good Medicine Mandala. Illustrated by a circular system of six rings, the Good Medicine Mandala contains more than 100 simple steps to what really works to improve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love

RAY ALLEN · Dey Street Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The record-holding two-time National Basketball Association champion reflects on his work ethic, his on-the-court friendships and rivalries, and what it takes to have a long and successful career in this thoughtful, in-depth memoir.

Playing in the NBA for eighteen years, Ray Allen...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lyme Solution: A 5-Part Plan to Fight the Inflammatory Auto-Immune Response and Beat Lyme Disease

DARIN INGELS · Avery
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A comprehensive, natural approach to treating acute and chronic Lyme disease, from a leading naturopathic physician who has managed his symptoms for more than fifteen years.

Lyme disease is one of the fastest-growing infectious diseases in the United States, and millions of people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fighter

Michael Farris Smith · Little Brown and Company
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A blistering novel of violence and deliverance set against the mythic backdrop of the Mississippi Delta The acres and acres of fertile soil, the two-hundred-year-old antebellum house, all gone. And so is the woman who gave it to Jack, the foster mother only days away from dying, her mind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Shot Drops

Randy Ribay · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family. Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Peña, and Walter Dean Myers, After the Shot Drops now has 3 starred reviews!

* "Belongs on the shelf...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power

Lisa Mosconi · Avery
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

How to eat for maximum brain power and health from an expert in both neuroscience and nutrition.

Like our bodies, our brains have very specific food requirements. And in this eye-opening book from an author who is both a neuroscientist and a certified integrative nutritionist, we learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
FOUNTAIN : how to make 60 the new 30

ROCCO MONTO · Rodale Books
Pages: 272

Everyone wants to feel fitter, sexier, more energetic, more productive, and younger--now you can. What if there were already ways to ease the negative effects of aging and prevent diabetes, heart disease, cancer, Parkinson's disease, and Alzheimer's disease from ever starting? What if we could...
Read More check catalog