Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science and Nature  
Welcome to Your World: How the Built Environment Shapes Our Lives

Sarah Williams Goldhagen · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

One of the nation's chief architecture critics reveals how the environments we build profoundly shape our feelings, memories, and well-being, and argues that we must harness this knowledge to construct a world better suited to human experience.

Taking us on a fascinating journey...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers in "Healthy" Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain

Steven R Gundry · Harper Wave
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

From renowned cardiac surgeon Steven R. Gundry, MD, a revolutionary look at the hidden compounds in "healthy" foods like fruit, vegetables, and whole grains that are causing us to gain weight and develop chronic disease.In the deadly game of predator versus prey, an adult gazelle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Ty Tashiro · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward - and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

As humans, we all need...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Move Fast and Break Things: How Facebook, Google, and Amazon Cornered Culture and Undermined Democracy

JONATHAN TAPLIN · LITTLE
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Move Fast and Break Things tells the story of how a small group of libertarian entrepreneurs began in the 1990s to hijack the original decentralized vision of the Internet, in the process creating three monopoly firms-Facebook, Amazon and Google-that now determine the future of the music,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ground Beneath Us: From the Oldest Cities to the Last Wilderness, What Dirt Tells Us About Who We Are

Paul Bogard · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 307
Format: Hardcover

Our most compelling resource just might be the ground beneath our feet.

When a teaspoon of soil contains millions of species, and when we pave over the earth on a daily basis, what does that mean for our future? What is the risk to our food supply, the planet's wildlife, the soil...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mozart's Starling

LYANDA LYNN HAUPT · LITTLE
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A charming story of Mozart and his pet starling, along with a natural history of the bird. On May 27th, 1784, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart met a flirtatious little starling who sang (an improved version of ) the theme from his Piano Concerto Number 17 in G to him. Knowing a kindred spirit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Unknown: Seven Journeys to the Frontiers of Science

Marcus du Sautoy · Viking
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

"Brilliant and fascinating. No one is better at making the recondite accessible and exciting." - Bill Bryson A captivating journey to the outer reaches of human knowledgeEver since the dawn of civilization we have been driven by a desire to know - to understand the physical world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Questions of Tomorrow

David J Rothkopf · Simon & Schuster/ TED
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

A unique tour around the world in search of the great thinkers of our time and their next big ideas.With the world at the threshold of profound changes, the question becomes: Where are the philosophers? Where are the great thinkers of today? Where is the next Jefferson, Curie, or Mandela?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Water Goes: Life and Death Along the Colorado River

David Owen · Riverhead Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant, eye-opening account of where our water comes from and where it all goes

The Colorado River is a crucial resource for a surprisingly large part of the United States, and every gallon that flows down it is owned or claimed by someone. David Owen traces all that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Seasons Alter: How to Save Our Planet in Six Acts

Philip Kitcher · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A landmark work of environmental philosophy that seeks to transform the debate about climate change.

As the icecaps melt and the sea levels rise around the globe -- threatening human existence as we know it -- climate change has become one of the most urgent and controversial issues...

Read More check catalog