Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Science and Nature  
The Inner Life of Cats: The Science and Secrets of Our Mysterious Feline Companions
The Inner Life of Cats: The Science and Secrets of Our Mysterious Feline Companions

Thomas McNamee · Hachette Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Our feline companions are much-loved but often mysterious. In The Inner Life of Cats, Thomas McNamee blends scientific reportage with engaging, illustrative anecdotes about his own beloved cat, Augusta, to explore and illuminate the secrets and enigmas of her kind. As it begins, The Inner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

Dan Egan · W W Norton
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

A landmark work of science, history and reporting on the past, present and imperiled future of the Great Lakes.The Great Lakes -- Erie, Huron, Michigan, Ontario and Superior -- hold 20 percent of the world's supply of surface fresh water and provide sustenance, work and recreation for tens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ice Ghosts: The Epic Hunt for the Lost Franklin Expedition
Ice Ghosts: The Epic Hunt for the Lost Franklin Expedition

Paul Watson · W W Norton
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The true story of the greatest mystery of Arctic exploration -- and the rare mix of marine science and Inuit knowledge that led to the shipwreck's recent discovery.Ice Ghosts weaves together the epic story of the Lost Franklin Expedition of 1845 -- whose two ships and crew of 129 were lost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gulf: The Making of An American Sea
The Gulf: The Making of An American Sea

Jack E Davis · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 608
Format: Print book

The tragic collision between civilization and nature in the Gulf of Mexico becomes a uniquely American story in this environmental epic.When painter Winslow Homer first sailed into the Gulf of Mexico, he was struck by its "special kind of providence." Indeed, the Gulf presented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit

Michael Finkel · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Almost Human: The Astonishing Tale of Homo naledi and the Discovery That Changed Our Human Story
Almost Human: The Astonishing Tale of Homo naledi and the Discovery That Changed Our Human Story

Lee R Berger · National Geographic
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

This first-person narrative about an archaeological discovery is rewriting the story of human evolution. A story of defiance and determination by a controversial scientist, this is Lee Berger's own take on finding Homo naledi, an all-new species on the human family tree and one of the greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Asteroid Hunters
Asteroid Hunters

Carrie Nugent · Simon & Schuster/ TED
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, scientists could have the knowledge to prevent a natural disaster epic in scale - an asteroid hitting the earth and in this exciting, adventuresome book, Carrie Nugent explains how.What are asteroids, and where do they come from? And, most urgently: Are they going to hit the Earth?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog
Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog

Lauren Watt · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The playful, epic adventure of a 160-pound English Mastiff and the twentysomething girl who grew up alongside her - Marley & Me for a whole new generation.Lauren Watt took her 160-pound English Mastiff to college - so of course after graduation, Gizelle followed Lauren to her first,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mask of the Sun: The Science, History and Forgotten Lore of Eclipses
Mask of the Sun: The Science, History and Forgotten Lore of Eclipses

John Dvorak · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

They have been thought of as harbingers of evil as well as a sign of the divine. Eclipses -- one of the rarest and most stunning celestial events we can witness here on Earth -- have shaped the course of human history and thought since humans first turned their eyes to the sky.What do Virginia...
Read More check catalog