Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science and Nature  
The Family Tree Guide to DNA Testing and Genetic Genealogy

Blaine T. Bettinger · Family Tree Books
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Discover the answers to your family history mysteries using the most-cutting edge tool available to genealogists. This plain-English guide, newly revised and expanded, is a one-stop resource on genetic genealogy for family historians. Inside, you'll learn what DNA tests are available, with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mosquito: A Human History of Our Deadliest Predator

Timothy C. Winegard · Dutton
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

A pioneering and groundbreaking work of narrative nonfiction that offers a dramatic new perspective on the history of humankind, showing how through millennia, the mosquito has been the single most powerful force in determining humanity's fate Why was gin and tonic the cocktail of choice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inconspicuous Consumption: The Environmental Impact You Don't Know You Have

Tatiana Schlossberg · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From former New York Times Science writer Tatiana Schlossberg comes Inconspicuous Consumption: The Environmental Impact You Don't Know You Have, a fascinating and unexpectedly entertaining look at the way climate change and environmental pollution are intimately involved in our everyday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of Technology: How We Got Here and What the Future Holds

Daniel M. Gerstein · Prometheus Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A leading technology expert examines ways to manage the rapid proliferation of technology and come to grips with its pervasive influence.Technology--always a key driver of historical change--is transforming society as never before and at a far more rapid pace. This book takes the reader...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

Margalit Fox · Ecco; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sawbones: The Hilarious, Horrifying Road to Modern Medicine

JUSTIN MCELROY · Weldon Owen
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A compelling, often hilarious and occasionally horrifying exploration of how modern medicine came to be! Wondering whether eating powdered mummies might be just the thing to cure your ills? Tempted by those vintage ads suggesting you wear radioactive underpants for virility? Ever considered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On the Future: Prospects for Humanity

MARTIN REES · Princeton University Press
Pages: 260
Format: Hardcover

A provocative and inspiring look at the future of humanity and science from world-renowned scientist and bestselling author Martin ReesHumanity has reached a critical moment. Our world is unsettled and rapidly changing, and we face existential risks over the next century. Various prospects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gods and Robots: Myths, Machines, and Ancient Dreams of Technology

Adrienne Mayor · Princeton University Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating untold story of how the ancients imagined robots and other forms of artificial life -- and even invented real automated machinesThe first robot to walk the earth was a bronze giant called Talos. This wondrous machine was created not by MIT Robotics Lab, but by Hephaestus,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
King of the Dinosaur Hunters: The Life of John Bell Hatcher and the Discoveries that Shaped Paleontology

Lowell Dingus · Pegasus Books
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

The story of the extraordinary adventures behind the man who has discovered some of the amazing wonders of natural history.Every year millions of museum visitors marvel at the skeletons of dinosaurs and other prehistoric creatures discovered by John Bell Hatcher. The life of the "King...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Atom: A Visual Tour

Jack Challoner · The MIT Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

An accessible and engaging guide to the atom, the smallest, most fundamental constituent of matter.Until now, popular science has relegated the atom to a supporting role in defining the different chemical elements of the periodic table. In this book, Jack Challoner places the atom at center...
Read More check catalog