Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  New Nonfiction  
Charlton Heston: Hollywood's Last Icon
Charlton Heston: Hollywood's Last Icon

Marc Eliot · Dey Street Books
Pages: 576
Format: Print book

This is the definitive biography of one of the most iconic, complex and enduring legends of Hollywood's golden age, whose major presence in American film, radio, television, stage and theater lasted beyond the second half of the 20th Century, and whose classic films are known throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We the People
We the People

Harold Evans · Little
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A wise and entertaining guide to writing English the proper way by one of the greatest newspaper editors of our time. Harry Evans has edited everything from the urgent files of battlefield reporters to the complex thought processes of Henry Kissinger. He's even been knighted for his services...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Surgeon in the Village: An American Doctor Teaches Brain Surgery in Africa
A Surgeon in the Village: An American Doctor Teaches Brain Surgery in Africa

Tony Bartelme · Beacon Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An inspiring story of doctors who changed the health care of an African nationBy 2006, Dilan Ellegala, an accomplished neurosurgeon, had reached the highest rungs of the American medical establishment. But he was on the verge of burning out. In search of personal restoration, he took a sabbatical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Martin Luther: Renegade and Prophet
Martin Luther: Renegade and Prophet

Lyndal Roper · Random House
Pages: 592
Format: Print book

From a star historian, this definitive biography reveals the inner life of Martin Luther, the founding leader of the Reformation, whose Ninety-five Theses began the greatest upheaval and transformation of Christianity in history.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Word by Word: The Secret Life of Dictionaries
Word by Word: The Secret Life of Dictionaries

Kory Stamper · Pantheon Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Brimming with intelligence and personality, a vastly entertaining account of how dictionaries are made - a must read for word mavens. While most of us might take dictionaries for granted, the process of writing them is in fact as lively and dynamic as language itself. With sharp wit and irreverence,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inheritance: A Family on the Front Lines of the Battle Against Alzheimer's Disease
The Inheritance: A Family on the Front Lines of the Battle Against Alzheimer's Disease

Niki Kapsambelis · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring race against time: The courageous, hopeful story of the one family who may hold the key to finding a cure for Alzheimer's disease.Every sixty-nine seconds, someone is diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Of the top ten killers, it is the only disease for which there is no cure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Thought This Was a Good Idea?: And Other Questions You Should Have Answers to When You Work in the White House
Who Thought This Was a Good Idea?: And Other Questions You Should Have Answers to When You Work in the White House

Alyssa Mastromonaco · Twelve
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

If your funny older sister were the former deputy chief of staff to President Barack Obama, her behind-the-scenes political memoir would look something like this. WHO THOUGHT THIS WAS A GOOD IDEA? is an intimate and admiring portrait of a president, a candid book of advice for young women,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Year of No Clutter: A Memoir
Year of No Clutter: A Memoir

Eve O Schaub · Sourcebooks
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Eve has a problem with clutter. Too much stuff and too easily acquired, it confronts her in every corner and on every surface in her house. When she pledges to tackle the worst offender, her horror of a "Hell Room," she anticipates finally being able to throw away all of the unnecessary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Someone to Watch Over Me: A Portrait of Eleanor Roosevelt and the Tortured Father Who Shaped Her Life
Someone to Watch Over Me: A Portrait of Eleanor Roosevelt and the Tortured Father Who Shaped Her Life

Eric Burns · Pegasus Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A fresh and sensitive examination of Eleanor Roosevelt -- one of the most remarkable Americans in history -- and the tortured father who would inspire and shape her future leadership and advocacy. Eleanor Roosevelt is viewed as one of the most pioneering women in American history. But she was also...
Read More check catalog