Back | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Hot Picks  
How The Dead Speak

Val McDermid · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Val McDermid is an award-winning, crime-writing powerhouse, and now she returns to her explosive, thrilling series featuring psychological profiler Tony Hill and ex-DCI Carol Jordan in her latest How The Dead Speak

With Tony behind bars and Carol finally out of road as a cop,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Beating About the Bush

M. C. Beaton · Minotaur Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestseller M. C. Beaton's cranky, crafty Agatha Raisin -- now the star of a hit T.V. show -- is back on the case again.

One of Private Detective Agatha Raisin's many quirks was her tendency to exclaim, every time she drove along a motorway bordered by dense...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Watch Me: A Novel

Jeff Lindsay · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A masterful thief plots an impossible crime - stealing the Iranian Crown Jewels.

From the author of the wildly successful Dexter series comes a new, mesmerizing bad guy we can root for: Riley Wolfe. He's a master thief, expert at disguise, and not averse to violence when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kolyma Stories

Varlam Shalamov · NYRB Classics
Pages: 536
Format: Paperback

Life in a Russian gulag, based on the author's own years in the Gulag, chronicled in an epic masterpiece.Kolyma Stories is a masterpiece of twentieth-century literature, composed of short fictional tales based on Russian writer Varlam Shalamov's fifteen years in the Gulag. This...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Radiant Shimmering Light

SARAH SELECKY · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A nuanced satire--both hilarious and disconcerting--that probes the blurred lines between empowerment, spirituality, and consumerism in our online lives.Lilian Quick is 40, single, and childless, working as a pet portrait artist. She paints the colored light only she can see, but animal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 272
Format: Book

She possessed a stunning beauty. She also possessed a stunning mind. Could the world handle both?

Her beauty almost certainly saved her from the rising Nazi party and led to marriage with an Austrian arms dealer. Underestimated in everything else, she overheard the Third Reich's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Mouthful of Birds: Stories

Samanta Schweblin · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A powerful, eerily unsettling story collection from a major international literary star.

Unearthly and unexpected, the stories in Mouthful of Birds burrow their way into your psyche and don't let go. Samanta Schweblin haunts and mesmerizes in this extraordinary, masterful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weight of a Piano: A novel

Chris Cander · Knopf
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, Annie Proulx's Accordion Crimes, Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist

A tour-de-force about two women and the piano that inexorably ties their lives together through time and across continents, for better and for worse.

In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unmarriageable: A Novel

SONIAH KAMAL · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this one-of-a-kind retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in modern-day Pakistan, Alys Binat has sworn never to marry - until an encounter with one Mr. Darsee at a wedding makes her reconsider.

A scandal and vicious rumor concerning the Binat family have destroyed their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Plotters: A Novel

Un-su Kim · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the novelist dubbed "the Korean Henning Mankell" (The Guardian) comes a fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance. Perfect for fans of Han Kang and Patrick deWitt.

...
Read More check catalog