Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Hot Picks  
Strange Harvests: The Hidden Histories of Seven Natural Objects

Edward Posnett · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An original and magical map of our world and its riches, formed of the stories of the small-scale harvests of seven natural objectsIn this beguiling book, Edward Posnett journeys to some of the most far-flung locales on the planet to bring us seven wonders of the natural world--eiderdown,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things You Save in a Fire

· St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefighters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When You Read This: A Novel

Mary Adkins · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell, a comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts.Iris Massey is gone. But she's left something behind. For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unquiet: A Novel

Linn Ullmann · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Praised across Scandinavia as a "literary masterpiece," "spellbinding," and "magnificent," Unquiet reflects on six taped conversations the author had with her father at the very end of his life.He is a renowned Swedish filmmaker and has a plan for everything....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Monsters: A Novel

Chloe Aridjis · Catapult
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

"Sea Monsters is a mesmerizing, revelatory novel, smart and funny and laced with a strangeness that is never facile but serves as a profound and poetic tool for navigating our shared world. Chloe Aridjis is the rare writer who reinvents herself in each book; she is, for my money, one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nowhere Child

Christian White · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A gripping mystery about a young woman whose life is turned upside down when she finds out she may actually have been abducted years before by her recently deceased mother. "The Nowhere Child is a well-written thriller that avoids the clichés of the genre. The characters are interesting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Library of Lost and Found

Phaedra Patrick · Park Row
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A librarian's discovery of a mysterious book sparks the journey of a lifetime in the delightful new novel from the international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur PepperLibrarian Martha Storm has always found it easier to connect with books than people - though not for lack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After

CLEMANTINE WAMARIYA · Crown
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not - could not - live in that tale." Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to speak in whispers, when neighbors began to disappear,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay · Grove Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"The Far Field is remarkable, a novel at once politically timely and morally timeless. Madhuri Vijay traces the fault lines of history, love, and obligation running through a fractured family and country. Few novels generate enough power to transform their characters, fewer still their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bowlaway: A Novel

Elizabeth McCracken · Ecco
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping and enchanting new novel from the widely beloved, award-winning author Elizabeth McCracken about three generations of an unconventional New England family who own and operate a candlepin bowling alleyFrom the day she is discovered unconscious in a New England cemetery at the turn...
Read More check catalog