Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Paul Rosolie · Harper,
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
From Dust to Life: The Origin and Evolution of Our Solar System

John Chambers · Princeton University Press
Pages: 299
Format: Hardcover

The birth and evolution of our solar system is a tantalizing mystery that may one day provide answers to the question of human origins. This book tells the remarkable story of how the celestial objects that make up the solar system arose from common beginnings billions of years ago, and how scientists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe

Jorge Cham · Riverhead Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Prepare to learn everything we still don't know about our strange, mostly mysterious universe.

PHD Comics creator Jorge Cham and particle physicist Daniel Whiteson have teamed up to spelunk through the enormous gaps in our cosmological knowledge, armed with their popular infographics,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Manual of Fish Health: Everything You Need to Know About Aquarium Fish, Their Environment and Disease Prevention

Dr. Neville Carrington · Firefly Books; Rev Upd edition
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

A comprehensive guide to keeping fish healthy for the serious hobbyist. A healthy environment is crucial for any aquarium. Fish need more than a tank of water and a daily sprinkle of food to stay healthy, and the fish-keeper is regularly challenged to understand irregularities that can cause...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cases That Haunt Us

John E. Douglas · Pocket Books
Pages: 512
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Violent. Provocative. Shocking.
Call them what you will...but don't call them open and shut.
Did Lizzie Borden murder her own father and stepmother? Was Jack the Ripper actually the Duke of Clarence? Who killed JonBenet Ramsey? America's foremost expert on criminal profiling and twenty-five-year...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death Before the Fall: Biblical Literalism and the Problem of Animal Suffering

Ronald E Osborn · IVP Academic, an imprint of InterVarsity Press,
Pages: 195
Format: Paperback

2014 ECPA Top Shelf Book Cover Award Did animals have predatory natures before the fall? Did God punish innocent animals with a curse because of human sin? Is it possible for theistic evolution to be compatible with the Bible, even though animal death before the fall would contradict the teaching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Defending Your Castle: Build Catapults, Crossbows, Moats, Bulletproof Shields, and More Defensive Devices to Fend Off the Invading Hordes

William Gurstelle · Chicago Review Press
Format: Print book

Your home is your castle, but could it withstand an attack by Attila and the Huns, Ragnar and the Vikings, Alexander and the Greeks, Genghis Khan and the Mongols, or Tamerlane and the Tartars? Engineer William Gurstelle, author of the bestselling Backyard Ballistics, poses this fascinating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Planet Factory: Exoplanets and the Search for a Second Earth

Elizabeth Tasker · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Twenty years ago, the search for planets--and life--outside the solar system was a job restricted to science fiction writers. It is now one of the most rapidly growing fields in astronomy, with thousands of these "exoplanets" discovered so far. The detection of these worlds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take Pride: Why the Deadliest Sin Holds the Secret to Human Success

Jessica L Tracy · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

A leading psychologist reveals how our most misunderstood emotion - pride - has shaped our minds and our culture, and shows how we can harness its power.

Why did Paul Gauguin abandon middle-class life to follow the path of a starving artist? What inspired Bill Gates to give away...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Garden Bugs: Everything You Need to Know about Beneficial Predatory Insects

Mary M. Gardiner · Quarry Books
Pages: 176
Format: Flexibound

Your guide to the beneficial insects in your garden!

Good Garden Bugs is an easy-to-follow reference to beneficial insects that provide pest control, allowing your garden to grow full and bountiful.

Aphids, caterpillars, grubs, and slugs are not only creepy-crawlies, they...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Aroused: The History of Hormones and How They Control Just About Everything

Randi Hutter Epstein · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A guided tour through the strange science of hormones and the age-old quest to control them.

Metabolism, behavior, sleep, mood swings, the immune system, fighting, fleeing, puberty, and sex: these are just a few of the things our bodies control with hormones. Armed with a healthy...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Accessory to War: The Unspoken Alliance Between Astrophysics and the Military

NEIL DEGRASSE TYSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 576
Format: Hardcover

An exploration of the age-old complicity between skywatchers and warfighters, from the best-selling author of Astrophysics for People in a Hurry.

In this fascinating foray into the centuries-old relationship between science and military power, acclaimed astrophysicist Neil deGrasse...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Killing It: An Education

Camas Davis · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A wayward young woman abandons her magazine career to learn the old ways of butchery and discover what it means to take life into her own hands


Camas Davis was at an unhappy crossroads. A longtime magazine writer and editor in the food world, she'd returned to her home state...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I, Mammal: The Story of What Makes Us Mammals

Liam Drew · Bloomsbury SIGMA
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A list of the attributes that define a mammal is a ragbag of things--fur, live birth, three bones in the middle ear, a brain whose two halves are robustly joined together . . . But this curious collection of features contains the roots of all the biology that makes humans what we are: monkeys...
Read More check catalog