Back Parenting & Families | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Parenting & Families  
We Regret to Inform You: A Survival Guide for Gold Star Parents and Those Who Support Them

Joanne Steen · Central Recovery Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Author Joanne Steen tackles the subject that terrifies parents of military personnel -- the death of their son or daughter on active duty. In short, easy-to-read chapters Gold Star parents find thoughtful explanations and trustworthy advice for coping with military grief. Steen weaves together...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Parenting Mindfully: 101 Ways to Help Raise Caring and Responsible Kids in an Unpredictable World

Catherine DePino · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 220
Format: Hardcover

More than ever, life in our world, nation, and communities appears insecure and unpredictable. Every day, new and disturbing incidents appear on the news that feed this sense of unrest. In our communities, people don't attempt to understand one another's points of view, causing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Parenting Wins: Bathtub Dining, Family Screams, and Other Hacks from the Parenting Trenches

Hillary Frank · TarcherPerigee
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Unconventional--yet effective--parenting strategies, carefully curated by the creator of the popular podcast The Longest Shortest Time

Some of the best parenting advice that Hillary Frank ever received did not come from parenting experts, but from friends and podcast listeners...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 36-hour day : a family guide to caring for persons with Alzheimer's disease, related dementing illnesses, and memory loss in later life

Nancy L Mace · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Through five editions, The 36-Hour Day has been an essential resource for families who love and care for people with Alzheimer disease. Whether a person has Alzheimer disease or another form of dementia, he or she will face a host of problems. The 36-Hour Day will help...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Tantrums!: Managing Meltdowns in Public and Private

Thomas W. Phelan · Parentmagic, Inc.
Format: Book

A straightforward approach to managing tantrums.   Noting that of all the behavioral problems parents face from their children, temper tantrums may be the most upsetting, this handbook arms confused and frustrated parents with simple, easy-to-follow directions on how to best manage the problem...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Wait Up: Confessions of a Stay-at-Work Mom

Liz Astrof · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Let's Pretend This Never Happened and I Heart My Little A-Holes comes a candid and hilarious collection of essays on motherhood from the award-winning television comedy writer and producer of 2 Broke Girls and The King of Queens, who swears...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CO-SLEEPING

SUSAN D STEWART · ROWMAN & LITTLEFIELD
Format: Hardcover

Co-sleeping - parents and children sharing a bed - can be a fraught topic for parents. Some experts recommend parents never bring children into bed with them, while other experts extol the benefits of parents and children sharing a sleep space. Given the importance of sleep to our well-being,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Talking Baby: Helping Your Child Discover Language

Margaret Maclagen · Finch Publishing
Pages: 183
Format: Paperback

This book starts by describing a baby's language development alongside their physical development in the first 18 months. It then discusses play - the way young children learn. It also explores childrens' very early acquisition of words, and how they use them, and it covers the exciting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mommy Burnout: How to Reclaim Your Life and Raise Healthier Children in the Process

SHERYL GONZALEZ-ZIEGLER · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The ultimate must-read handbook for the modern mother: a practical, and positive tool to help free women from the debilitating notion of being the "perfect mom," filled with funny and all too relatable true-life stories and realistic suggestions to stop the burnout cycle, and protect...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Gray Divorce: What We Lose and Gain from Mid-Life Splits

Jocelyn Elise Crowley · University of California Press
Pages: 205
Format: Hardcover

After 20, 30, or even 40 years of marriage, countless vacations, raising well-adjusted children, and sharing property and finances, what could go wrong? Gray Divorce is a provocative look at the rising rate of marital splits after the age of 50. Renowned author and researcher Jocelyn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nolo's Essential Guide to Child Custody and Support

Emily Doskow · NOLO
Pages: 392
Format: Paperback

Custody and Support: Get the Answers You Need

When you're getting divorced, you can make a tough time easier for your children (and yourself) if you work with the other parent to agree on a custody plan and child support. If you can't resolve these issues, you'll have to head...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Playful Learning Lab for Kids: Whole-Body Sensory Adventures to Enhance Focus, Engagement, and Curiosity

CLAIRE HEFFRON · Quarry Books
Pages: 144
Format: Flexibound

Playful Learning Lab for Kids is a hands-on activity book that offers games and activities that revolve around the senses and concepts in reading, math, art, and science.

Recent research has shown that children learn and develop new skills more quickly when they engage in playful,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Side of Impossible: Ordinary People Who Faced Daunting Medical Challenges and Refused to Give Up

Susannah Meadows · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

You're faced with a difficult health condition. You have exhausted medicine's answers. What do you do?

In The Other Side of Impossible, Susannah Meadows tells the real-life stories of seven families who were determined to solve the unsolvable. Their adventures take us to the outer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Raise Kind Kids: And Get Respect, Gratitude, and a Happier Family in the Bargain

Thomas Lickona · Penguin Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Can you teach your child to be kind?

This vital question is taking on a new urgency as our culture grows ever more abrasive and divided.

We all want our kids to be kind. But recognizing that abstractly is not the same as knowing what to do when your son tunes you out or you catch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Untying Parent Anxiety

Lisa Sugarman · Familius
Pages: 188
Format: Paperback

Raising the perfect child . . . it's our dream as parents. But the reality is: the perfect child doesn't exist. Yet parents everywhere are putting the full-court press on their kids to be perfect, fixating on raising them to be smarter, faster, more successful, and more popular...
Read More check catalog