Back Teens | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
While We Run

Karen Healey · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Its 2127, and the future is at stake . . . Abdi Taalib thought he was moving to Australia for a music scholarship. But after meeting the beautiful and brazen Tegan Oglietti, his world was turned upside down. Tegans no ordinary girl - she died in 2027, only to be frozen and brought back...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Final Fantasy Lost Stranger, Vol. 1

Hazuki Minase · Yen Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Scoring a job at Square Enix, Sasaki Shogo's dream of producing a Final Fantasy game finally seems within his grasp! But after he starts, he quickly discovers that the work has nothing to do with his favorite franchise at all... Disillusioned, his enthusiasm for FF begins waning despite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Otherworld

Jason Segel · Random House/Listening Library

"After the newest set of virtual reality gear hits the market, Simon can't wait to test it out. But, when his friend Katherine suddenly disappears after being seen with men from the same gaming company, Simon must decide how far in the game he's willing to go to save her"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Missouri

Jean F. Blashfield
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

The third series of America the Beautiful is back in a revised edition. The books in this series are bursting with fascinating facts, updated statistics, and brand-new full-color photographs. America the Beautiful's dynamic design and editorial approach to the geography, history, people,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swing

Kwame Alexander · Blink
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Things usually do not go as planned for seventeen-year-old Noah. He and his best friend Walt (aka Swing) have been cut from the high school baseball team for the third year in a row, and it looks like Noah's love interest since fifth grade, Sam, will never take it past the "best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long May She Reign

Rhiannon Thomas · HarperTeen
Pages: 422
Format: Hardcover

The Girl of Fire and Thorns meets The Queen of the Tearling in this thrilling fantasy standalone about one girl's unexpected rise to power.Freya was never meant to be queen. Twenty-third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey, Kiddo

Jarrett J. Krosoczka · Graphix
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

Lauren James · HarperTeen
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A surprising and gripping sci-fi thriller with a killer twistThe daughter of two astronauts, Romy Silvers is no stranger to life in space. But she never knew how isolating the universe could be until her parents' tragic deaths left her alone on the Infinity, a spaceship speeding away from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Siren

Kiera Cass · HarperTeen
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

From Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human - a kind,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Impostor Queen

Sarah Fine · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Scourge

Jennifer A Nielsen · Scholastic Press
Pages: 353
Format: Print book

As a lethal plague sweeps through the land, Ani Mells is shocked when she is unexpectedly captured by the governor's wardens and forced to submit to a test for the deadly Scourge. She is even more surprised when the test results come back positive, and she is sent to Attic Island, a former...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bodyguard: Hostage

CHRIS BRADFORD · Philomel Books
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex Rider and Jason Bourne--with the first four books publishing simultaneously. Binge read for summer!Following the nail-biting cliff-hanger of Bodyguard 1: Recruit, the action resumes in Hostage as martial arts expert and trained...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Very, Very, Very Dreadful: The Influenza Pandemic of 1918

Albert Marrin · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From National Book Award finalist Albert Marrin comes a fascinating look at the history and science of the deadly 1918 flu pandemic--and the chances for another worldwide pandemic.In spring of 1918, World War I was underway, and troops at Fort Riley, Kansas, found themselves felled by influenza....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Votes for Women!: American Suffragists and the Battle for the Ballot

Winifred Conkling · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

On August 18, 1920, American women finally won the right to vote. Ratification of the 19th Amendment was the culmination of an almost eighty-year fight in which some of the fiercest, most passionate women in history marched, protested, and sometimes broke the law in to achieve this huge...
Read More check catalog