Back Teens | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Quiet power : the secret strengths of introverts

Susan Cain · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 270
Format: Print book

The monumental bestseller "Quiet "has been recast in a new edition that empowers introverted kids and teens Susan Cain sparked a worldwide conversation when she published "Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can t Stop Talking. " With her inspiring book, she permanently...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Doable: The Girls' Guide to Accomplishing Just About Anything

Deborah Reber · Simon Pulse/Beyond Words
Format: Hardcover

Got goals? This empowering guide shows how to tackle your to-dos with confidence and enthusiasm so that you can transform anxiety into accomplishment.It's great to dream big, but with day-to-day demands and stresses that seem to dominate our lives, larger goals are easily overlooked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Release

Patrick Ness · HarperTeen
Pages: 277
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by Judy Blume's Forever and Virginia Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway, this novel that Andrew Smith calls "beautiful, enchanting, [and] exquisitely written" is a new classic about teenage relationships, self-acceptance - and what happens when the walls we build start coming down....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thumped

Megan McCafferty · Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardcover

Megan McCafferty’s Bumped series of books are must-read teen dystopian fiction, along with Ally Condie’s Matched series and Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy. Thumped, the sequel to Bumped, manages to be satiric, scary, and romantic at the same time. It continues...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Female of the Species

Mindy Mcginnis · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Edgar Award-winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a dark and riveting contemporary YA novel that blends the unflinching honesty of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak with the relentless pacing and alternating perspectives of Gone Girl. A stunning, unforgettable page-turner.Alex Craft knows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sinking the Sultana: A Civil War Story of Imprisonment, Greed, and a Doomed Journey Home

SALLY M WALKER · Candlewick
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The worst maritime disaster in American history wasn't the Titanic. It was the steamboat Sultana on the Mississippi River - and it could have been prevented.In 1865, the Civil War was winding down and the country was reeling from Lincoln's assassination. Thousands of Union soldiers, released...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empire of Night

Kelley Armstrong · Harper
Pages: 424
Format: Print book

The heart-stopping sequel to the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows, which Kirkus Reviews called "a standout." Blending fantasy, romance, danger, and action, Kelley Armstrong sends readers on a thrilling journey through an unforgettable world, perfect for fans of Graceling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magician and the Spirits

DEBORAH NOYES · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

"Noyes makes history accessible and irresistible . . . Excellent."* A century ago, the curious idea that spirits not only survive death but can be contacted on the "other side" was widespread. Psychic mediums led countless séances, claiming to connect the grieving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucky in Love

Kasie West · Point
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Maddie doesn't believe in luck. She's all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment --She wins!In a flash, Maddie's life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she's talking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Sara Saedi · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like a river glorious.

Rae Carson · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Puddin'

JULIE MURPHY · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The irresistible companion to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dumplin', soon to be a major motion picture starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston!Millie Michalchuk has gone to fat camp every year since she was a little girl. Not this year. This year she has new plans to chase...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frogkisser!

Garth Nix · Scholastic Press
Pages: 372
Format: Hardcover

Poor Princess Anya. Forced to live with her evil stepmother's new husband, her evil stepstepfather. Plagued with an unfortunate ability to break curses with a magic-assisted kiss. And forced to go on the run when her stepstepfather decides to make the kingdom entirely his own.Aided by a loyal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nil Unlocked

Lynne Matson · Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover

On the island of Nil, the rules are set. You have exactly 365 days to escape--or you die. Rives is now the undisputed Leader of Nil City, but keeping the City united is tougher than ever.Raiders have grown bolder, supplies are dwindling, and non-human inhabitants have taken a turn toward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dazzling Heights

KATHARINE MCGEE · HarperCollins
Pages: 422
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog