Back Teens | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Everything All at Once

KATRINA LENO · HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A soaring novel by the critically acclaimed author of The Half Life of Molly Pierce and The Lost & Found, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Rainbow Rowell.Lottie Reaves is not a risk taker. But she's about to take a leap into the unknown ... When Lottie's beloved Aunt Helen dies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hate U Give

A C THOMAS · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Eight Starred Reviews! #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" - Jason Reynolds"Stunning." - John Green"This story is necessary. This story is important." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Heartbreakingly topical." - Publishers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Estuaries

Simon Rose · AV2 by Weigl
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

An estuary is a body of water where fresh water from rivers mixes with the salt water of the ocean. An estuary may also be known as a bay, harbor, inlet, lagoon, or sound. Estuaries are home to a variety of plants and animals. This is an AV2 media enhanced book. A unique book code printed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lockdown: Volume 2

Charles Soule · Graphic Novels
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

When Grakkus the Hutt agrees to reveal Lor San Tekka's location to whoever can break him out of Megalox Beta first, Poe devises a prison break with BB-8. Agent Terex makes plans of his own with other prison bosses. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liberia

Ruth Bjorklund · C. Press/F. Watts Trade
Pages: 144
Format: Library Binding

In each title of this enchanting series, readers are transported to distant lands with the fascinating text and attention-grabbing photos. Each country's culture, history, and geography are explored in detail, allowing readers a chance to see how people live in faraway nations.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Leaves Falling

Sarah Benwell · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In Japan, teenaged Abe Sora, who is afflicted with "Lou Gehrig's Disease," finds friends online and elicits their help to end his suffering.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Golden Specific

S. E. Grove · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman!It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dangerous Creatures

Kami Garcia · Little
Pages: 327
Format: Paperback

"Siren Ridley and her rocker boyfriend Link move to New York City to make it big with their supernatural band mates in Sirensong, but Caster trouble follows them"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Summer State of Mind

Jen Calonita · Poppy
Format: Paperback

Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the pool at her country club. But after receiving her latest heart-stopping credit card bill, Harper's parents makes other plans, and ship her off to camp. Suddenly,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Focus on Diversity Set: Pick and Roll

Kelsey Blair · James Lorimer
Format: Paperback

Jazz Smith-Mohapatra is the toughest and best player on her basketball team--and this year she’s determined to lead the team to a championship win. But in the last game of the regular season, Jazz sets an offensive move called a pick and roll, sending her opponent onto the floor....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Borden Murders: Lizzie Borden and the Trial of the Century

Sarah Elizabeth Miller · Schwartz & Wade Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Here's middle-grade nonfiction that reads like a thriller. With murder, court battles, and sensational newspaper headlines, the story of Lizzie Borden is compulsively readable and perfect for the Common Core. Lizzie Borden took an axe, gave her mother forty whacks. When she saw what she had done,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Twisted Ones

SCOTT CAWTHON · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

The highly anticipated sequel to the bestselling Five Nights at Freddy's: The Silver Eyes. It's been a year since the horrific events at Freddy Fazbear's Pizza, and Charlie is just trying to move on. Even with the excitement of a new school and a fresh start, she's still haunted by nightmares...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gone Away Place

Christopher Barzak · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From Stonewall Honor author Christopher Barzak comes a haunting novel of love and loss, in which a series of tornadoes rips through a small midwest town, forever altering the lives of those who live there.Ellie heads up her high school yearbook, and until the tornadoes come, her biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anne of Avonlea

L. M. Montgomery · Aladdin
Format: Hardcover

The inimitable Anne Shirley makes her mark on Avonlea in this artfully packaged edition of the sequel to Anne of Green Gables.Five years after Anne Shirley came to the town of Avonlea, she feels (a little) more grown up, but she's still the same skinny, red-headed orphan Matthew and Marilla...
Read More check catalog