Back History | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
How Paris Became Paris: The Invention of the Modern City

Joan DeJean · St Martins Pr
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

At the beginning of the seventeenth century, Paris was known for isolated monuments but had not yet put its brand on urban space. Like other European cities, it was still emerging from its medieval past. But in a mere century Paris would be transformed into the modern and mythic city we know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Armada

Garrett Mattingly · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 443
Format: Hardcover

This award-­winning story of the defeat of the Spanish Armada has been hailed as a historical masterpiece. The book covers Queen Elizabeth's reign over a turbulent nation, while the Duke of Parma plans the invasion of England from the Netherlands. The crucial period from February 1587...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unsubstantial Air: American Fliers in the First World War

Samuel Hynes · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

The Unsubstantial Air is the gripping story of the Americans who fought and died in the aerial battles of World War I. Much more than a traditional military history, it is an account of the excitement of becoming a pilot and flying in combat over the Western Front, told through the words...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unruly City: Paris, London and New York in the Age of Revolution

Mike Rapport · Basic Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In The Unruly City, historian Mike Rapport offers a vivid history of three intertwined cities toward the end of the eighteenth century - Paris, London, and New York - all in the midst of political chaos and revolution. From the British occupation of New York during the Revolutionary War,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescue Board: The Untold Story of America's Efforts to Save the Jews of Europe

Rebecca Erbelding · Doubleday
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

America has long been criticized for refusing to give harbor to the Jews of Europe as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. Now a U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum scholar tells the extraordinary story of the War Refugee Board, President Franklin D. Roosevelt's little-known effort late in the war to save...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots

Nancy Goldstone · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The riveting story of four unforgettable sisters and their glamorous mother, Elizabeth Stuart, granddaughter of Mary, Queen of ScotsElizabeth Stuart's life was transformed when her father, James I, ascended to the illustrious throne of England. Her marriage to a German count far below her rank...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela · Back Bay Books; Mti edition
Format: Hardcover

The book that inspired the major new motion picture Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom.Nelson Mandela is one of the great moral and political leaders of our time: an international hero whose lifelong dedication to the fight against racial oppression in South Africa won him the Nobel Peace Prize...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Portugal

DK Travel · DK Eyewitness Travel
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Portugal helps you get the most from your visit to this unique European country. You'll find in-depth detail on all the important sights with maps, photos, and illustrated 3-D cutaways for major sights.DK's insider travel tips and essential local information...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Joan of Arc

Mary Gordon · Viking Adult
Pages: 180
Format: Hardcover

A provocative biography of this enduring figure searches for reason why this failed soldier and executed heretic has survived in consciousness of Western Civilization. Original.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution

Nathaniel Philbrick · Viking
Pages: 427
Format: Print book

"Valiant Ambition may be one of the greatest what-if books of the age - a volume that turns one of America's best-known narratives on its head." - Boston Globe"Clear and insightful, it consolidates his reputation as one of America's foremost practitioners of narrative nonfiction."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Negroland: A Memoir

Margo Jefferson · Pantheon Books
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAt once incendiary and icy, mischievous and provocative, celebratory and elegiac - here is a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author's rarefied upbringing and education among a black elite concerned with distancing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Do We Look: The Body, the Divine, and the Question of Civilization

MARY BEARD · Liveright
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From prehistoric Mexico to modern Istanbul, Mary Beard looks beyond the familiar canon of Western imagery to explore the history of art, religion, and humanity. Conceived as a gorgeously illustrated accompaniment to "How Do We Look" and "The Eye of Faith," the famed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
New World, Inc.: The Making of America by England's Merchant Adventurers

JOHN BUTMAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Three generations of English merchant adventurers-not the Pilgrims, as we have so long believed-were the earliest founders of America. Profit-not piety-was their primary motive. Some seventy years before the Mayflower sailed, a small group of English merchants formed "The Mysterie,...
Read More check catalog