Back Biographies & Memoirs | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
President Kennedy: Profile of Power

Richard Reeves · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

An objective view of John F. Kennedy's presidency offers insights into the Bay of Pigs crisis, the civil rights battles, his commitment toward Vietnam, and other key events. By the author of American Journey. 75,000 first printing. Tour.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Neighbor: The Life and Work of Fred Rogers

MAXWELL KING · Abrams Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Fred Rogers (1928-2003) was an enormously influential figure in the history of television and in the lives of tens of millions of children. As the creator and star of Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, he was a champion of compassion, equality, and kindness. Rogers was fiercely devoted to children...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mozart: A Life

Paul Johnson · Viking
Format: Hardcover

Eminent historian Paul Johnson dazzles with a rich, succinct portrait of Mozart and his musicAs hes done in Napoleon, Churchill, Jesus, and Darwin, acclaimed historian and author Paul Johnson here offers a concise, illuminating biography of Mozart. Johnsons focus is on the music—Mozarts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Together: A Memoir of a Marriage and a Medical Mishap

Judy Goldman · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A routine procedure left novelist, memoirist, and poet Judy Goldman's husband paralyzed. Together is her unforgettable account of the struggle to regain their "normal" life and a nuanced portrait of a marriage tested.When Judy Goldman's husband of almost four decades reads a newspaper...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

SARA ZASKE · Picador
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, from an American woman who learned how to raise strong, self-reliant children by following the common sense approach of German parenting. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly

Anthony Bourdain · Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover(1ST US)

New York chef Tony Bourdain gives away secrets of the trade in his wickedly funny, inspiring memoir and expos. From his first oyster in the Gironde to his lowly position as a dishwasher in a honky-tonk, Bourdain's tales of the kitchen are as passionate as they are unpredictable. "Kitchen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Beloved World

Sonia Sotomayor · Knopf; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken by a sitting Justice, she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal bench, a journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Proust's Duchess: How Three Celebrated Women Captured the Imagination of Fin de Siecle Paris

CAROLINE WEBER · Knopf
Pages: 768
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the acclaimed Queen of Fashion--a brilliant look at the glittering world of turn-of-the-century Paris through the first in-depth study of the three women Proust used to create his supreme fictional character, the Duchesse de Guermantes.Geneviève Halévy Bizet Straus;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Make Trouble: Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding the Courage to Lead--My Life Story

CECILE RICHARDS · Touchstone
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

To Make Change, You Have to Make Trouble From Cecile Richards - president of Planned Parenthood Federation of America and the Planned Parenthood Action Fund for more than a decade, daughter of the late Governor Ann Richards, featured speaker at the Women's March on Washington, and a "heroine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild

Cheryl Strayed · Vintage; Mti edition
Format: Print book

The official movie tie-in edition to the major motion picture, starring Reese Witherspoon and based on this sensational 1 New York Times Bestseller.At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mothers death, her family scattered and her own marriage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wait Till Next Year: A Memoir

Doris Kearns Goodwin · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 261
Format: Hardcover

Wait Till Next Year: A Memoir
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitchen Yarns: Notes on Life, Love, and Food

ANN HOOD · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In this warm collection of personal essays and recipes, best-selling author Ann Hood nourishes both our bodies and our souls.From her Italian-American childhood through raising and feeding a growing family and cooking with her new husband, food writer Michael Ruhlman, Ann Hood has long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Deborah Feldman · Simon & Schuster; Fourth Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting...
Read More check catalog