Back Biographies & Memoirs | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Best Cook in the World: Tales from My Momma's Table

Rick Bragg · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the beloved, best-selling author of All Over but the Shoutin', a delectable, rollicking food memoir, cookbook, and loving tribute to a region, a vanishing history, a family, and, especially, to his mother. Including seventy-five mouthwatering Bragg family recipes for classic southern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Maya Angelou · Random House
Pages: 289
Format: Paperback

A phenomenal #1 bestseller that has appeared on the New York Times bestseller list for nearly three years, this memoir traces Maya Angelou's childhood in a small, rural community during the 1930s. Filled with images and recollections that point to the dignity and courage of black men and women,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

SARA ZASKE · Picador
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, from an American woman who learned how to raise strong, self-reliant children by following the common sense approach of German parenting. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arrogant Years, The

Lucette Lagnado · Ecco / HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

Lagnado writes in crystalline yet melodious prose.—New York TimesLucette Lagnados acclaimed, award-winning The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit a crushing, brilliant book —New York Times Book Review told the powerfully moving story of her Jewish familys exile from Egypt. In her extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbroken

Laura Hillenbrand · Random House Trade Paperbacks; Reprint edition
Format: Print book

1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE  Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Readers Circle for author chats and more.In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible delinquent. As a teenager, he channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wilde Times: Patricia Wilde, George Balanchine, and the Rise of New York City Ballet

Joel Lobenthal · ForeEdge
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

At eighty-seven, Patricia Wilde remains a grande dame of the ballet world. As a young star she toured America in the company of the Ballet Russe. In her heyday in the 1950s and '60s, she was a first-generation member and principal dancer of New York City Ballet during the uniquely dramatic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
William Howard Taft.

Lapham Lewis H.; Blum John M. · Times Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The only man to serve as president and chief justice, who approached every decision in constitutional terms, defending the Founders' vision against new populist threats to American democracyWilliam Howard Taft never wanted to be president and yearned instead to serve as chief justice of the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Year of Dirt and Water: Journal of a Zen Monk's Wife in Japan

Tracy Franz · Stone Bridge Press
Pages: 308
Format: Paperback

In February 2004, when her American husband, a recently ordained Zen monk, leaves home to train for a year at a centuries-old Buddhist monastery, Tracy Franz embarks on her own year of Zen. An Alaskan alone - and lonely - in Japan, she begins to pay attention. My Year of Dirt and Water...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Deborah Feldman · Simon & Schuster; Fourth Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife's Tale: A Personal History

Aida Edemariam · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this indelible memoir that recalls the life of her remarkable ninety-five-year old grandmother, Guardian journalist Aida Edemariam tells the story of modern Ethiopia - a nation that would undergo a tumultuous transformation from feudalism to monarchy to Marxist revolution to democracy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Tale of Love and Darkness

Amos Oz
Format: Paperback

Winner of the National Jewish Book AwardInternational Bestseller "[An] ingenious work that circles around the rise of a state, the tragic destiny of a mother, a boy's creation of a new self." - The New YorkerA family saga and a magical self-portrait of a writer who witnessed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Invasion: 1915: Germany's Secret War and the Hunt for the First Terrorist Cell in America

Howard Blum · Harper Perennial; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Combining the pulsating drive of Showtime's Homeland with the fascinating historical detail of such of narrative nonfiction bestsellers as Double Cross and In the Garden of Beasts, Dark Invasion is Howard Blum’s gritty, high-energy true-life tale of German espionage and terror...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forty Autumns: A Family's Story of Courage and Survival on Both Sides of the Iron Curtain

Nina Willner · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

In this illuminating and deeply moving memoir, a former American military intelligence officer goes beyond traditional Cold War espionage tales to tell the true story of her family - of five women separated by the Iron Curtain for more than forty years, and their miraculous reunion after...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mozart: A Life

Paul Johnson · Viking
Format: Hardcover

Eminent historian Paul Johnson dazzles with a rich, succinct portrait of Mozart and his musicAs hes done in Napoleon, Churchill, Jesus, and Darwin, acclaimed historian and author Paul Johnson here offers a concise, illuminating biography of Mozart. Johnsons focus is on the music—Mozarts...
Read More check catalog