Back Science | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Man Who Planted Trees: Lost Groves, Champion Trees, and an Urgent Plan to Save the Planet

Jim Robbins · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 216
Format: Print book

The Man Who Planted Trees is the inspiring story of David Milarch's quest to clone the biggest trees on the planet in order to save our forests and ecosystem - as well as a hopeful lesson about how each of us has the ability to make a difference."When is the best time to plant a tree?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease

Meredith Wadman · Viking
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

The epic and controversial story of the development of the first widely used normal human cell-line and, through it, some of the world s most important vaccines In June 1962, a young biologist at the Wistar Institute in Philadelphia, Leonard Hayflick, using tissue extracted from an aborted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain: The Complete Mind: How It Develops, How It Works, and How to Keep It Sharp

Michael S. Sweeney · National Geographic
Format: Print book

Did you know that listening to music tunes up your brain? Or that certain foods can help maintain mental fitness? Or that exercise can keep both body and mind in good shape? Delving into the science behind these strategies, Brain goes even deeper to reveal the brain’s inner workings.Overseen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nature Principle: Human Restoration and the End of Nature-Deficit Disorder

Richard Louv · Algonquin Books
Format: Hardcover

For many of us, thinking about the future conjures up images of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road: a post-apocalyptic dystopia stripped of nature. Richard Louv, author of the landmark bestseller Last Child in the Woods, urges us to change our vision of the future, suggesting that if we reconceive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out on a Limb: What Black Bears Have Taught Me about Intelligence and Intuition

Benjamin Kilham · Chelsea Green Publishing; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

InxAOut on a Limb Ben Kilham invites us into the world he has come to know best the world of black bearsxA For decades Kilham has studied wild black bears in a vast tract of Northern New Hampshire woodlands At times he has also taken in orphaned infantsxfeeding them walking them through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rocks Don't Lie: A Geologist Investigates Noah's Flood

David R. Montgomery · W. W. Norton & Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

How the mystery of the Bible's greatest story shaped geology: a MacArthur Fellow presents a surprising perspective on Noah's Flood. In Tibet, geologist David R. Montgomery heard a local story about a great flood that bore a striking similarity to Noah’s Flood. Intrigued,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Schaum's Outline of Geometry, Sixth Edition

Barnett Rich · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 342
Format: Paperback

Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Textbook too pricey?Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully-solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rewilding the World: Dispatches from the Conservation Revolution

Caroline Fraser · Metropolitan Books
Format: Print book

A gripping account of the environmental crusade to save the world’s most endangered species and landscapes—the last best hope for preserving our natural homeScientists worldwide are warning of the looming extinction of thousands of species, from tigers and polar bears to rare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Sperm Whale: A Natural History of the Ocean's Most Magnificent and Mysterious Creature

Richard Ellis · University Press of Kansas; 1st Ed. edition
Format: Hardcover

Over the past several decades, Richard Ellis has produced a remarkable body of work that has been called "magnificent" (Washington Post Book World) , "masterful" (Scientific American) , "magical" (Men's Journal) , and a "dazzling tour de force"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moonwalking With Einstein: The Art and Science of Remembering Everything

Joshua Foer · The Penguin Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

Foers unlikely journey from chronically forgetful science journalist to US Memory Champion frames a revelatory exploration of the vast hidden impact of memory on every aspect of our lives On average people squander forty days annually compensating for things theyve forgotten Joshua Foer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bats: A World of Science and Mystery

M. Brock Fenton · University Of Chicago Press
Format: Hardcover

There are more than 1,300 species of bats - or almost a quarter of the world's mammal species. But before you shrink in fear from these furry "creatures of the night," consider the bat's fundamental role in our ecosystem. A single brown bat can eat several thousand insects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harmony: A New Way of Looking at Our World

Charles HRH The Prince Of Wales · Harper
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, His Royal Highness Charles, the Prince of Wales, shares his views on how mankind’s most pressing modern challenges are rooted in our disharmony with nature. In the vein of Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth and Van Jones’ Green Collar Economy, Prince Charles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pendulum: How Past Generations Shape Our Present and Predict Our Future

Roy H. Williams · Vanguard Press
Format: Book

Politics, manners, humor, sexuality, wealth, even our definitions of success are periodically renegotiated based on the new values society chooses to use as a lens to judge what is acceptable. Are these new values randomly chosen or is there a pattern?Pendulum chronicles the stuttering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr Tompkins in Paperback

George Gamow · Cambridge University Press; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Since his first appearance over sixty years ago, Mr Tompkins has become known and loved by many thousands of readers as the bank clerk whose fantastic dreams and adventures lead him into a world inside the atom. George Gamow's classic provides a delightful explanation of the central...
Read More check catalog