Back History | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Fracture: Barack Obama, the Clintons, and the Racial Divide

Joy-Ann Reid · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Barack Obama's speech on the Edmund Pettus Bridge to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the Selma to Montgomery marches should have represented the culmination of Martin Luther King Jr.'s dream of racial unity. Yet, in Fracture, MSNBC national correspondent Joy-Ann Reid shows that,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Navy SEALs: Their Untold Story

William Doyle · William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

The most complete history of the U.S. Navy SEALs - from their roots in World War II to their celebrated efforts in the War on Terror - written with the unprecedented cooperation of the Naval Special Warfare community. The book will tie-in with a fall 2014 PBS series.Over the last fifty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Truth Is Out: The Week Politics Went Tabloid

Matt Bai · Knopf; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

An NPR Best Book of the YearIn May 1987, Colorado Senator Gary Hart - a dashing, reform-minded Democrat - seemed a lock for the party's presidential nomination and led George H. W. Bush by double digits in the polls. Then, in one tumultuous week, rumors of marital infidelity and a newspaper's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lies the Government Told You: Myth, Power, and Deception in American History

Andrew P. Napolitano · Thomas Nelson; 5th Print edition
Format: Hardcover

YOUVE BEEN LIED TO BY THE GOVERNMENT We shrug off this fact as an unfortunate reality. America is the land of the free, after all. Does it really matter whether our politicians bend the truth here and there? When the truth is traded for lies, our freedoms are diminished and dont return....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Piero's Light: In Search of Piero della Francesca: A Renaissance Painter and the Revolution in Art, Science, and Religion

Larry Witham · Pegasus Books
Pages: 354
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Swerve and Galileo's Daughter, Piero's Light reveals how art, religion and science came together at the dawn of the modern world in the paintings of one remarkable artist
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fierce Urgency of Now: Lyndon Johnson, Congress, and the Battle for the Great Society

Julian E. Zelizer · Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

A majestic big-picture account of the Great Society and the forces that shaped it, from Lyndon Johnson and members of Congress to the civil rights movement and the mediaBetween November 1963, when he became president, and November 1966, when his party was routed in the midterm elections,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ravensbruck: Life and Death in Hitler's Concentration Camp for Women

Sarah Helm · Nan A. Talese
Format: Hardcover

A masterly and moving account of the most horrific hidden atrocity of World War II: Ravensbrück, the only Nazi concentration camp built for women On a sunny morning in May 1939 a phalanx of 867 women - housewives, doctors, opera singers, politicians, prostitutes - was marched through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beale Street Dynasty: Sex, Song, and the Struggle for the Soul of Memphis

Preston Lauterbach · W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Hardcover

The vivid history of Beale Streeta lost world of swaggering musicians, glamorous madams, and ruthless politiciansand the battle for the soul of Memphis.Following the Civil War, Beale Street in Memphis, Tennessee, thrived as a cauldron of sex and song, violence and passion. But out of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bomb Squad: A Year Inside the Nation's Most Exclusive Police Unit

Richard Esposito · Hyperion; 1ST edition
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An unprecedented behind-the-scenes look at the men who protect us from the most frightening prospect of life in the age of terrorism"In my mind it's all business; I dont worry about my family, I dont worry about a function that Im doing after work, I just worry about what's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Texas Rising: The Epic True Story of the Lone Star Republic and the Rise of the Texas Rangers, 1836-1846

Stephen L. Moore · William Morrow; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The official nonfiction companion to HISTORY's dramatic series Texas Rising (created by the same team that made the ratings record-breaker Hatfields & McCoys): a thrilling new narrative history of the Texas Revolution and the rise of the legendary Texas Rangers who patrolled the violent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midnight Assassin: Panic, Scandal, and the Hunt for America's First Serial Killer

Skip Hollandsworth · Henry Holt and Co., 2016.
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A sweeping narrative history of a terrifying serial killer--America's first--who stalked Austin, Texas in 1885In the late 1800s, the city of Austin, Texas was on the cusp of emerging from an isolated western outpost into a truly cosmopolitan metropolis. But beginning in December 1884, Austin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Armageddon: The Battle for Germany, 1944-1945

Max Hastings · Vintage Books
Pages: 584
Format: Book

In September 1944, the Allies believed that Hitler's army was beaten and expected the bloodshed to end by Christmas. Yet a series of mistakes and setbacks, including the Battle of the Bulge, drastically altered this timetable and led to eight more months of brutal fighting. With Armageddon,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington's Circle: The Creation of the President

David S. Heidler · Random House
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

History enthusiasts and admirers of Team of Rivals will rejoice in this magisterial account of the extraordinary Americans who served the nation's first chief executive: Together, they created the presidency for a country disgusted by crowns and the people who would wear them. In 1789,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy: Four Women Undercover in the Civil War

Karen Abbott · Harper
Pages: 513
Format: Hardcover

Karen Abbott, the New York Times bestselling author of Sin in the Second City and "pioneer of sizzle history" (USA Today) , tells the spellbinding true story of four women who risked everything to become spies during the Civil War.Karen Abbott illuminates one of the most fascinating...
Read More check catalog