Back Sports | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Sports  
Coming Out to Play

Robbie Rogers , · Penguin Books

“Rogers made history.” —Sports IllustratedRobbie Rogers knows better than most that keeping secrets can crush you. But for much of his life Robbie lived in paralyzing fear that sharing his big secret would cost him the love of his family and his career as a professional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike

Philip H Knight · Scribner
Pages: 386
Format: Print book

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and board chairman Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company's early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world's most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands.Young, searching,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory

Julie Checkoway · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 415
Format: Print book

For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.In 1937, a schoolteacher on the island of Maui challenged a group of poverty-stricken sugar plantation kids to swim upstream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soccer Men: Profiles of the Rogues, Geniuses, and Neurotics Who Dominate the World's Most Popular Sport

Simon Kuper · Nation Books
Pages: 376
Format: Paperback

Simon Kuper's New York Times bestseller Soccernomics pioneered a new way of looking at soccer through meticulous empirical analysis and incisive - and witty - commentary. Kuper now leaves the numbers and data behind to explore the heart and soul of the world's most popular sport...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bigger Than the Game: Restitching a Major League Life

Dirk Hayhurst · Citadel

Old demons together with new enemies and a season ending-- possibly career ending-- injury look to knock Hayhurst out of baseball forever.  Isolated from his family, broken, and branded a traitor by his teammates for writing inside the locker room, Hayhurst finds himself at a crossroads:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Agent: My 40-Year Career Making Deals and Changing the Game

Leigh Steinberg · Thomas Dunne Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller!The real-life "Jerry Maguire," superagent Leigh Steinberg shares his personal stories on the rise, fall, and redemption of his game-changing career in the high-stakes world of professional sportsLeigh Steinberg is renowned as one of the greatest sports...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Keeper: A Life of Saving Goals and Achieving Them

Tim Howard · Harper
Format: Hardcover

In this inspiring, down-to-earth memoir the revered goalkeeper and American icon  idolized by millions worldwide for his dependability, daring, and humility recounts his rise to stardom at the 2014 World Cup, the psychological and professional challenges he has faced, and the enduring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perfectly Awful: The Philadelphia 76ers' Horrendous and Hilarious 1972-1973 Season

Charley Rosen · University of Nebraska Press
Format: Hardcover

During the 1972-1973 basketball season, the Philadelphia 76ers were not just a bad team; they were fantastically awful. Doomed from the start after losing their leading scorer and rebounder, Billy Cunningham, as well as head coach Jack Ramsay, they lost twenty-one of their first twenty-three...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Under the Stars: How America Fell in Love with Camping

Dan White · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 401
Format: Print book

"The definitive book on camping in America. . . . A passionate, witty, and deeply engaging examination of why humans venture into the wild." -- Cheryl Strayed, author of WildAn irreverent history of American campingFrom the Sierras to the Adirondacks and the Everglades, Dan White...
Read More check catalog