Back Children's Books | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Children's Books  
Bloom
Bloom

Deborah Diesen · Farrar
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

From the New York Times Bestselling author of The Pout-Pout Fish seriesDig holes in the autumn soil. Drop the bulbs in one by one. Cover them with dirt. Come spring, the bulbs will flower! In this lushly illustrated story from Deborah Diesen that celebrates life and growing up, a mother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Monster Needs a Christmas Tree
Monster Needs a Christmas Tree

Paul Czajak · Mighty Media Press
Pages: 26
Format: Hardcover

It's almost Christmastime, and Monster needs a tree. But the holidays are filled with joy and so many fun things to do! After snowballs, sleds, and Santa Claus, will he find a tree in time? In this festive, rhyming story, Monster shows young readers that with a little creativity, a tree...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miles to the Finish
Miles to the Finish

Jamie Harper · Candlewick
Format: Hardcover

The creator of Miles to Go heads over to the preschool Grand Prix, where a little girl is about to give the boys a run for their money.It's race day at the Red Apple School, and Miles and Otto can't wait. But what's that fancy Speedster doing here? It belongs to a girl named...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Hatched!
I Hatched!

Jill Esbaum · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the illustrator of Little Pea comes a gleeful, goofy, gorgeous celebration of being new, curious, and ready to take on the world--perfect for fans of Duck and GooseA baby chick bursts from his egg and into the world with hilarious enthusiasm, awe, and I-can't-help-myself energy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Love You, Blankie
I Love You, Blankie

Sheryl Haft · LB Kids; Brdbk edition
Format: Board book

A flowing sail, a hot air balloon, a fluffy cloud, a glowing moon... with a little imagination, a blankie can be anything!
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Turnip
The Turnip

Jan Brett · G. P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In a rollicking, cumulative tale, a badger family and their friends-Hedgie, Mr. Ram and Vanya, the horse-struggle to pull up a giant turnip. A cocky rooster steps in and pulls, sending him into the air, holding onto the turnip. No one knows that a mother bear in her underground den has kicked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleepless Knight
Sleepless Knight

Alexis Frederick-Frost · First Second
Format: Hardcover

The Knight can't wait for her first camping trip! She and her horse Edward pack everything they need--including her beloved Teddy--and head out into the woods. But when it's time for bed, Teddy is nowhere to be found! A helpful rabbit thinks this "Teddy" sounds familiar,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buddy and the Bunnies in: Don't Play with Your Food!
Buddy and the Bunnies in: Don't Play with Your Food!

Bob Shea · Disney Pr
Pages: 1
Format: Print book

Rah! Buddy's a monster, and he's hungry! Time for all cute little bunnies to hop into his mouth. "Oh no!" they say. "There are cupcakes in the oven!" They offer Buddy some, and he becomes too full to eat the bunnies. He'll have to come back tomorrow. And so it goes between...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Get Well Soon, Spot
Get Well Soon, Spot

Eric Hill · Warne
Pages: 10
Format: Print book

Oh no! Everyone's favorite puppy is sick.Spot isn't feeling well. But with a little help from Mom and his friends, Spot discovers that being ill isn't all bad.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Send for a Superhero!
Send for a Superhero!

Michael Rosen · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Comic-book action meets picture-book adventure in this exciting and funny new outing from beloved author Michael Rosen and illustrator Katharine McEwen. Tune in as a father reads his children a bedtime story about the exploits of two villains, Filth and Vacuum, and their wicked plan to suck...
Read More check catalog
 
 
D Is for Dress Up: The ABC's of What We Wear
D Is for Dress Up: The ABC's of What We Wear

Maria Carluccio · Chronicle Books LLC
Pages: 36
Format: Print book

Maria Carluccio's playful fashion alphabet celebrates the fun of getting dressed - and getting dressed up! From a sophisticated bow tie to a warm wool hat, this diverse celebration of what we wear from A to Z invites kids to get creative and embrace their own unique style.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Baby Buttercup
Little Baby Buttercup

Linda Ashman · Nancy Paulsen Books
Format: Hardcover

In this delightful love letter to a growing child, Linda Ashman and You Byun celebrate the magic of those fleeting days of early childhood. Their lively read-aloud shows the delight to be found in the world of a toddler. Every day brings new milestones and adventure—and little Buttercup...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Pet Should I Get?
What Pet Should I Get?

Dr. Seuss · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

A never-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss! This never-ever-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss about making up one's mind is the literary equivalent of buried treasure! What happens when a brother and sister visit a pet store to pick a pet? Naturally, they can't choose just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Here Comes Destructosaurus!
Here Comes Destructosaurus!

Aaron Reynolds · Chronicle Books Llc
Format: Hardcover

Watch the unstoppable destructive force of a raging temper tantrum! Tremble at the enormous mess and disrespectful roaring! Despair as no amount of scolding can stem the heedless fury! Someone is heading for a time-out, Mister! Anyone who has witnessed (or been) a toddler in the throes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Say Hello Like This
Say Hello Like This

Mary Murphy · Candlewick
Format: Hardcover

The creator of a Kiss Like This offers an exuberant concept book about the irresistible sounds that animals make. The perfect baby gift!Different kinds of animals say hello in their own way. And who better than Mary Murphy to introduce their voices to the youngest of listeners? Full of funny...
Read More check catalog