Back Science | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Science  
The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons: The History of the Human Brain as Revealed by True Stories of Trauma, Madness, and Recovery
The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons: The History of the Human Brain as Revealed by True Stories of Trauma, Madness, and Recovery

Sam Kean · Little, Brown and Company
Format: Hardcover

The author of the bestseller The Disappearing Spoon reveals the secret inner workings of the brain through strange but true stories.Early studies of the human brain used a simple method: wait for misfortune to strike -- strokes, seizures, infectious diseases, horrendous accidents -- and see how victims...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum
Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum

Leonard Susskind · Basic Books
Pages: 364
Format: Hardcover

First he taught you classical mechanics. Now, physicist Leonard Susskind has teamed up with data engineer Art Friedman to present the theory and associated mathematics of the strange world of quantum mechanics.In this follow-up to the New York Times best-selling The Theoretical Minimum,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Volcano: A Man, a Romance, and the Quest to Understand Nature's Most Magnificent Fury
The Last Volcano: A Man, a Romance, and the Quest to Understand Nature's Most Magnificent Fury

John Dvorak · Pegasus Books
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Ranging from Yellowstone in Wyoming to Mount Pelee in the Caribbean, from Bogoslof and Pavlov in Alaska, to Sakurajima in Japan, and, finally, to the massive volcanoes of Kilauea and Mauna Loa in Hawaii -- The Last Volcano reveals the incredible journey of a man on a mission to understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last-Minute Survival Secrets: 128 Ingenious Tips to Endure the Coming Apocalypse and Other Minor Inconveniences
Last-Minute Survival Secrets: 128 Ingenious Tips to Endure the Coming Apocalypse and Other Minor Inconveniences

Joey Green · Chicago Review Press
Format: Book

The Department of Homeland Security advises all citizens to develop an Emergency Preparedness Plan, along with a Disaster Supply Kit . . . but who has the time? Don’t panic—it’s Joey Green to the rescue! Last-Minute Survival Secrets contains more than a hundred ingenious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nature Activities for Families
Nature Activities for Families

American Forest Foundation. · American Forest Foundation

These fun and easy-to-do activities are perfect for parents - and grandparents - to help introduce children to nature in your own yard and local parks. Use PLT's Nature Activities for Families to take children outdoors in ways that are safe, fun, and full of learning! What's included:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World
Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World

Ben Hewitt · Roost Books
Pages: 166
Format: Paperback

When Ben Hewitt and his wife bought a sprawling acreage of field and forest in northern Vermont, the landscape easily allowed them to envision the self-sustaining family farm they were eager to start. But over the years, the land became so much more than a building site; it became the birthplace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tales from Both Sides of the Brain: A Life in Neuroscience
Tales from Both Sides of the Brain: A Life in Neuroscience

Michael S. Gazzaniga · Ecco; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Michael S. Gazzaniga, one of the most important neuroscientists of the twentieth century, gives us an exciting behind-the-scenes look at his seminal work on that unlikely couple, the right and left brain. Foreword by Steven Pinker.In the mid-twentieth century, Michael S. Gazzaniga, "the...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plastic Purge: How to Use Less Plastic, Eat Better, Keep Toxins Out of Your Body, and Help Save the Sea Turtles!
Plastic Purge: How to Use Less Plastic, Eat Better, Keep Toxins Out of Your Body, and Help Save the Sea Turtles!

Michael SanClements · St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback

Now a Denver Post #1 bestseller. Plastic is everywhere we look. Our computers and children's toys are made out of it, and our water and slices of American cheese are packaged in it. But why is there so much and what is it doing to our bodies? Is it possible to use less plastic and be happier...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mind Change: How Digital Technologies Are Leaving Their Mark on Our Brains
Mind Change: How Digital Technologies Are Leaving Their Mark on Our Brains

Susan Greenfield · Random House
Format: Hardcover

We live in a world unimaginable only decades ago: a domain of backlit screens, instant information, and vibrant experiences that can outcompete dreary reality. Our brave new technologies offer incredible opportunities for work and play. But at what price? Now renowned neuroscientist Susan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Troublesome Inheritance: Genes, Race and Human History
A Troublesome Inheritance: Genes, Race and Human History

Nicholas Wade · Penguin Press
Pages: 278
Format: Hardcover

Drawing on startling new evidence from the mapping of the genome, an explosive new account of the genetic basis of race and its role in the human story Fewer ideas have been more toxic or harmful than the idea of the biological reality of race, and with it the idea that humans of different...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secret Language of Animals: A Guide to Remarkable Behavior
Secret Language of Animals: A Guide to Remarkable Behavior

Janine M Benyus · Black Dog & Leventhal Pub
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

Unlock the secrets behind the behavior of the world's most fascinating creatures? from the Adélie penguin to the plains zebra to the giant panda?in this wonderfully written, beautifully illustrated book.In The Secret Language of Animals, biologist Janine Benyus takes us inside the animal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hands-On Science and Math: Fun, Fascinating Activities for Young Children
Hands-On Science and Math: Fun, Fascinating Activities for Young Children

Beth R. Davies · Gryphon House
Pages: 150
Format: Print book

Encourage young investigators to feel, listen, smell, taste, and see their way to discovery by seamlessly infusing math and science throughout the school day! As you incorporate all five senses into learning experiences, you will give little innovators the opportunity to observe and explore...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention

Matt Richtel · William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

From Pulitzer Prizewinning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technologys vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic texting-while-driving car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Field Guide to Finding Mammals in North America
Peterson Field Guide to Finding Mammals in North America

Vladimir Dinets · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Print book

Peterson The best-selling field guides of all time To see a fog shrew, should you go to Muir Woods National Monument? If you're planning to visit Yellowstone National Park, what animals can you expect to see? When should a photographer visit to get a shot of a gray fox? A mammal...
Read More check catalog