Back Politics | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Politics  
Getting to Green: Saving Nature: A Bipartisan Solution
Getting to Green: Saving Nature: A Bipartisan Solution

Frederic C Rich · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 361
Format: Print book

"The Green movement in America has lost its way. Pew polling reveals that the environment is one of the two things about which Republicans and Democrats disagree most. Congress has not passed a landmark piece of environmental legislation for a quarter-century. As atmospheric CO2 continues...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World's Most Wanted Man
The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World's Most Wanted Man

Luke Harding · Vintage Books
Pages: 346
Format: Paperback

IT BEGAN WITH A TANTALIZING, ANONYMOUS EMAIL: "I AM A SENIOR MEMBER OF THE INTELLIGENCE COMMUNITY." What followed was the most spectacular intelligence breach ever, brought about by one extraordinary man. Edward Snowden was a 29-year-old computer genius working for the National...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clay Water Brick: Finding Inspiration from Entrepreneurs Who Do the Most with the Least
Clay Water Brick: Finding Inspiration from Entrepreneurs Who Do the Most with the Least

Jessica Jackley · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 191
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Kabul Beauty School and Start Something That Matters comes an inspiring story of social entrepreneurship from the co-founder of Kiva, the first online microlending platform for the working poor. Featuring lessons learned from successful businesses in the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who We Be: A Hidden Cultural History of Race in Post-Civil Rights America
Who We Be: A Hidden Cultural History of Race in Post-Civil Rights America

Jeff Chang · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

Race. A four-letter word. The greatest social divide in American life, a half-century ago and today.During that time, the U.S. has seen the most dramatic demographic and cultural shifts in its history, what can be called the colorization of America. But the same nation that elected its first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The War on Cops: How the New Attack on Law and Order Makes Everyone Less Safe
The War on Cops: How the New Attack on Law and Order Makes Everyone Less Safe

Heather Mac Donald · Encounter Books
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

Violent crime has been rising sharply in many American cities after two decades of decline. Homicides jumped nearly 17 percent in 2015 in the largest 50 cities, the biggest one-year increase since 1993. The reason is what Heather Mac Donald first identified nationally as the "Ferguson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Speak Now: Marriage Equality on Trial
Speak Now: Marriage Equality on Trial

Kenji Yoshino · Crown
Format: Hardcover

A renowned legal scholar tells the definitive story of Hollingsworth v. Perry, the trial that will stand as the most potent argument for marriage equalitySpeak Now tells the story of a watershed trial that unfolded over twelve tense days in California in 2010. A trial that legalized same-sex...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Breaking Through Power: It's Easier Than We Think
Breaking Through Power: It's Easier Than We Think

Ralph Nader · City Lights Publishers
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

In Breaking Through Power, Nader draws from a lifetime waging--and often winning--David vs. Goliath battles against big corporations and the United States government. In this succinct, Tom Paine-style wake-up call, the iconic consumer advocate highlights the success stories of fellow Americans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wake Up, America: The Nine Virtues That Made Our Nation Great--and Why We Need Them More Than Ever
Wake Up, America: The Nine Virtues That Made Our Nation Great--and Why We Need Them More Than Ever

Eric Bolling · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

America was built on nine distinct virtues which shaped the character of our nation and made it great. Grit, manliness, individualism, merit, profit and providence, dominion over our environment, thrift, and above all pride in our country -- these qualities define us, and are the reason...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Listen, Liberal: Or, What Ever Happened to the Party of the People?
Listen, Liberal: Or, What Ever Happened to the Party of the People?

Thomas Frank · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 305
Format: Print book

From the bestselling author of What's the Matter With Kansas, a scathing look at the standard-bearers of liberal politics -- a book that asks: what's the matter with Democrats?It is a widespread belief among liberals that if only Democrats can continue to dominate national elections, if only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Very Expensive Poison: The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West
A Very Expensive Poison: The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West

Luke Harding · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

A real-life political assassination story--complete with KGB, CIA, MI5, and Russian mobsters--that reverberates from the streets of London to the deadly halls of today's Kremlin. A Vintage Original. On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jobseeker's Guide: Navigating the Federal Resume and USAJOBS Application System for Transitioning Military, Family Members, and Wounded Warriors
Jobseeker's Guide: Navigating the Federal Resume and USAJOBS Application System for Transitioning Military, Family Members, and Wounded Warriors

Kathryn K Troutman · Resume Place Pr
Pages: 167
Format: Print book

The Jobseeker's Guide is the resource guide used at more than 150 military bases worldwide to teach Kathryn Troutman's highly acclaimed Ten Steps to a Federal Job® to military personnel and family members. The Jobseeker's Guide is written for both separating/retiring military...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything Under the Heavens: How the Past Helps Shape China's Push for Global Power
Everything Under the Heavens: How the Past Helps Shape China's Push for Global Power

Howard French · Alfred A Knopf
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From the former New York Times Asia correspondent and author of China's Second Continent, an incisive investigation of China's ideological development as it becomes an ever more aggressive player in regional and global diplomacy. For many years after its reform and opening in 1978,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road Taken: The History and Future of America's Infrastructure
The Road Taken: The History and Future of America's Infrastructure

Henry Petroski · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Physical infrastructure in the United States is crumbling. The American Society of Civil Engineers has, in its latest report, given American roads and bridges a grade of D and C+, respectively, and has described roughly sixty-five thousand bridges in the United States as "structurally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If You Can Keep It: The Forgotten Promise of American Liberty
If You Can Keep It: The Forgotten Promise of American Liberty

Eric Metaxas · Viking
Pages: 260
Format: Print book

#1 New York Times bestselling author Eric Metaxas delivers an extraordinary book that is part history and part rousing call to arms, steeped in a critical analysis of our founding fathers' original intentions for America.In 1787, when the Constitution was drafted, a woman asked Ben Franklin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pay Any Price: Greed, Power, and Endless War
Pay Any Price: Greed, Power, and Endless War

James Risen · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014.
Pages: 285
Format: Print book

War corrupts. Endless war corrupts absolutely. Ever since 9/11 America has fought an endless war on terror, seeking enemies everywhere and never promising peace. In Pay Any Price, James Risen reveals an extraordinary litany of the hidden costs of that war: from squandered and stolen dollars,...
Read More check catalog