Back History | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  History  
Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America
Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America

Patrick Phillips · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of racial violence in America.Forsyth County, Georgia, at the turn of the twentieth century was home to a large African American community that included ministers and teachers, farmers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
China 1945: Mao's Revolution and America's Fateful Choice
China 1945: Mao's Revolution and America's Fateful Choice

Richard Bernstein · Vintage
Format: Paperback

At the beginning of 1945, relations between America and the Chinese Communists couldn't have been closer. Chinese leaders talked of America helping to lift China out of poverty; Mao Zedong himself held friendly meetings with U.S. emissaries. By year's end, Chinese Communist soldiers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Audacity: How Barack Obama Defied His Critics and Created a Legacy That Will Prevail
Audacity: How Barack Obama Defied His Critics and Created a Legacy That Will Prevail

Jonathan Chait · Custom House
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

An unassailable case that, in the eyes of history, Barack Obama will be viewed as one of America's best and most accomplished presidents. Over the course of eight years, Barack Obama amassed an array of historic achievements. His administration saved the American economy from collapse,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert
Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert

Patricia Cornwell · Amazon Publishing
Pages: 570
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell comes Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert, a comprehensive and intriguing exposé of one of the world's most chilling cases of serial murder - and the police force that failed to solve it.Vain and charismatic Walter Sickert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Mojo: Lost and Found: Restoring our Middle Class Before the World Blows By
American Mojo: Lost and Found: Restoring our Middle Class Before the World Blows By

Peter D. Kiernan · Turner
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

In American Mojo: Lost and Found, Peter D. Kiernan, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author, focuses on America's greatest challenge -- and opportunity -- restoring the middle class to its full promise and potential. Our educated, skilled, and motivated middle class was the cornerstone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
THE MILITARY ADVANTAGE, 2016 EDITION: The Military.com Guide to Military and Veterans Benefits
THE MILITARY ADVANTAGE, 2016 EDITION: The Military.com Guide to Military and Veterans Benefits

Terry Howell · Naval Inst Press, 2016.
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Revised and updated every year, The Military Advantage, 2016 Edition is the most reliable benefits guide for Americans who have answered the call to serve in the military. These benefits amount to billions in scholarships, educational benefits, home loan guarantees, and military discounts....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Celebrity in Chief: A History of the Presidents and the Culture of Stardom
Celebrity in Chief: A History of the Presidents and the Culture of Stardom

Kenneth T. Walsh · Paradigm Publishers
Format: Hardcover

Analyzes the inherent celebrity that comes with being the United States president and explains how some presidents successfully capitalized on their fame to make themselves more effective leaders and others did not.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Surprise Attack: From Pearl Harbor to 9/11 to Benghazi
Surprise Attack: From Pearl Harbor to 9/11 to Benghazi

Larry Hancock · Counterpoint
Format: Hardcover

Surprise Attack explores sixty plus years of military and terror threats against the United States. It examines the intelligence tools and practices that provided warnings of those attacks and evaluates the United States' responses, both in preparedness - and most importantly - the effectiveness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The True Flag: Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire
The True Flag: Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire

Stephen Kinzer · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Overthrow and The Brothers brings to life the forgotten political debate that set America's interventionist course in the world for the twentieth century and beyond.How should the United States act in the world? Americans cannot decide. Sometimes we burn with righteous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Can't Kill Us All: The Story of #blacklivesmatter
They Can't Kill Us All: The Story of #blacklivesmatter

Wesley Lowery · Little
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The first book to go behind the barricades of #blacklivesmatter to tell the story of the young men and women who are calling for a new America. In a closely reported book that draws on his own experience as a young biracial journalist, "Washington Post "reporter Wesley Lowery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Northern Armageddon: The Battle of the Plains of Abraham and the Making of the American Revolution
Northern Armageddon: The Battle of the Plains of Abraham and the Making of the American Revolution

D. Peter MacLeod · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

A huge, ambitious re-creation of the eighteenth-century Battle of the Plains of Abraham, the pivotal battle in the Seven Years' War (1754-1763) to win control of the trans-Appalachian region of North America, a battle consisting of the British and American colonists on one side and the French...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zero Night: The Untold Story of World War Two's Greatest Escape
Zero Night: The Untold Story of World War Two's Greatest Escape

Mark Felton · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

On August 30, 1942 - 'Zero Night' - 40 Allied officers staged the most audacious mass escape of World War II. Months of meticulous planning and secret training hung in the balance during three minutes of mayhem as the officers boldly stormed the huge double fences at Oflag Prison....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road Not Taken: Finding America in the Poem Everyone Loves and Almost Everyone Gets Wrong
The Road Not Taken: Finding America in the Poem Everyone Loves and Almost Everyone Gets Wrong

David Orr · Penguin Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A cultural "biography" of Robert Frost's beloved poem, arguably the most popular piece of literature written by an American"Two roads diverged in a yellow wood . . ." One hundred years after its first publication in August 1915, Robert Frost's poem "The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
George Washington's Secret Spy War: The Making of America's First Spymaster
George Washington's Secret Spy War: The Making of America's First Spymaster

John A Nagy · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

George Washington was America's first spymaster, and his skill as a spymaster won the war for independence.George Washington's Secret Spy War is the untold story of how George Washington took a disorderly, ill-equipped rabble and defeated the best trained and best equipped army of its day in the Revolutionary...
Read More check catalog