Back Science | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin's Forgotten Theory of Mate Choice Shapes the Animal World - and Us

RICHARD O PRUM · Doubleday
Pages: 428
Format: Hardcover

A major reimagining of how evolutionary forces work, revealing how mating preferences - what Darwin termed "the taste for the beautiful" - create the extraordinary range of ornament in the animal world. In the great halls of science, dogma holds that Darwin's theory of natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Brief History of Time: And Other Essays

Stephen Hawking · Bantam; 10 Anv edition
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Published more than two decades ago to great critical acclaim and commercial success, A Brief History of Time has become a landmark volume in science writing. Stephen Hawking, one of the great minds of our time, explores such profound questions as: How did the universe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is the Way the World Ends: How Droughts and Die-offs, Heat Waves and Hurricanes Are Converging on America

JEFF NESBIT · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"With This is the Way the World Ends Jeff Nesbit has delivered an enlightening - and alarming - explanation of climate challenge as it exists today. Climate change is no far-off threat. It's impacting communities all over the world at this very moment, and we ignore the scientific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dinosaur Artist: Obsession, Betrayal, and the Quest for Earth's Ultimate Trophy

Paige Williams · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New Yorker magazine staff writer Paige Williams delves into the riveting and perilous world of fossil collectors in this "tremendous" (David Grann) true tale of one Florida man's attempt to sell a dinosaur skeleton from Mongolia--a "beautifully written story steeped in natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Algebra I Workbook For Dummies

Mary Jane Sterling · For Dummies
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

The grade-saving Algebra I companion, with hundreds of additional practice problems online Algebra I Workbook For Dummies is your solution to the Algebra brain-block. With hundreds of practice and example problems mapped to the typical high school Algebra class, you'll crack the code in no time!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brief Answers to the Big Questions

STEPHEN HAWKING · Bantam
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

The world-famous cosmologist and #1 bestselling author of A Brief History of Time leaves us with his final thoughts on the universe's biggest questions in this brilliant and page-turning posthumous work.Why are we here? Will we survive? Will technology save us? How can we thrive?Stephen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Popular: The Power of Likability in a Status-Obsessed World

MITCH PRINSTEIN · Viking
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

A leading psychologist examines how our popularity affects our success, our relationships, and our happiness - and why we don't always want to be the most popularNo matter how old you are, there's a good chance that the word "popular" immediately transports you back to your teenage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out There: A Scientific Guide to Alien Life, Antimatter, and Human Space Travel

Michael Wall · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

We've all asked ourselves the question. It's impossible to look up at the stars and NOT think about it: Are we alone in the universe? Books, movies and television shows proliferate that attempt to answer this question and explore it. In OUT THERE Space.com senior writer Dr. Michael Wall...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geometry For Dummies

Mark Ryan · For Dummies
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

Hit the geometry wall? Get up and running with this no-nonsense guide! Does the thought of geometry make you jittery? You're not alone. Fortunately, this down-to-earth guide helps you approach it from a new angle, making it easier than ever to conquer your fears and score your highest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exoplanets: Diamond Worlds, Super Earths, Pulsar Planets, and the New Search for Life beyond Our Solar System

Michael E Summers · Smithsonian Books
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

The past few years have seen an incredible explosion in our knowledge of the universe. Since its 2009 launch, the Kepler satellite has discovered more than two thousand exoplanets, or planets outside our solar system. More exoplanets are being discovered all the time, and even more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If Our Bodies Could Talk: A Guide to Operating and Maintaining a Human Body

James Hamblin · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"If you want to understand the strange workings of the human body, and the future of medicine, you must read this illuminating, engaging book." - Siddhartha Mukherjee, author of The Gene In 2014, James Hamblin launched a series of videos for The Atlantic called "If Our Bodies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think

HANS ROSLING · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends -- what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Brain Is a Time Machine: The Neuroscience and Physics of Time

Dean Buonomano · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A leading neuroscientist embarks on a groundbreaking exploration of how time works inside the brain.In Your Brain Is a Time Machine, brain researcher and best-selling author Dean Buonomano draws on evolutionary biology, physics, and philosophy to present his influential theory of how we tell,...
Read More check catalog