Back Politics | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
One Long Night: A Global History of Concentration Camps

ANDREA PITZER · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking, haunting, and profoundly moving history of modernity's greatest tragedy: concentration campsFor over 100 years, at least one concentration camp has existed somewhere on Earth. First used as battlefield strategy, camps have evolved with each passing decade, in the scope...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescued from ISIS: The Gripping True Story of How a Father Saved His Son

DIMITRI BONTINCK · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Rescued from ISIS is the inspiring and terrifying tale of one man's journey to the Middle East to save his child from radical Islam, and its surprising worldwide repercussions.Dimitri Bontinck lived every parent's worst nightmare. His teenage son, introduced to Islam by his girlfriend,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ask A North Korean: Defectors Talk About Their Lives Inside the WorldÆs Most Secretive Nation

DANIEL TUDOR · Tuttle Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Understanding North Korean Through the Eyes of Defectors.The weekly column Ask a North Korean, published by NK News, invites readers from around the world to pose questions to North Korean defectors. By way of these fascinating interviews, the North Koreans themselves provide authentic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ike and McCarthy: Dwight Eisenhower's Secret Campaign against Joseph McCarthy

David A Nichols · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 385
Format: Hardcover

Revealed for the first time, this is the full story of how President Dwight Eisenhower masterminded the downfall of the anti-Communist demagogue Senator Joseph McCarthy.Behind the scenes, Eisenhower loathed McCarthy, the powerful Republican senator notorious for his anti-Communist witch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tuskegee Airmen Chronology: A Detailed Timeline of the Red Tails and Other Black Pilots of World War II

Daniel Haulman · NewSouth Books
Pages: 198
Format: Paperback

The Tuskegee Airmen Chronology: A Detailed Timeline of the Red Tails and Other Black Pilots of World War II provides a unique year-by-year overview of the fascinating story of the Tuskegee Airmen, embracing important events in the formation of the first military training for black pilots...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rest in Power: The Enduring Life of Trayvon Martin

Sybrina Fulton · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

Trayvon Martin's parents take readers beyond the news cycle with an account only they could give: the intimate story of a tragically foreshortened life and the rise of a movement. On a February evening in 2012, in a small town in central Florida, seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin was walking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Victoria & Abdul

Shrabani Basu · Vintage
Pages: 352
Format: eBook

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Dame Judi Dench from director Stephen Frears, releasing September 22, 2017.History's most unlikely friendship - this is the astonishing story of Queen Victoria and her dearestcompanion, the young Indian Munshi Abdul Karim.In the twilight years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women

Susan Burton · The New Press
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

One woman's remarkable odyssey from tragedy to prison to recovery - and recognition as a leading figure in the national justice reform movementSusan Burton's world changed in an instant when her five-year-old son was killed by a van driving down their street. Consumed by grief and without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heavens Might Crack: The Death and Legacy of Martin Luther King Jr.

Jason Sokol · Basic Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A vivid portrait of how Americans grappled with King's death and legacy in the days, weeks, and months after his assassinationOn April 4, 1968, Martin Luther King Jr. was fatally shot as he stood on the balcony of the Lorraine Motel in Memphis. At the time of his murder, King was a polarizing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Restless Wave: Good Times, Just Causes, Great Fights, and Other Appreciations

John McCain · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A candid new political memoir from Senator John McCain - his most personal book in years - covering everything from 2008 up to the present.In a time when Washington, DC and the country is more polarized than it has been for decades, John McCain is the rare public figure who has earned the respect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dawn of Detroit: A Chronicle of Bondage and Freedom in the City of the Straits

Tiya Miles · The New Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Most Americans believe that slavery was a creature of the South, and that Northern states and territories provided stops on the Underground Railroad for fugitive slaves on their way to Canada. In this paradigm-shifting book, celebrated historian Tiya Miles reveals that slavery was at the heart...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poetry and Power: John F. Kennedy's Vision for America

STEPHEN KENNEDY SMITH · Harper
Pages: 493
Format: Hardcover

Published in commemoration of the centennial of President John F. Kennedy's birth, here is the definitive compendium of JFK's most important and brilliant speeches, accompanied by commentary and reflections by leading American and international figures - including Senator Elizabeth Warren,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House

MICHAEL WOLFF · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

With extraordinary access to the Trump White House, Michael Wolff tells the inside storyof the most controversial presidency of our timeThe first nine months of Donald Trump's term were stormy, outrageous -- and absolutely mesmerizing. Now, thanks to his deep access to the West Wing, bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Searching for booker wright.

Yvette Johnson · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In this moving memoir, Yvette Johnson travels to Mississippi to uncover the true story of her grandfather and why he was murdered - a case that became the basis for the documentary Booker's Place: A Mississippi Story, which the Los Angeles Times called "a powerful personal portrait.""Have...
Read More check catalog