Back Politics | January Newsletter

Simple News Pro
  Politics  
Overload: Finding the Truth in Today's Deluge of News

BOB SCHIEFFER · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 190
Format: Hardcover

We are in the midst of a communications revolution. We have access to more information than any people in history. But are we more informed or just overwhelmed by so much information we can't process? In Overload, legendary television journalist Bob Schieffer examines today's journalism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women

Susan Burton · The New Press
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

One woman's remarkable odyssey from tragedy to prison to recovery - and recognition as a leading figure in the national justice reform movementSusan Burton's world changed in an instant when her five-year-old son was killed by a van driving down their street. Consumed by grief and without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Long Night: A Global History of Concentration Camps

ANDREA PITZER · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking, haunting, and profoundly moving history of modernity's greatest tragedy: concentration campsFor over 100 years, at least one concentration camp has existed somewhere on Earth. First used as battlefield strategy, camps have evolved with each passing decade, in the scope...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cold War: A World History

Odd Arne Westad · Basic Books
Pages: 720
Format: Hardcover

From a Bancroft Prize-winning scholar, a new global history of the Cold War and its ongoing impact around the worldWe tend to think of the Cold War as a bounded conflict: a clash of two superpowers, the United States and the Soviet Union, born out of the ashes of World War II and coming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bobby Kennedy: A Raging Spirit

Chris Matthews · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A revealing new portrait of Robert F. Kennedy that gets closer to the man than any book before, by bestselling author Chris Matthews, an esteemed Kennedy expert and anchor of MSNBC's Hardball.With his bestselling biography Jack Kennedy, Chris Matthews shared a new look of one of America's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond the Messy Truth: How We Came Apart, How We Come Together

VAN JONES · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A passionate manifesto that exposes hypocrisy on both sides of the political divide and points a way out of the tribalism that is tearing America apart - by the CNN political contributor and host hailed as "a star of the 2016 campaign" (The New York Times) who tries to "fight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescued from ISIS: The Gripping True Story of How a Father Saved His Son

DIMITRI BONTINCK · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Rescued from ISIS is the inspiring and terrifying tale of one man's journey to the Middle East to save his child from radical Islam, and its surprising worldwide repercussions.Dimitri Bontinck lived every parent's worst nightmare. His teenage son, introduced to Islam by his girlfriend,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dawn of Detroit: A Chronicle of Bondage and Freedom in the City of the Straits

Tiya Miles · The New Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Most Americans believe that slavery was a creature of the South, and that Northern states and territories provided stops on the Underground Railroad for fugitive slaves on their way to Canada. In this paradigm-shifting book, celebrated historian Tiya Miles reveals that slavery was at the heart...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Victoria & Abdul

Shrabani Basu · Vintage
Pages: 352
Format: eBook

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Dame Judi Dench from director Stephen Frears, releasing September 22, 2017.History's most unlikely friendship - this is the astonishing story of Queen Victoria and her dearestcompanion, the young Indian Munshi Abdul Karim.In the twilight years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Divide: The Conflict between Washington and Jefferson that Defined a Nation

Thomas Fleming · Da Capo
Pages: 440
Format: Hardcover

In the months after her husband's death, Martha Washington told several friends that the two worst days of her life were the day George died - and the day Thomas Jefferson came to Mount Vernon to offer his condolences.What could elicit such a strong reaction from the nation's original...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine who Outwitted America's Enemies

JASON FAGONE · Dey Street Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Joining the ranks of Hidden Figures and In the Garden of Beasts, the incredible true story of the greatest codebreaking duo that ever lived, an American woman and her husband who invented the modern science of cryptology together and used it to confront the evils of their time, solving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healing the Heart of Democracy: The Courage to Create a Politics Worthy of the Human Spirit

Parker J Palmer · Jossey-Bass
Pages: 276
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Soul of the First Amendment

Floyd Abrams · Yale University Press
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A lively and controversial overview by the nation's most celebrated First Amendment lawyer of the unique protections for freedom of speech in America The right of Americans to voice their beliefs without government approval or oversight is protected under what may well be the most honored...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Language They Understand: Forcing Compromise in Israel and Palestine

Nathan Thrall · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In a myth-busting analysis of the world's most intractable conflict, a star of Middle East reporting, "one of the most important writers" in the field (The New York Times) , argues that only one weapon has yielded progress: force.Scattered over the territory between the Jordan...
Read More check catalog