Back Health, Mind & Body | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harpercollins
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mind Over Meds: Know When Drugs Are Necessary, When Alternatives Are Better – and When to Let Your Body Heal on Its Own

ANDREW M D WEIL · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 289
Format: Hardcover

Too many Americans are taking too many drugs -- and it's costing us our health, happiness, and lives.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Old Age: Living a Longer, More Purposeful Life

Marc E Agronin · Da Capo Lifelong Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In his last book, How We Age, Dr. Marc Agronin wrote passionately about how we need to place greater value on our elders and hope for a better old age, even in the throes of illness and dementia. But he doesn't want us to simply gaze at the holiness of old age, nor does he want us searching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sick Life: TLC 'n Me: Stories from On and Off the Stage

TIONNE WATKINS · Rodale Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Hailed by Rolling Stone as "the most effervescent and soulful girl group anyone has seen since the Supremes," five-time Grammy Award winning supergroup TLC has seen phenomenal fame and success. But backstage, Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins has lived a dual life. In addition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Korean Beauty Secrets: A Practical Guide to Cutting-Edge Skincare & Makeup

Kerry Thompson · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 249
Format: Hardcover

Kerry Thompson and Coco Park, the writers behind the influential beauty blogs, Skin & Tonics and The Beauty Wolf, come together to bring you Korean Beauty Secrets: A Practical Guide to Cutting-Edge Skincare and Makeup.With advice on how to assess your skin, build a routine, and apply...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Natural First Aid Handbook: Household Remedies, Herbal Treatments, and Basic Emergency Preparedness Everyone Should Know

Brigitte Mars · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 185
Format: eBook

Cayenne pepper can stop bleeding. Garlic helps alleviate a toothache. Honey soothes a burn. When an emergency situation arises, simple home remedies can play a vital role in easing symptoms and providing immediate help. Become an effective first responder with a combination of best first-aid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Food and Fitness After 50: Eat Well, Move Well, Be Well

Christine Rosenbloom · Eatright Press
Pages: 280
Format: Paperback

It is never too late to eat right and exercise the smart way! Food and fitness experts Christine Rosenbloom, PhD, RDN, FAND, and Bob Murray, PhD, FACSM, share their personal experiences and offer a common-sense approach to help you learn what it takes to control your food choices and fitness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living with Cancer: A Step-by-Step Guide for Coping Medically and Emotionally with a Serious Diagnosis

Vicki A Jackson · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The prospect of entering treatment is overwhelming for anyone facing a diagnosis of cancer. While patients have access to a vast amount of medical information online, this advice is often unreliable or confusing. In Living with Cancer, Drs. Vicki A. Jackson and David P. Ryan have crafted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2017 Physicians' Desk Reference 71st Edition

PDR Staff · Physicians Desk Reference
Pages: 2000
Format: Print book

The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected.Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CNA Certified Nursing Assistant Exam Cram

LINDA WHITENTON · Pearson IT Certification
Pages: 228
Format: Paperback

CNA Certified Nursing Assistant Exam Cram, Second Edition is the perfect study guide to help you pass the CNA Certified Nursing Assistant exam. It provides coverage and practice questions for every current exam topic and is fully revised to reflect the latest NNAAP test plan. The book presents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After Cancer Care: The Definitive Self-Care Guide to Getting and Staying Well for Patients after Cancer

Gerald Lemole · Rodale Books
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

After the intense experience and range of emotion that comes with surgery, radiation, or chemotherapy (or all three) , cancer patients often find themselves with little or no guidance when it comes to their health post-treatment. After Cancer Care is the much-needed authoritative, approachable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Modern Death: How Medicine Changed the End of Life

Haider Warraich · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

There is no more universal truth in life than death. No matter who you are, it is certain that one day you will die, but the mechanics and understanding of that experience will differ greatly in today s modern age. Dr. Haider Warraich is a young and brilliant new voice in the conversation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teeth: The Story of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America

Mary Otto · New Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"Show me your teeth," the great naturalist Georges Cuvier is credited with saying, "and I will tell you who you are." In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society.Teeth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4-Minute Fit: The Metabolism Accelerator for the Time-Crunched, Deskbound, and Stressed Out

Siphiwe Baleka · Touchstone
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

From Yale-educated truck driver and fitness guru Siphiwe Baleka, a revolutionary metabolism-spiking program for anyone who feels they don't have enough time, equipment, or money to get in shape and lose those extra pounds.When Siphiwe Baleka, who had once been a NCAA Division I athlete,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart of Wellness: Bridging Western and Eastern Medicine to Transform Your Relationship with Habits, Lifestyle, and Health

KAVITHA M CHINNAIYAN · Llewellyn Publications
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Transform your relationship with habits, lifestyle, health, and disease using Dr. Kavitha Chinnaiyan's remarkable approach to health. The Heart of Wellness shows you how to optimize the workings of the body and mind so that the bliss of your true nature can be revealed. Presented in two parts,...
Read More check catalog