Back Health, Mind & Body | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
The End of Old Age: Living a Longer, More Purposeful Life

Marc E Agronin · Da Capo Lifelong Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In his last book, How We Age, Dr. Marc Agronin wrote passionately about how we need to place greater value on our elders and hope for a better old age, even in the throes of illness and dementia. But he doesn't want us to simply gaze at the holiness of old age, nor does he want us searching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harper
Pages: 383
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy Orenstein,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sick Life: TLC 'n Me: Stories from On and Off the Stage

TIONNE WATKINS · Rodale Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Hailed by Rolling Stone as "the most effervescent and soulful girl group anyone has seen since the Supremes," five-time Grammy Award winning supergroup TLC has seen phenomenal fame and success. But backstage, Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins has lived a dual life. In addition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2017 Physicians' Desk Reference 71st Edition

PDR Staff · Physicians Desk Reference
Pages: 2000
Format: Print book

The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected.Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Modern Death: How Medicine Changed the End of Life

Haider Warraich · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

There is no more universal truth in life than death. No matter who you are, it is certain that one day you will die, but the mechanics and understanding of that experience will differ greatly in today s modern age. Dr. Haider Warraich is a young and brilliant new voice in the conversation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Natural First Aid Handbook: Household Remedies, Herbal Treatments, and Basic Emergency Preparedness Everyone Should Know

Brigitte Mars · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 185
Format: eBook

Cayenne pepper can stop bleeding. Garlic helps alleviate a toothache. Honey soothes a burn. When an emergency situation arises, simple home remedies can play a vital role in easing symptoms and providing immediate help. Become an effective first responder with a combination of best first-aid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sick: A Memoir

POROCHISTA KHAKPOUR · Harper Perennial
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of Brain on Fire and Darkness Visible, an honest, beautifully rendered memoir of chronic illness, misdiagnosis, addiction, and the myth of full recovery that details author Porochista Khakpour's struggles with late-stage Lyme disease.For as long as writer Porochista Khakpour...
Read More check catalog
 
 
MERCK MANUAL OF DIAGNOSIS AND THERAPY

· Merck
Pages: 3500
Format: Hardcover

Back by popular demand! The world's most widely used medical reference is now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy now in its 20th edition has been thoroughly updated and thoughtfully expanded with a new larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Korean Beauty Secrets: A Practical Guide to Cutting-Edge Skincare & Makeup

Kerry Thompson · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 249
Format: Hardcover

Kerry Thompson and Coco Park, the writers behind the influential beauty blogs, Skin & Tonics and The Beauty Wolf, come together to bring you Korean Beauty Secrets: A Practical Guide to Cutting-Edge Skincare and Makeup.With advice on how to assess your skin, build a routine, and apply...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nursing2019 Drug Handbook

Lippincott · LWW
Pages: 1856
Format: Paperback

THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians ... always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding featuresCompletely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring over 3,650 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format37 brand-new FDA-approved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unblinded: One Man's Courageous Journey through Darkness to Sight

Traci Medford-Roscow · Morgan James Publishing
Pages: 201
Format: Paperback

Unblinded is the true story of New Yorker Kevin Coughlin, who became blind at age thirty-six due to a rare genetic disorder known as Leber's Hereditary Optic Neuropathy. Twenty years later, without medical intervention, Kevin's sight miraculously started to return. He is the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
ATI TEAS Strategies, Practice & Review with Practice Test: Online Book

Kaplan. · Kaplan Pub
Pages: 636
Format: Print book

Fully updated for the new ATI TEAS exam blueprint Schools of nursing and allied health use the Test of Essential Academic Skills (TEAS) to assess applicants for admission. This exam will change on August 31, 2016, when the ATI TEAS test is released. This new version of the test will replace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After Cancer Care: The Definitive Self-Care Guide to Getting and Staying Well for Patients after Cancer

Gerald Lemole · Rodale Books
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

After the intense experience and range of emotion that comes with surgery, radiation, or chemotherapy (or all three) , cancer patients often find themselves with little or no guidance when it comes to their health post-treatment. After Cancer Care is the much-needed authoritative, approachable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Choice: Embrace the Possible

EDITH EVA EGER · Scribner
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Winner of the 2017 National Jewish Book Award and 2018 Christopher Award "Edith's strength and courage are remarkable ... her life and work are an incredible example of forgiveness, resilience, and generosity." - Sheryl SandbergIt's 1944 and sixteen-year-old ballerina...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Somebody I Used to Know: A Memoir

WENDY MITCHELL · Ballantine Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"A brave and illuminating journey inside the mind, heart, and life of a person with early-onset Alzheimer's disease." - Lisa Genova, author of Still Alice Wendy Mitchell had a busy job with the British National Health Service, raised her two daughters alone, and spent her weekends...
Read More check catalog