Back Health, Mind & Body | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
Modern Death: How Medicine Changed the End of Life

Haider Warraich · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

There is no more universal truth in life than death. No matter who you are, it is certain that one day you will die, but the mechanics and understanding of that experience will differ greatly in today s modern age. Dr. Haider Warraich is a young and brilliant new voice in the conversation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Natural First Aid Handbook: Household Remedies, Herbal Treatments, and Basic Emergency Preparedness Everyone Should Know

Brigitte Mars · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Cayenne pepper can stop bleeding. Garlic helps alleviate a toothache. Honey soothes a burn. When an emergency situation arises, simple home remedies can play a vital role in easing symptoms and providing immediate help. Become an effective first responder with a combination of best first-aid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harpercollins
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unblinded: One Man's Courageous Journey through Darkness to Sight

Traci Medford-Roscow · Morgan James Publishing
Pages: 201
Format: Paperback

Unblinded is the true story of New Yorker Kevin Coughlin, who became blind at age thirty-six due to a rare genetic disorder known as Leber's Hereditary Optic Neuropathy. Twenty years later, without medical intervention, Kevin's sight miraculously started to return. He is the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Food and Fitness After 50: Eat Well, Move Well, Be Well

Christine Rosenbloom · Eatright Press
Pages: 280
Format: Paperback

It is never too late to eat right and exercise the smart way! Food and fitness experts Christine Rosenbloom, PhD, RDN, FAND, and Bob Murray, PhD, FACSM, share their personal experiences and offer a common-sense approach to help you learn what it takes to control your food choices and fitness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6e

Kathleen Deska Pagana · Mosby
Pages: 1137
Format: Paperback

Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nursing2019 Drug Handbook

Lippincott · LWW
Pages: 1856
Format: Paperback

THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians ... always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding featuresCompletely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring over 3,650 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format37 brand-new FDA-approved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart of Wellness: Bridging Western and Eastern Medicine to Transform Your Relationship with Habits, Lifestyle, and Health

KAVITHA M CHINNAIYAN · Llewellyn Publications
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Transform your relationship with habits, lifestyle, health, and disease using Dr. Kavitha Chinnaiyan's remarkable approach to health. The Heart of Wellness shows you how to optimize the workings of the body and mind so that the bliss of your true nature can be revealed. Presented in two parts,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2017 Physicians' Desk Reference 71st Edition

PDR Staff · Physicians Desk Reference
Pages: 2000
Format: Print book

The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected.Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sick: A Memoir

POROCHISTA KHAKPOUR · Harper Perennial
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of Brain on Fire and Darkness Visible, an honest, beautifully rendered memoir of chronic illness, misdiagnosis, addiction, and the myth of full recovery that details author Porochista Khakpour's struggles with late-stage Lyme disease.For as long as writer Porochista Khakpour...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sick Life: TLC 'n Me: Stories from On and Off the Stage

TIONNE WATKINS · Rodale Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Hailed by Rolling Stone as "the most effervescent and soulful girl group anyone has seen since the Supremes," five-time Grammy Award winning supergroup TLC has seen phenomenal fame and success. But backstage, Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins has lived a dual life. In addition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
FOUNTAIN : how to make 60 the new 30

ROCCO MONTO · Rodale Books
Pages: 272

Everyone wants to feel fitter, sexier, more energetic, more productive, and younger--now you can. What if there were already ways to ease the negative effects of aging and prevent diabetes, heart disease, cancer, Parkinson's disease, and Alzheimer's disease from ever starting? What if we could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Old Age: Living a Longer, More Purposeful Life

Marc E Agronin · Da Capo Lifelong Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In his last book, How We Age, Dr. Marc Agronin wrote passionately about how we need to place greater value on our elders and hope for a better old age, even in the throes of illness and dementia. But he doesn't want us to simply gaze at the holiness of old age, nor does he want us searching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freud: The Making of an Illusion

Frederick C Crews · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 746
Format: eBook

From the master of Freud debunkers, the book that definitively puts an end to the myth of psychoanalysis and its creatorSince the 1970s, Sigmund Freud's scientific reputation has been in an accelerating tailspin - but nonetheless the idea persists that some of his contributions were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
MERCK MANUAL OF DIAGNOSIS AND THERAPY

· Merck
Pages: 3500
Format: Hardcover

Back by popular demand! The world's most widely used medical reference is now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy now in its 20th edition has been thoroughly updated and thoughtfully expanded with a new larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content....
Read More check catalog