Back Ages 9-12: J and JRHI Books | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12: J and JRHI Books  

Find these books on Overdrive! 

This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series)

Pseudonymous Bosch · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Kindle Edition

Between the pages of this book lies the secret to the best-tasting chocolate in all the world. I promise, your taste buds will tingle. Your palette will sing! Oh no, have I accidentally tempted you to read this book? I will warn you, however, the most delicious things are never good...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shredderman: Secret Identity

Wendelin Van Draanen · Yearling
Format: Book

Alvin Bixby Hulking, knuckles of steel, hideous breath, foul temper. Kids call him Bubba. Nolan Byrd Puny, power walker, math genius, cant keep shoes tied. Kids call him Nerd.Bubba has been the bane of Nolans existence for five long years. So when Mr. Green asks the class to become reporters,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I

Maryrose Wood · Balzer + Bray; Reprint edition
Format: Kindle Edition

Found running wild in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children: Alexander, age ten or thereabouts, keeps his siblings in line with gentle nips; Cassiopeia, perhaps four or five, has a bark that is (usually) worse than her bite; and Beowulf, age somewhere-in-the-middle,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Merci Suárez Changes Gears

Meg Medina · Candlewick Press
Pages: 368
Format: eBook

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.Merci Suarez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, Merci has never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pax

Sara Pennypacker · Balzer + Bray
Format: Audiobook

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Alistair Grim's Odditorium

Gregory Funaro · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 412
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Best Seller "Verne-ian fantasy and reversal of fortune la Dickens willlure readers into this good-vs.-evil series debut."-Kirkus Reviews

"Ideal for kids who loved Percy Jackson and Harry Potter." -BOOKLIST

"With a dash of Dickens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best at It

Maulik Pancholy · Balzer Bray
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle's Nate series.Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich

Ibi Zoboi · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed.Twelve-year-old Ebony-Grace Norfleet has lived with her beloved grandfather Jeremiah in Huntsville, Alabama ever since she was little....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The case of the missing marquess an Enola Holmes mystery

Nancy Springer

Enola Holmes, much younger sister of detective Sherlock Holmes, must travel to London in disguise to unravel the disappearance of her missing mother.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodbye Stranger

Rebecca Stead · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

"Masterly. . . . Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love." - The New York Times Book ReviewFive Starred ReviewsNYT Editors' ChoiceThis brilliant novel by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

Pablo Cartaya · Penguin Young Readers Group
Format: eBook

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor BookSave the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL?  For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Akata Witch

Nnedi Okorafor · Viking Children's
Format: Kindle Edition

Publishers WeeklyOkorafor (The Shadow Speaker) returns with another successful tale of African magic. Although 12-year-old Sunny is Nigerian, she was born in America, and her Nigerian classmates see her as an outsider. Worse, she's an albino, an obvious target for bullies and suspected...
Read More check catalog