Back Biographies & Memoirs | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman

Lindy West · Hachette Books
Pages: 260
Format: Print book

Hailed by Lena Dunham as an "essential (and hilarious) voice for women," Lindy West is ferociously witty and outspoken, tackling topics as varied as pop culture, social justice and body image. Her empowering work has garnered a coast-to-coast audience that eagerly awaits SHRILL,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brazillionaires: Wealth, Power, Decadence, and Hope in an American Country

Alex Cuadros · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

For readers of Michael Lewis comes an engrossing tale of global financial inequality - intertwined with the story of Brazil's wealthiest citizen, Eike Batista - that begins to answer the question: Who exactly are our new hyperwealthy plutocrats, and should we welcome or fear them? When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Russian Tattoo: A Memoir

Elena Gorokhova · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of A Mountain of Crumbs, a brilliant and illuminating BookPage portrait of mothers and daughters that reaches from Cold War Russia to modern-day New Jersey to show how the ties that hold you back can also teach you how to start over. Elena Gorokhova moves to the US in her twenties...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Sleeping Dragon: Learning China from the Ground Up

Michael J Meyer · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the highly praised author of The Last Days of Old Beijing, a brilliant portrait of China today and a memoir of coming of age in a country in transition. In 1995, at the age of twenty-three, Michael Meyer joined the Peace Corps and, after rejecting offers to go to seven other countries,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paul McCartney: The Life

Philip Norman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 853
Format: Hardcover

The definitive Paul McCartney biography, written with his approval by bestselling biographer Philip Norman.Since the age of twenty-one, Paul McCartney has lived one of the ultimate rock-n-roll lives played out on the most public of stages. Now, Paul's story is told by rock music's foremost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
81 Days Below Zero: The Incredible Survival Story of a World War II Pilot in Alaska's Frozen Wilderness

Brian Murphy · Da Capo
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

Shortly before Christmas in 1943, five Army aviators left Alaska's Ladd Field on a test flight. Only one ever returned: Leon Crane, a city kid from Philadelphia with little more than a parachute on his back when he bailed from his B-24 Liberator before it crashed into the Arctic. Alone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man with the Poison Gun: A Cold War Spy Story

Serhii Plokhy · Basic Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

"From one of the foremost historians of the former Soviet Union, a nonfiction spy thriller about a KGB assassin whose defection to the West changed the face of Cold War espionage" In the fall of 1961, KGB assassin Bogdan Stashinsky defected to West Germany. After spilling his secrets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line

Eric Ripert · Random House
Pages: 247
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Hailed by Anthony Bourdain as "heartbreaking, horrifying, poignant, and inspiring," 32 Yolks is the brave and affecting coming-of-age story about the making of a French chef, from the culinary icon behind the renowned New York City restaurant Le Bernardin....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause

Shawn Wen · Sarabande Books
Pages: 136
Format: Paperback

An Indie Next Pick for July 2017 "A unique, poetic critical appreciation of Marcel Marceau... . A fascinating book... . Readers will marvel not only at Marceau, but at the book itself, which displays such command of the material and such perfect pitch. " --Kirkus Reviews, starred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Berenice Abbott: A Life in Photography

JULIA VAN HAAFTEN · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

The comprehensive biography of the iconic twentieth-century American photographer Berenice Abbott, a trailblazing documentary modernist, author, and inventor.Berenice Abbott is to American photography as Georgia O'Keeffe is to painting or Willa Cather to letters. She was a photographer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kick Kennedy: The Charmed Life and Tragic Death of the Favorite Kennedy Daughter

Barbara Leaming · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Kathleen "Kick" Kennedy was the incandescent life-force of the fabled Kennedy family, her father's acknowledged "favorite of all the children" and her brother Jack's "psychological twin." She was the Kennedy of Kennedys, sure of her privilege, magnetically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Empress of Art: Catherine the Great and the Transformation of Russia

Susan Jaques · Pegasus Books, 2016.
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Ruthless and passionate, Catherine the Great is singularly responsible for amassing one of the most awe-inspiring collections of art in the world and turning St. Petersburg in to a world wonder. The Empress of Art brings to life the creation of this captivating woman's greatest legacy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Herbie Hancock: Possibilities

Herbie Hancock · Viking; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The long-awaited memoir by one of the most influential and beloved musicians of our timeIn Herbie Hancock the legendary jazz musician and composer reflects on a life and a thriving career that has spanned seven decades. A true innovator, Hancock has had an enormous influence on both acoustic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best of Us: A Memoir

JOYCE MAYNARD · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Joyce Maynard, a memoir about discovering strength in the midst of great loss--"heart wrenching, inspiring, full of joy and tears and life." (Anne Lamott) In 2011, when she was in her late fifties, beloved author and journalist Joyce Maynard...
Read More check catalog