Back | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

Jennifer Ryan · Broadway Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

NATIONAL BESTSELLERFor readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Ladder to the Sky: A Novel

JOHN BOYNE · Hogarth
Format: Hardcover

The new novel from the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and The Heart's Invisible Furies, a seductive Highsmithian psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man who will stop at nothing in his pursuit of fameIf you look hard enough, you can find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alice Isn't Dead: A Novel

JOSEPH FINK · Harper Perennial
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of It Devours! and Welcome to Night Vale comes a fast-paced thriller about a truck driver searching across America for the wife she had long assumed to be dead."This is not a story. It's a road trip."Keisha Taylor lived a quiet life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweet Little Lies: A Novel

CAZ FREAR · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this gripping debut procedural, a young London policewoman must probe dark secrets buried deep in her own family's past to solve a murder and a long-ago disappearance.Your father is a liar. But is he a killer? Even liars tell the truth . . . sometimes.Twenty-six-year-old Cat Kinsella...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Melmoth: A Novel

SARAH PERRY · Custom House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For centuries, the mysterious dark-robed figure has roamed the globe, searching for those whose complicity and cowardice have fed into the rapids of history's darkest waters - and now, in Sarah Perry's breathtaking follow-up to The Essex Serpent, it is heading in our direction.It has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
King of the Road

R. S. Belcher · Tor Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Set in R.S. Belcher's urban fantasy Nightwise universe, the Brotherhood of the Wheel returns to explore the haunted byways and truck stops of the U.S. Interstate Highway System in King of the Road. Jimmie Aussapile, Lovina Marcou and Heck Sinclair are members of a secret society dedicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tony's Wife: A Novel

ADRIANA TRIGIANI · Harper
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Set in the lush Big Band era of the 1940s and World War II, this spellbinding saga from beloved New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani tells the story of two talented working class kids who marry and become a successful singing act, until time, temptation, and the responsibilities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No End of Bad

Ginny Fite

A DC conspiracy novel of grand proportions...Washington, DC, housewife Margaret Turnbull's world literally blows up after her husband, FBI agent Clay Turnbull, is falsely arrested and killed by agents working for an international drug cartel.Unbeknownst to Margare
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lone Star Ranger

Zane Grey

Excerpt from The Lone Star RangerSO it was in him, then - an inherited fighting instinct, a driving intensity to kill. He was the last of the Duanes, that old fighting stock of Texas. But not the memory of his dead father, nor the pleading of his soft-voiced mother, nor th
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Two-Plate Solution: A Novel of Culinary Mayhem in the Middle East

Hoge Raad. · Bancroft Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A James Beard Award-winning chef stands atop a 50-foot-high diving platform having just plated a competition-winning culinary masterpiece. He looks down, faints from fear of heights, and careens into the water below. Worst of all? He knocks over his dish on the way down. So begins The Two-Plate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Call Me Zebra

Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From an award-winning young author, a novel following a feisty heroine's idiosyncratic quest to reclaim her past by mining the wisdom of her literary icons - even as she navigates the murkier mysteries of love. Zebra is the last in a line of anarchists, atheists, and autodidacts. When war came,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Brush with Shadows

Anna Lee Huber · Berkley
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Sebastian Gage returns home to battle the ghosts of his past and prevent them from destroying his future with Kiera in the latest exciting installment in this national bestselling series.July 1831. It's been fifteen years since Sebastian Gage has set foot in Langstone Manor. Though he has shared...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Potter's Field

ROB HART · Polis Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Ash McKenna is my favorite kind of hero, a tough guy romantic with a smart mouth and a dark past." -- Chelsea CainThe final book in Rob Hart's acclaimed Ash McKenna series shows that Ash can go home again...but it might cost him everything.Amateur private investigator Ash McKenna...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Father of Lies

K J PARKER · Subterranean
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

Bringing together K. J. Parker's recent novellas and novelettes, totaling over 500 pages of wry, twisty fiction, Father of Lies delves into the arcane as never before. Set amid the world of Parker's critically acclaimed novels and award winning stories, as well as our own, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madness Is Better Than Defeat: A novel

Ned Beauman · Knopf
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A wild, astonishing literary thriller by arguably England's most accomplished young writer, about Manhattan and Hollywood in the 1930s, Mayan gods, and a CIA operation gone terribly wrong--the Man Booker short-listed Ned Beauman's magnum opus thus far.In 1938, two rival expeditions...
Read More check catalog