Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Sunburn: A Novel

LAURA LIPPMAN · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Madness Is Better Than Defeat: A novel

Ned Beauman · Knopf
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A wild, astonishing literary thriller by arguably England's most accomplished young writer, about Manhattan and Hollywood in the 1930s, Mayan gods, and a CIA operation gone terribly wrong--the Man Booker short-listed Ned Beauman's magnum opus thus far.In 1938, two rival expeditions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Throne of Caesar: A Mystery of Ancient Rome

Steven Saylor · Minotaur Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

In The Throne of Caesar, award-winning mystery author Steven Saylor turns to the most famous murder in history: It's Rome, 44 AD, and the Ides of March are approaching.Julius Caesar has been appointed dictator for life by the Roman Senate. Having pardoned his remaining enemies and rewarded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death of an Honest Man

M. C. Beaton · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Sergeant Hamish Macbeth--Scotland's most quick-witted but unambitious policeman--returns in M.C. Beaton's new mystery in her New York Times bestselling series.DEATH OF AN HONEST MANNobody loves an honest man, or that was what police sergeant Hamish Macbeth tried to tell newcomer Paul English....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sirens: A Novel

Joseph Knox · Crown
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The breathtakingly propulsive and stunningly assured debut thriller, perfect for readers of Tana French, Don Winslow and Dennis Lehane The mission is suicide. Infiltrating the inner circle of enigmatic criminal Zain Carver is dangerous enough. Pulling it off while also rescuing Isabelle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Masterpiece

Francine Rivers · Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Pages: 500
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Francine Rivers returns to her romance roots with this unexpected and redemptive love story, a probing tale that reminds us that mercy can shape even the most broken among us into an imperfect yet stunning masterpiece.A successful LA artist, Roman Velasco...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Home Fire: A Novel

Kamila Shamsie · Riverhead Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Ingenious ... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." - The New York Times LONGLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Chalk

Christopher J. Yates · Picador USA
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"This is the smart summer thriller you've been waiting for."--NPR's All Things ConsideredNAMED A MUST READ BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, BBC.COM, AND NEW YORK POSTA compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University in which a group of six students...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Numero Zero

Umberto Eco · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Pages: 191
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of The Name of the Rose and The Prague Cemetery, a novel about the murky world of media politics, conspiracy, and murder A newspaper committed to blackmail and mud slinging, rather than reporting the news. A paranoid editor, walking through the streets of Milan,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Without Merit: A Novel

Colleen Hoover · Atria Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends With Us and November 9 comes a moving and haunting novel of family, love, and the power of the truth."Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness." The Voss family is anything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roomies

Christina Lauren · Gallery Books
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

From subway to Broadway to happily ever after. Modern love in all its thrill, hilarity, and uncertainty has never been so compulsively readable as in New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren's (Beautiful Bastard, Dating You / Hating You) new romance.Marriages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peach

Emma Glass · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

Introducing a dazzling new literary voice--a wholly original novel as groundbreaking as the works of Eimear McBride and Max Porter.Something has happened to Peach. Staggering around the town streets in the aftermath of an assault, Peach feels a trickle of blood down her legs, a lingering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woman at 1,000 Degrees: A Novel

Hallgri?mur Helgason · Algonquin Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"I live here alone in a garage, together with a laptop computer and a hand grenade. It's pretty cozy." And . . . she's off. Eighty-year-old Herra Bjornsson, one of the most original narrators in literary history, takes readers along with her on a dazzling ride of a novel that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl in Times Square: A Novel

Paullina Simons · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 608
Format: Paperback

International bestselling author Paullina Simons delivers a riveting novel about a young woman whose search for her missing friend turns into a life-shattering odyssey.The truth will change her forever.Living in bustling New York City, Lily Quinn has plenty of distractions and is struggling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Old Scores: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel

WILL THOMAS · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In 1890, the first Japanese diplomatic delegation arrives in London to open an embassy. Cyrus Barker, private enquiry agent and occasional agent for the Foreign Service Office, is enlisted to display his personal Japanese garden to the visiting dignitaries.Later that night, Ambassador Toda...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cutting Edge

Ward Larsen · Forge Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A helicopter crash alters a Coast Guard rescue swimmer's life forever in Cutting Edge, a suspense thriller by USA Today bestselling author Ward LarsenTrey DeBolt is a young man at the crest of life. His role as a Coast Guard rescue swimmer in Alaska offers him a rewarding job and limitless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Night in Winter: A Novel

Simon Sebag Montefiore · Harper
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by a true story, prize-winning historian and acclaimed novelist Simon Sebag Montefiore explores the consequences of forbidden love in this heartbreaking epic of marriage, childhood, danger, and betrayal that unfolds in Stalins Moscow during the bleak days after World War II.As...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Darkness, Sing Me a Song

David Housewright · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

David Housewright's Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family in Darkness, Sing Me a Song.Holland Taylor is a PI who does simple background checks and other mostly unchallenging cases. Still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Friend: A Novel

Sigrid Nunez · Riverhead Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A moving story of love, friendship, grief, healing, and the magical bond between a woman and her dog.When a woman unexpectedly loses her lifelong best friend and mentor, she finds herself burdened with the unwanted dog he has left behind. Her own battle against grief is intensified by the mute...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich and Pretty: A Novel

RUMAAN ALAM · Ecco
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

"A sparkling debut." (People) "The perfect summer read... pitch perfect and wise" (Elle) "Smart, sharp, and beautifully made, Rumaan Alam's portrait of two childhood best friends transitioning into their adult lives is vividly rendered, set against a tantalizing...
Read More check catalog