Back All Non-Fiction | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Eat Like a Gilmore: The Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of Gilmore Girls

Kristi Carlson · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The infamous appetites of the Gilmore Girls are given their due in this fun, unofficial cookbook inspired by the show. Fans will eat up the delicious recipes honoring the chefs who fuel the science-defying metabolisms of Lorelai and Rory Gilmore. Whether you're a diehard fan or new to the scene,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Make Your Kid A Money Genius

Beth Kobliner · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From Beth Kobliner, the author of the bestselling personal finance bible Get a Financial Life - a new, must-have guide showing parents how to teach their children (from toddlers to young adults) to manage money in a smart way.Many of us think we can have the "money talk" when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
James and Dolley Madison: America's First Power Couple

Bruce Chadwick · Prometheus Books
Pages: 450
Format: Hardcover

This revealing new portrait of James and Dolley Madison introduces the reader to America's first power couple. Using recently uncovered troves of letters at the University of Virginia, among other sources, historian Bruce Chadwick has been able to reconstruct the details of the Madisons'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Confessions of a Secular Jesus Follower: Finding Answers in Jesus for Those Who Don't Believe

Tom Krattenmaker · Convergent
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

An award-winning USA Today columnist makes the case for how a Jesus freed from religion and politics meets the need for meaning and purpose in secular America. Tom Krattenmaker is part of a growing conversation centered at Yale University that acknowledges - and seeks to address...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Persian Painting

Sheila R Canby · Interlink Pub Group
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Jewel-like colors, rich patterns, precise execution and virtuoso draftmanship characterize the best of Persian miniature painting: the perfect realization of an ideal world. <P>This fully illustrated book provides a concise account of Persian painting from about 1300 to 1900. Beginning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Aisles Have Eyes: How Retailers Track Your Shopping, Strip Your Privacy, and Define Your Power

Joseph Turow · Yale University Press
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

A revealing and surprising look at the ways that aggressive consumer advertising and tracking, already pervasive online, are coming to a retail store near you By one expert's prediction, within twenty years half of Americans will have body implants that tell retailers how they feel about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strength Training for Fat Loss

Nick Tumminello · Human Kinetics; 1 edition
Format: Print book

No fads, gimmicks, or miracle claims. Just science-based programming, sensible strategies, and the results you desire. In Strength Training for Fat Loss, Nick Tumminello, renowned trainer and innovator in the field of human performance, explains how to use the 3 Cs of metabolic strength...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Addicts Know: 10 Lessons from Recovery to Benefit Everyone

Christopher Kennedy Lawford · Benbella Books
Pages: 212
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Christopher Kennedy Lawford revisits addiction in his latest book, What Addicts Know, this time framing the discussion in an entirely new way - the lessons addiction and recovery offer to those of us who haven't battled addiction.For too long, society...
Read More check catalog
 
 
George Washington's Journey: The President Forges a New Nation

T H Breen · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

This is George Washington in the surprising role of political strategist.T.H. Breen introduces us to a George Washington we rarely meet. During his first term as president, he decided that the only way to fulfill the Revolution was to take the new federal government directly to the people....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Bed: An Intimate History of Elizabeth's Court

Anna Whitelock · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 462
Format: Hardcover

From the private world of a beloved English queen, a story of intimacy, royalty, espionage, rumor, and subterfugeQueen Elizabeth I acceded to the throne in 1558, restoring the Protestant faith to England. At the heart of the new queen's court lay her bedchamber, closely guarded by the favored...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All or Nothing: One Chef's Appetite for the Extreme

Jesse Schenker · Dey Street Books
Format: Hardcover

Blending Kitchen Confidential, Blood, Bones & Butter, and Breaking Bad, a culinary memoir that illuminates the highs and lows of addiction, anxiety, and ambition in the world of haute cuisine. Thirty-one-year-old Jesse Schenker has rocketed to the top of the culinary world. An Iron...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tree of Life: Turkish Home Cooking

Joy E Stocke · Burgess Lea Pr
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Based on the memoir Anatolian Days and Nights, Tree of Life presents 100 accessible recipes inspired by Turkish food traditions found in the authors' travels. When Joy Stocke and Angie Brenner first met on the balcony of a guesthouse in a small resort town on the Mediterranean coast,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vampira: Dark Goddess of Horror

W. Scott Poole · Soft Skull Press
Format: Print book

The new book from award-winning historian W. Scott Poole is a whip-smart piece of pop culture detailing the story of cult horror figure Vampira that actually tells the much wider story of 1950s America and its treatment of women and sex, as well as capturing a fascinating swath of Los Angeles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
1000 Juices, Green Drinks and Smoothies

Deborah Gray · Firefly Books
Format: Hardcover

An informative and appealing full-color guide for new and devoted juicers alike. 1000 Juices, Green Drinks and Smoothies is the ultimate guide to juicing, with 100 foundation juices and 900 variations. It provides all of the essential information on equipment, fruit and vegetable ingredients...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog