Back Psychology & Philosophy | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
Headspace: The Psychology of City Living

Paul Keedwell · Aurum Press Ltd
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

The urban city and town landscape has changed and is changing. City population is increasing at rapid speed and with it a new landscape has developed: increased high rise buildings, modern glass and concrete mixed with historic brick. In response to this urban growth comes new questions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lead Yourself First: Inspiring Leadership Through Solitude

RAYMOND M KETHLEDGE · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A guide to the role of solitude in good leadership, including profiles of historical and contemporary figures who have used solitude to lead with courage, creativity, and strength.Throughout history, leaders have used solitude as a matter of course. Eisenhower wrote memoranda to himself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
River of Time: My Descent into Depression and How I Emerged with Hope

Naomi Judd · Center St
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Bestselling author and Grammy-winning musical superstar Naomi Judd shares her devastating personal story with depression to spread awareness and encourage others with the disease. The world knows Naomi Judd as one of the most successful and best-loved country music stars ever. What the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Think You're Totally Wrong: A Quarrel

David Shields · Knopf
Format: Hardcover

"An impassioned, funny, probing, fiercely inconclusive, nearly-to-the-death debate, about life and art-cocktails included. Caleb Powell always wanted to become an artist, but he overcommitted to life (he's a stay-at-home dad to three young girls) . David Shields always wanted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cyber Effect: A Pioneering Cyberpsychologist Explains How Human Behavior Changes Online

Mary Aiken · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

A groundbreaking exploration of how cyberspace is changing the way we think, feel, and behave Mary Aiken is the world's leading expert in forensic cyberpsychology - a discipline that combines psychology, criminology, and technology to investigate the intersection where technology...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No One Cares About Crazy People: The Chaos and Heartbreak of Mental Health in America

Ron Powers · Hachette Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

New York Times-bestselling author Ron Powers offers a searching, richly researched narrative of the social history of mental illness in America paired with the deeply personal story of his two sons' battles with schizophrenia. From the centuries of torture of "lunatiks" at Bedlam...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inner engineering : a Yogi's guide to joy

Jaggi Vasudev Sadhguru · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Thought leader, visionary, philanthropist, mystic, and yogi Sadhguru presents Western readers with time-tested technologies to achieve absolute well-being. The founder of the Isha Foundation, an all-volunteer organization involved in large-scale humanitarian, educational, and environmental...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Because We Are Bad: OCD and a Girl Lost in Thought

Lily Bailey · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Written with the indelible power of Girl, Interrupted, Brain on Fire, and Reasons to Stay Alive, a lyrical, poignant memoir by a young woman about her childhood battle with debilitating obsessive compulsive disorder, and her hard-won journey to recovery.By the age of thirteen, Lily Bailey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Mind: How Collective Intelligence Can Change Our World

Geoff Mulgan · Princeton University Press
Pages: 280
Format: Hardcover

A new field of collective intelligence has emerged in the last few years, prompted by a wave of digital technologies that make it possible for organizations and societies to think at large scale. This "bigger mind" -- human and machine capabilities working together -- has the potential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weekend Effect: The Life-Changing Benefits of Taking Time Off and Challenging the Cult of Overwork

KATRINA ONSTAD · HarperOne
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Encroaching work demands - coupled with domestic chores, overbooked schedules, and the incessant pinging of our devices - have taken a toll on what used to be our free time: the weekend. With no space to tune out and recharge, every aspect of our lives is suffering: our health is deteriorating,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
America the Anxious: How Our Pursuit of Happiness Is Creating a Nation of Nervous Wrecks

Ruth Whippman · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Are you happy? Right now? Happy enough? As happy as everyone else? Could you be happier if you tried harder?After she packed up her British worldview (that most things were basically rubbish) and moved to America, journalist and documentary filmmaker Ruth Whippman found herself increasingly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marijuana: Examining the Facts

Karen Van Gundy · ABC-CLIO
Pages: 250
Format: Hardcover

Drawing on scientific evidence from medicine, psychology, criminology, and sociology, this book explores the veracity of claims about marijuana use and misuse.* Provides a one-stop resource for straight answers on the impacts -- good and bad -- of marijuana use in the United States* Outlines...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention

Meredith Maran · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a "lusty, kickass*" post-divorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life's savings, and the collapse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The State of Affairs: Rethinking Infidelity

ESTHER PEREL · HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Format: Audiobook

[*Read by the author - Esther Perel] Iconic couples' therapist and bestselling author of Mating in Captivity, Esther Perel returns with a provocative look at relationships through the lens of infidelity. Affairs, she argues, have a lot to teach us about the human heart -- what we expect,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pleasurable Weight Loss: The Secrets to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Loving Your Life Today

Jena la Flamme · Sounds True
Pages: 276
Format: Hardcover

"The key to losing weight is not about enjoying less," teaches Jena la Flamme, "it's about enjoying more." This revolutionary insight has allowed thousands of Jena's students to lose weight without boring food plans, arduous rules, or punishing exercise. Why does...
Read More check catalog