Back Politics | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
The New Urban Crisis: How Our Cities Are Increasing Inequality, Deepening Segregation, and Failing the Middle Class—and What We Can Do About It

Richard Florida · Basic Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In recent years, the young, educated, and affluent have surged back into cities, reversing decades of suburban flight and urban decline. And yet all is not well, Richard Florida argues in The New Urban Crisis. Florida, one of the first scholars to anticipate this back-to-the-city movement...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Higher Education in Crisis?: What Everyone Needs to Know®

Goldie Blumenstyk · Oxford University Press, USA
Pages: 198
Format: Paperback

American higher education is at a crossroads. Technological innovations and disruptive market forces are buffeting colleges and universities at the very time their financial structure grows increasingly fragile. Disinvestment by states has driven up tuition prices at public colleges, and student...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cut Adrift: Families in Insecure Times

Marianne Cooper · University of California Press
Pages: 296
Format: Print book

Cut Adrift makes an important and original contribution to the national conversation about inequality and risk in American society. Set against the backdrop of rising economic insecurity and rolled-up safety nets, Marianne Cooper's probing analysis explores what keeps Americans up at night....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Looking behind the Label: Global Industries and the Conscientious Consumer

Tim Bartley · Indiana University Press
Format: Hardcover

What does it mean when consumers shop with a conscience and choose products labeled as fair or sustainable? Does this translate into meaningful changes in global production processes? To what extent are voluntary standards implemented and enforced, and can they really govern global industries?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Library Service Design: A LITA Guide to Holistic Assessment, Insight, and Improvement

Joe Marquez · Rowman & Littlefield
Pages: 156
Format: Print book

Service design is a holistic, co-creative, and user-centered approach to understanding user behavior for creating or refining services. Use this LITA Guide to help as a toolkit for implementing service design studies and projects at all types of libraries. It begins with directions for how to create...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year of Voting Dangerously The Derangement of American Politics

Maureen Dowd · Twelve
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Maureen Dowd's incendiary takes and takedowns from 2016--the most bizarre, disruptive and divisive Presidential race in modern history. Trapped between two candidates with the highest recorded unfavorables, Americans are plunged into The Year of Voting Dangerously. In this perilous and shocking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Legal Guide for Lesbian & Gay Couples

Frederick Hertz · NOLO; Seventeenth Edition edition
Format: Paperback

Laws affecting LGBT couples are changing rapidly, and while its an exciting time for all gay and lesbian partners, keeping up with the myriad ways the shifting legal landscape touches your family life can be daunting. Now more than ever, its important that you take the proper legal steps...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unprecedented: The Election That Changed Everything

Thomas Lake · Melcher Media
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Unprecedented's second printing features a new cover for the inauguration, with an exclusive portrait of the president-elect.Packed with exclusive photojournalism and new revelations straight from the front lines, Unprecedented: The Election That Changed Everything chronicles the most hard-...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trouble in the Tribe: The American Jewish Conflict over Israel

Dov Waxman · Princeton University Press
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

Trouble in the Tribe explores the increasingly contentious place of Israel in the American Jewish community. In a fundamental shift, growing numbers of American Jews have become less willing to unquestioningly support Israel and more willing to publicly criticize its government. More than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Queer Virtue: What LGBTQ People Know About Life and Love and How It Can Revitalize Christianity

Elizabeth M Edman · Beacon Press
Pages: 181
Format: Print book

LGBTQ people are a gift to the Church and have the potential to revitalize Christianity.As an openly lesbian Episcopal priest and professional advocate for LGBTQ justice, the Reverend Elizabeth Edman has spent her career grappling with the core tenets of her faith. After deep reflection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Utopia for Realists: Why Making the World a Better Place Isn¿t a Fantasy and How We Can Do It

Rutger Bregman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From one of Europe's leading young thinkers, a brief history of utopia and a pragmatic manifesto for how to improve the lives of the 99 percent todayA majority of Americans report that they would take two extra weeks of vacation above two extra weeks of salary, half of all business professionals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kingdom of Olives and Ash: Writers Confront the Occupation

Michael Chabon · Harper Perennial
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

A groundbreaking collection of essays by celebrated international writers bears witness to the human cost of fifty years of Israeli occupation of the West Bank and Gaza. In Kingdom of Olives and Ash, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, two of today's most renowned novelists and essayists,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rising Star: The Making of Barack Obama

DAVID GARROW · William Morrow
Pages: 1472
Format: Hardcover

As epic in vision and rigorous in detail as Robert Caro's The Years of Lyndon Johnson series, the definitive account of Barack Obama's life before he became the 44th president of the United States - the formative years, confluence of forces, and influential figures who helped shaped an extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Michelle Obama: A Photographic Journey

INC STERLING PUBLISHING CO · Sterling
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A stunning pictorial celebration of one of the most beloved First Ladies of our time: Michelle Obama. With 140 photographs, inspiring quotes, and excerpts from five historic speeches, this gorgeous volume pays tribute to Michelle Obama. Although it primarily focuses on 2007 to 2016, the book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drone Warrior: An Elite Soldier's Inside Account of the Hunt for America's Most Dangerous Enemies

BRETT VELICOVICH · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A former Delta Force black ops member takes us inside America's covert drone war in this headline-making, never-before-told account for fans of Zero Dark Thirty and Lone Survivor, told by a Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal writer and filled with eye-opening and sure to be controversial...
Read More check catalog