Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
BiblioTech: Why Libraries Matter More Than Ever in the Age of Google

John Palfrey · Basic Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Libraries today are more important than ever. More than just book repositories, libraries can become bulwarks against some of the most crucial challenges of our age: unequal access to education, jobs, and information.In BiblioTech, educator and technology expert John Palfrey argues that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warnings: Finding Cassandras to Stop Catastrophes

RICHARD A CLARKE · ECCO
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fascism Old and New: American Politics at the Crossroads

Carl Boggs · Routledge
Pages: 225
Format: Hardcover

Deep historical trends suggest the United States could be moving toward a distinctly novel form of fascism, embracing elements of the historical phenomenon as it appeared in such countries as Italy, Germany, Japan, and Spain while departing in significant ways. A twenty-first century fascism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Coloring Book: A Comedian Solves Race Relations in America

Colin Quinn · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From former SNL "Weekend Update" host and legendary stand-up Colin Quinn comes a controversial and laugh-out-loud investigation into cultural and ethnic stereotypes.Colin Quinn has noticed a trend during his decades on the road-that Americans' increasing political correctness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando

PAUL KIX · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Agent Zigzag comes this breathtaking biography, as fast-paced and emotionally intuitive as the very best spy thrillers, which illuminates an unsung hero of the French Resistance during World War II - Robert de La Rochefoucald, an aristocrat turned anti-Nazi saboteur...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World as It Is: A Memoir of the Obama White House

BEN RHODES · Random House
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From one of Obama's closest aides comes a revelatory, behind-the-scenes account of his presidency - and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive - in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.'s A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House. For nearly ten years,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Closing the Courthouse Door: How Your Constitutional Rights Became Unenforceable

Erwin Chemerinsky · Yale University Press
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

A leading legal scholar explores how the constitutional right to seek justice has been restricted by the Supreme Court The Supreme Court's decisions on constitutional rights are well known and much talked about. But individuals who want to defend those rights need something else as well:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secret Empires: How the American Political Class Hides Corruption and Enriches Family and Friends

PIETER WEIZER · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Corruption has created a crisis of confidence in our government. In recent surveys, three out of four Americans believe that there is ''widespread government corruption,'' and only nineteen percent of the American people trust the federal government to do the right thing.New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women

Susan Burton · The New Press
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

One woman's remarkable odyssey from tragedy to prison to recovery - and recognition as a leading figure in the national justice reform movementSusan Burton's world changed in an instant when her five-year-old son was killed by a van driving down their street. Consumed by grief and without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brothers of the Gun: A Memoir of the Syrian War

MARWAN HISHAM · One World
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A bracingly immediate memoir of the Syrian war from its inception to the present by a young man coming of age and finding his voice as a journalist, whose friends traveled divergent paths through the carnage. An intimate lens into the century's bloodiest conflict, and a profound meditation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enough Said: What's Gone Wrong with the Language of Politics?

Mark Thompson · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

There's a crisis of trust in politics across the western world. Public anger is rising and faith in conventional political leaders and parties is falling. Anti-politics, and the anti-politicians, have arrived. In Enough Said, President and CEO of The New York Times Company Mark Thompson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amity and Prosperity: One Family and the Fracturing of America

Eliza Griswold · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Prize-winning poet and journalist Eliza Griswold's Amity and Prosperity is an expose on how fracking shattered a rural Pennsylvania town, and how one lifelong resident brought the story into the national spotlight. This is an incredible true account of investigative journalism and a devastating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Happened

HILLARY RODHAM CLINTON · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 494
Format: Hardcover

"In the past, for reasons I try to explain, I've often felt I had to be careful in public, like I was up on a wire without a net. Now I'm letting my guard down." - Hillary Rodham Clinton, from the introduction of What HappenedFor the first time, Hillary Rodham Clinton reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Utopia for Realists: Why Making the World a Better Place Isn¿t a Fantasy and How We Can Do It

Rutger Bregman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From one of Europe's leading young thinkers, a brief history of utopia and a pragmatic manifesto for how to improve the lives of the 99 percent todayA majority of Americans report that they would take two extra weeks of vacation above two extra weeks of salary, half of all business professionals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE · ALFRED A KNOPF
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend. A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking her how to raise her baby...
Read More check catalog