Back Politics | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
War in 140 Characters: How Social Media Is Reshaping Conflict in the Twenty-First Century

David Patrikarakos · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A leading foreign correspondent looks at how social media has transformed the modern battlefield, and how wars are fought Modern warfare is a war of narratives, where bullets are fired both physically and virtually. Whether you are a president or a terrorist, if you don't understand how to deploy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bethlehem: Biography of a Town

Nicholas Blincoe · Nation Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable history of the beloved little town published in time for the holidays Bethlehem is so suffused with history and myth that it feels like an unreal city even to those who call it home. For many, Bethlehem remains the little town at the edge of the desert described in Biblical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Demand the Impossible!: A Radical Manifesto

William Ayers · Haymarket Books
Pages: 225
Format: Print book

In an era defined by mass incarceration, endless war, economic crisis, catastrophic environmental destruction, and a political system offering more of the same, radical social transformation has never been more urgent - or seemed more remote.A manifesto for movement-makers in extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Resilience Dividend: Being Strong in a World Where Things Go Wrong

Judith Rodin · PublicAffairs
Format: Hardcover

Building resilience—the ability to bounce back more quickly and effectively—is an urgent social and economic issue. Our interconnected world is susceptible to sudden and dramatic shocks and stresses: a cyber-attack, a new strain of virus, a structural failure, a violent storm,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enough Said: What's Gone Wrong with the Language of Politics?

Mark Thompson · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

There's a crisis of trust in politics across the western world. Public anger is rising and faith in conventional political leaders and parties is falling. Anti-politics, and the anti-politicians, have arrived. In Enough Said, President and CEO of The New York Times Company Mark Thompson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic

David Frum · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Builds on the author's March 2017 "How to Build an Autocracy" column in The Atlantic to explain how Donald Trump has undermined America's most important institutions as part of a carefully crafted plan to institute authoritarianism, in an account that explains how ongoing changes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nordic Theory of Everything: In Search of a Better Life

Anu Partanen · Harpercollins
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

A Finnish journalist, now a naturalized American citizen, asks Americans to draw on elements of the Nordic way of life to nurture a fairer, happier, more secure, and less stressful society for themselves and their children.Moving to America in 2008, Finnish journalist Anu Partanen quickly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NAMED BY THE TIMES AS ONE OF "6 BOOKS TO HELP UNDERSTAND TRUMP'S WIN" AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR-MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD "You will not read a more important book about America this year." - The Economist "A riveting book."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The People Are Going to Rise Like the Waters Upon Your Shore: A Story of American Rage

Jared Yates Sexton · Counterpoint
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

On June 14, 2016, Jared Yates Sexton reported from a Donald Trump rally in Greensboro, North Carolina. One of the first journalists to attend these rallies and give mainstream readers an idea of the raw anger that occurred there, Sexton found himself in the center of a maelstrom. Following...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Easternization: Asia's Rise and America's Decline From Obama to Trump and Beyond

Gideon Rachman · Other Press
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From the winner of the 2016 Orwell Prize and the European Press Prize for Commentator of the Year, a provocative analysis of how a new era of global instability has begun, as the flow of wealth and power turns from West to East. Easternization is the defining trend of our age - the growing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Radical Origins: Why We Are Losing the Battle Against Islamic Extremism?And How to Turn the Tide

Azeem Ibrahim · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Piercing and hard-hitting, an international expert pin-points the menacing rise of a radical ideology that is fueling ISIS and terror cells world-wide.More than thirteen years ago after the "War on Terror" was declared, many in the West now feel less secure than ever before. Many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Moonless, Starless Sky: Ordinary Women and Men Fighting Extremism in Africa

Alexis Okeowo · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"Absolutely essential reading, period."---Alexandra Fuller, bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight In the tradition of Behind the Beautiful Forevers, this is a masterful, humane work of literary journalism by New Yorker staff writer Alexis Okeowo--a vivid narrative...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forged in Crisis: The Power of Courageous Leadership in Turbulent Times

Nancy F Koehn · Scribner
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

From a brilliant historian at the Harvard Business School, here is a masterful, in-depth portrait of five extraordinary figures - Ernest Shackleton, Abraham Lincoln, Frederick Douglass, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and Rachel Carson - that illuminates how great leaders are made in times of adversity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exceptional: Why the World Needs a Powerful America

Richard B Cheney · Threshold Editions, 2015. ©2015
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

A new book by former Vice President and #1 New York Times bestselling author Dick Cheney and Liz Cheney.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drone Warrior: An Elite Soldier's Inside Account of the Hunt for America's Most Dangerous Enemies

BRETT VELICOVICH · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A former Delta Force black ops member takes us inside America's covert drone war in this headline-making, never-before-told account for fans of Zero Dark Thirty and Lone Survivor, told by a Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal writer and filled with eye-opening and sure to be controversial...
Read More check catalog