Back History | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Marches: A Borderland Journey between England and Scotland

Rory Stewart · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of The Places in Between, "a flat-out masterpiece" (New York Times Book Review) , an exploration of the Marches - the borderland between England and Scotland - and the people, history, and conflicts that have shaped it In The Places in Between Rory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memories: From Moscow to the Black Sea

N A TeÃŒ?ffi · New York Review Books
Pages: 296
Format: Print book

Considered Teffi's single greatest work, Memories: From Moscow to the Black Sea is a deeply personal account of the author's last months in Russia and Ukraine, suffused with her acute awareness of the political currents churning around her, many of which have now resurfaced.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Books Went to War: The Stories that Helped Us Win World War II

Molly Guptill Manning · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014.
Pages: 267
Format: Print book

When America entered World War II in 1941, we faced an enemy that had banned and burned over 100 million books and caused fearful citizens to hide or destroy many more. Outraged librarians launched a campaign to send free books to American troops and gathered 20 million hardcover donations....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shoot Like a Girl: One Woman's Dramatic Fight in Afghanistan and on the Home Front

Mary Jennings Hegar · New American Library
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE"Shoot Like a Girl is a must-read about an American patriot whose courage and determination will have a lasting impact on the future of our Armed Forces and the nation." - Senator John McCainOn June 29, 2009, Air National Guard major Mary Jennings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Palimpsest: A History of the Written Word

Matthew Battles · W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Hardcover

A profound, eloquent meditation on the history of writing, from Mesopotamia to multimedia.Why does writing exist? What does it mean to those who write? Born from the interplay of natural and cultural history, the seemingly magical act of writing has continually expanded our consciousness....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Quit: From Alaskan Wilderness Rescues to Afghanistan Firefights as an Elite Special Ops PJ

Jimmy Settle · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

"That Others May Live" is a mantra that defines the fearless men of Alaska's 212th Pararescue Unit, the PJs, one of the most elite military forces on the planet. Whether they are rescuing citizens injured and freezing in the Alaskan wilderness or saving wounded Rangers and SEALS...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination That Changed America

Wil Haygood · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Thurgood Marshall brought down the separate-but-equal doctrine, integrated schools, and not only fought for human rights and human dignity but also made them impossible to deny in the courts and in the streets. In this stunning new biography, award-winning author Wil Haygood surpasses the emotional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American treasures : the secret efforts to save the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Gettysburg Address

Stephen Puleo · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

On December 26, 1941, Secret Service Agent Harry E. Neal stood on a platform at Washington's Union Station, watching a train chug off into the dark and feeling at once relieved and inexorably anxious. These were dire times: as Hitler's armies plowed across Europe, seizing or destroying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh Florida! : how America's weirdest state influences the rest of the country

Craig Pittman · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Oh, Florida! That name. That combination of sounds. Three simple syllables, and yet packing so many mixed messages. To some people, it's a paradise. To others, it's a punchline. As Oh, Florida! shows, it's both of these - and, more importantly, it's a Petri dish, producing trends that end up influencing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Spark: How Imagination Made Humans Exceptional

Agustín Fuentes · Dutton
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Jared Diamond s million-copy-selling classic "Guns, Germs, and Steel, " a bold new synthesis of paleontology, archaeology, genetics, and anthropology that overturns misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself, answering an age-old question:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Detail of History: The harrowing true story of a boy who survived the Nazi Holocaust

Arek Hersh · Apostrophe Books
Pages: 173
Format: Print book

How do you survive when you're 11 years old and all your family have been taken from you and killed? How do you continue to live, when everything around you is designed to ensure certain death? Arek Hersh tells his story simply and honestly, a moving account of a little boy who made...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blitzed: Drugs in the Third Reich

Norman Ohler · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A fast-paced narrative that discovers a surprising perspective on World War II: Nazi Germany's all-consuming reliance on drugs The Nazi regime preached an ideology of physical, mental, and moral purity. But as Norman Ohler reveals in this gripping new history, the Third Reich was saturated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Birth of a Nation: How a Legendary Filmmaker and a Crusading Editor Reignited America's Civil War

Dick Lehr · PublicAffairs
Format: Hardcover

In 1915, two men - one a journalist agitator, the other a technically brilliant filmmaker - incited a public confrontation that roiled America, pitting black against white, Hollywood against Boston, and free speech against civil rights.Monroe Trotter and D. W. Griffith were fighting over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

Peter Stark · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 366
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder by Candlelight: The Gruesome Crimes Behind Our Romance with the Macabre

Michael Knox Beran · Pegasus Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Arguing that it is "less the quality of the crimes than the attitude of the age which determines the gruesomeness of its murders," Michael Beran brings to life the ghastly ambiance of a vanished epoch, and gives us a terrifying glimpse of the horror beneath the seeming civility...
Read More check catalog