Back Health, Mind & Body | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
No Apparent Distress: A Doctor's Coming-of-Age on the Front Lines of American Medicine

Rachel Pearson · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A brutally frank memoir about doctors and patients in a health care system that puts the poor at risk.In medical charts, the term "N.A.D." (No Apparent Distress) is used for patients who appear stable. The phrase also aptly describes America's medical system when it comes to treating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fix-It and Forget-It Slow Cooker Diabetic Cookbook: 550 Slow Cooker Favorites—to Include Everyone

Phyllis Good · Good Books; Revised Edition edition
Format: Print book

The classic slow cooker cookbook for diabetics--with nearly 600,000 copies sold--now available in a larger format! Millions of home cooks have fallen in love with the Fix-It and Forget-It cookbooks since the first title was released more than a dozen years ago. Now, these same beloved cookbooks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crohn's and Colitis Diet Guide: Includes 175 Recipes

Dr. Hillary Steinhart · Firefly Books Ltd
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Diet is a huge priority for anyone living with Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis. The authors provide crucial guidance for families, friends and caregivers too in helping to manage IBD (Inflammatory Bowel Disease) symptoms. This updated second edition, in a very informative and easy-to-understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alpha Docs: The Making of a Cardiologist

Daniel Muñoz · Random House Inc
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Scott Turow's One L and Atul Gawande's Better comes a real-time, real-life chronicle from an impassioned young doctor on the front lines of high-stakes cardiology.It takes drive, persistence, and plenty of stamina to practice cardiology at the highest level....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stitch of Time: The Year a Brain Injury Changed My Language and Life

Lauren Marks · Simon and Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

For fans of Brain on Fire and My Stroke of Insight, an incredible first-person account of one woman's journey to regaining her language and identity after a brain aneurysm affects her ability to communicate.Lauren Marks was twenty-seven, touring a show in Scotland with her friends,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I am Haunted: Living Life Through the Dead

Zak Bagans · Victory Belt Publishing
Format: Hardcover

Paranormal investigator Zak Bagans has traveled all over the world, seeking answers to life's deepest and most terrifying mysteries. What happens when we die? Why do some spirits move on while others remain stuck in some sort of in-between place? What do the spirits really want from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleep Soundly Every Night, Feel Fantastic Every Day: A Doctor's Guide to Solving Your Sleep Problems

Robert Rosenberg DO FCCP · Demos Health; 1 edition
Format: Print book

If you have insomnia, always feel tired, or can't sleep because of a restless or snoring partner, help is here. Do you have trouble getting to sleep? Do you take a long time to get up and get going in the morning? Do you wake up feeling like you barely slept at all? If you or someone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gluten Exposed: The Science Behind the Hype and How to Navigate to a Healthy, Symptom-Free Life

Peter H R M D Green · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"There's a lot of confusion surrounding gluten - whether eliminating it can help you lose weight, clear brain fog, cure stomach issues and more. The brilliant and renowned Dr. Peter Green, and science writer Rory Jones, have cut through the confusion to provide evidence-based answers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inferno: A Doctor's Ebola Story

Steven M D Hatch · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 303
Format: Hardcover

Dr. Steven Hatch first came to Liberia in November 2013, to work at a hospital in Monrovia. Six months later, several of the physicians Dr. Hatch had mentored and served with were dead or barely clinging to life, and Ebola had become a world health emergency. Hundreds of victims perished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Worm at the Core: On the Role of Death in Life

Sheldon Solomon · Random House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A transformative, fascinating theory - based on robust and groundbreaking experimental research - reveals how our unconscious fear of death powers almost everything we do, shining a light on the hidden motives that drive human behavior More than one hundred years ago, the American philosopher...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harper
Pages: 383
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy Orenstein,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Bone to Pick: The good and bad news about food, with wisdom and advice on diets, food safety, GMOs, farming, and more

Mark Bittman · Pam Krauss Books
Format: Hardcover

Since his New York Times op-ed column debuted in 2011, Mark Bittman has emerged as one of our most impassioned and opinionated observers of the food landscape. The Times' only dedicated opinion columnist covering the food beat, Bittman routinely makes readers think twice about how the food...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kaplan PCAT 2015-2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with 2 Practice Tests: Book + Online

Kaplan · Kaplan Publishing; Pap/Psc edition
Format: Print book

Kaplan Test Prep is the only PCAT prep provider to be endorsed as the official providers of PCAT prep by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy AACP. Formulated to match the newest PCAT Blueprint, Kaplan PCAT 20152016 Strategies, Practice, and Review includes all the content...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Loves You: 7 Spiritual Practices to Heal Your Life

Louise L Hay · Hay House Inc
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Life loves youand you have the power within youto create a life you love. Life loves you is one of Louise Hay's best-loved affirmations. It is the heart thought that represents her life and her work. Together, Louise and Robert Holden look at what life loves you really means - that...
Read More check catalog