Back Health, Mind & Body | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
The Clarity Cleanse: 12 Steps to Finding Renewed Energy, Spiritual Fulfillment, and Emotional Healing

Habib Sadeghi · Grand Central Life & Style
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A liberating 12-step guide to recognizing the emotional issues that hold us back, with strategies to increase our energy and help us reach our full potential, by the health and spiritual advisor to Gwyneth Paltrow.A regular GOOP contributor in health and spirituality, Dr. Sadeghi offers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inferno: A Doctor's Ebola Story

Steven M D Hatch · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 303
Format: Hardcover

Dr. Steven Hatch first came to Liberia in November 2013, to work at a hospital in Monrovia. Six months later, several of the physicians Dr. Hatch had mentored and served with were dead or barely clinging to life, and Ebola had become a world health emergency. Hundreds of victims perished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dental Herbalism: Natural Therapies for the Mouth

Leslie M. Alexander Ph.D. RH · Healing Arts Press; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

A comprehensive practical reference to herbal dental care for all ages Details the use of 41 safe and effective herbs for the mouth Explores 47 common conditions that affect the mouth, such as gingivitis, periodontitis, acid reflux, and tooth loss Provides recipes for herbal toothpastes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Toxin Toxout: Getting Harmful Chemicals Out of Our Bodies and Our World

Bruce Lourie · St. Martin's Press; Reprint edition
Format: Hardcover

How do I get this stuff out of me?Bruce Lourie and Rick Smith, two of North America's environmental leaders, have been asked this question on an almost daily basis since the publication of their runaway international bestseller, Slow Death by Rubber Duck: How the Toxic Chemistry of Everyday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Getting Waisted: A Survival Guide to Being Fat in a Society That Loves Thin

Monica Parker · HCI; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

Monica Parker bridges the divide between serial dieter's survival guide and memoir, taking readers on a hilariously funny yet bumpy ride from chubby baby to chunky adult.In Getting Waisted, Monica begins every chapter with a diet she committed to and reveals how much weight, money,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Language of Kindness: A Nurse's Story

Christie Watson · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A moving, lyrical, beautifully-written portrait of a nurse and the lives she has touched Christie Watson spent twenty years as a nurse, and in this intimate, poignant, and remarkably powerful book, she opens the doors of the hospital and shares its secrets. She takes us by her side down...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of the Wasted Day

PATRICIA HAMPL · Viking
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"A sharp and unconventional book - a swirl of memoir, travelogue and biography of some of history's champion day-dreamers." - Maureen Corrigan, "Fresh Air"A spirited inquiry into the lost value of leisure and daydreamThe Art of the Wasted Day is a picaresque travelogue...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Metabolism Solution: Lose 1 Pound Per Day and Melt Belly Fat Fast!

Lisa Lynn · Next Century Publishing; 1 edition
Format: Print book

Are you ready to lose 1 pound a day? Have you tried every weight loss plan under the sun? Don't give up in frustration; The Metabolism Solution will make it faster and easier. What makes The Metabolism Solution different? It will teach you how to safely harness the power of your metabolism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beauty Sick: How the Cultural Obsession with Appearance Hurts Girls and Women

Renee Ph D Engeln · Harpercollins
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An award-winning Northwestern University psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Naomi Wolf, Peggy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sometimes Amazing Things Happen: Heartbreak and Hope on the Bellevue Hospital Psychiatric Prison Ward

Elizabeth Ford · Regan Arts
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From the Chief of Psychiatry for Correctional Health Services in New York City comes a revelatory and deeply compassionate memoir that takes readers inside Bellevue Hospital's forensic psychiatry unit and brings to life the world - the system, the staff, and the haunting cases - that shaped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Toxin Solution: How Hidden Poisons in the Air, Water, Food, and Products We Use Are Destroying Our Health--AND WHAT WE CAN DO TO FIX IT

Joseph E Pizzorno, Jr. · HarperOne
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Eliminate avoidable toxins, mitigate the effects of those you can't avoid, and enjoy a longer life with this essential health guide from a pioneer in integrative medicine, Dr. Joe Pizzorno - the author, teacher, practitioner, and founder of Bastyr University, the country's first and largest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What the F: What Swearing Reveals About Our Language, Our Brains, and Ourselves

Benjamin K Bergen · Basic Books
Pages: 271
Format: Hardcover

It may be starred, beeped, and censored--yet profanity is so appealing that we can't stop using it. In the funniest, clearest study to date, Benjamin Bergen explains why, and what that tells us about our language and brains.Nearly everyone swears-whether it's over a few too many drinks,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Allergy-free Cooking for Kids: More than 90 Yummy Savories & Sweets

Pamela Clark · Sterling Epicure
Pages: 183
Format: Paperback

With childhood allergies more widespread and severe than ever, there has never been a better time or greater need for this cookbook. It offers 90 everyday recipes for simple, tasty choices that will help parents cope with cooking for their food-sensitive child. The dishes include gluten-free,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lose Your Belly Diet: Change Your Gut, Change Your Life

Stork MD · Ghost Mountain Books
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

We want to be healthy. We want to be lean. And we want to lose that annoying fat around our bellies We can achieve ALL of these goals with The Lose Your Belly Diet. Based on exciting new research about the dramatic benefits of vibrant gut health and a diverse gut microbiome, this plan...
Read More check catalog