Back Entertainment | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Last Girl Before Freeway: The Life, Loves, Losses, and Liberation of Joan Rivers

Leslie Bennetts · Little
Pages: 419
Format: Print book

The definitive book about Joan Rivers' tumultuous, victorious, tragic, hilarious, and fascinating life.

Joan Rivers was more than a legendary comedian; she was an icon and a role model to millions, a fearless pioneer who left a legacy of expanded opportunity when she died...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mustache Shenanigans: Making Super Troopers and Other Adventures in Comedy

Jay Chandrasekhar · Dutton
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Director, writer, and actor Jay Chandrasekhar tells the hilarious history of his comedy group, Broken Lizard, and the making of the cult film Super Troopers, as well as the currently filming Super Troopers 2.

Jay Chandrasekhar has spent the past two decades writing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Frenchman Has One

Olivia De Havilland · Crown
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Back in print for the first time in decades, the delectable escapades of Hollywood legend Olivia de Havilland, who fell in love with a Frenchman - and then became a Parisian In 1953, Olivia de Havilland - already an Academy Award-winning actress for her roles in To Each His Own and The Heiress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Conversations with McCartney

Paul Du Noyer · The Overlook Press
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

The intimate portrayal of one of the most famous men in music, more than half of which is in McCartney's own words.

In June 1989, Paul Du Noyer was contacted by Paul McCartney's office in London. They asked him to interview the star; McCartney and Du Noyer had met once before and enjoyed...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Sam Shepard: A Life

JOHN WINTERS · Counterpoint
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

With more than 55 plays to his credit, including the 1979 Pulitzer Prize-winning Buried Child, Sam Shepard's impact on American theater ranks with the greatest playwrights of the past half-century. Critics have enthused that he "forged a whole new kind of American play," while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
According to Festus: Profound Words of Wisdom by Festus Haggen of Gunsmoke© Fame With Supporting Biblical Proverbs

Richard L Hamilton · Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Pages: 210
Format: Print book

According To Festus is a collection of 206 sayings and 71 stories of wisdom by Festus Haggen of Gunsmoke fame. Festus' sayings and stories are supported by Biblical Proverbs and Bible references. I hope you enjoy reading and pondering them as much as I did when I compiled them. Actor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Wayne: The Genuine Article

Michael Goldman · Insight Editions
Format: Print book

John Wayne: The Genuine Article provides readers a rare glimpse into the life of one of the most iconic movie stars of all time through a treasure trove of memorabilia, stories, and interviews. This definitive book includes John Wayne Enterprises' collection of never-before-seen letters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Just a Person

Tig Notaro · Ecco
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

One of America's most original comedic voices delivers a darkly funny, wryly observed, and emotionally raw account of her year of death, cancer, and epiphany.

In the span of four months in 2012, Tig Notaro was hospitalized for a debilitating intestinal disease called C. diff, her mother...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Thank You for Coming to Hattiesburg: One Comedian's Tour of Not-Quite-the-Biggest Cities in the World

Todd Barry · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the veteran comedian and actor from The Wrestler and Louie comes a hilarious book of travel essays from his time on tour through secondary markets in the US, Canada, and Israel.

Hello. It's Todd Barry. Yes, the massively famous comedian. I have billions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Actual One: How I Tried, and Failed, to Avoid Adulthood Forever

Isy Suttie · HarperPerennial
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A hilarious, razor-sharp debut memoir about the moment when you realize that your friends have all grown up and left you behind, for readers of Caitlin Moran's How To Be A Woman, Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend This Never Happened, and Kelly Williams Brown's Adulting. Isy Suttie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.

Popular and award-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tippi: A Memoir

Tippi Hedren · Harpercollins
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In this absorbing and surprising memoir, one of the biggest names of classic Hollywood - the star of Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Marnie - tells her story, including never-before-revealed experiences on the set of some of the biggest cult films of all time.

For decades, Tippi...

Read More check catalog
 
 
George lucas : a life

Brian Jay Jones · Little Brown and Company
Pages: 560
Format: Print book

The essential biography of the influential and beloved filmmaker George Lucas

On May 25, 1977, a problem-plagued, budget-straining independent science-fiction film opened in a mere thirty-two American movie theaters. Conceived, written, and directed by a little-known filmmaker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minecraft Mastery: Build Your Own Redstone Contraptions and Mods

Matthew Monk · McGraw-Hill/TAB Electronics; 1 edition
Format: Book

SUPERCHARGE YOUR MINECRAFT REDSTONE SKILLS Enhance your Minecraft world by creating innovative devices and elements with Redstone. Minecraft Mastery Build Your Own Redstone Contraptions and Mods reveals how to maximize the capabilities of this powerful, versatile red ore. Learn how to create...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There Goes My Social Life: From Clueless to Conservative

Stacey Dash · Regnery Publishing
Format: Hardcover

Stacey Dash didn't have the ideal American childhood. Growing up in the South Bronx, her friends were the hustlers, hookers, and gang members who struggled in the face of futility, who sold drugs instead of living on food stamps, who settled matters with fists, knives, and guns because...
Read More check catalog