Back Entertainment | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between

Lauren Graham · Ballantine Books
Pages: 209
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In this collection of personal essays, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood reveals stories about life, love, and working as a woman in Hollywood - along with behind-the-scenes dispatches from the set of the new Gilmore Girls, where she plays the fast-talking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amanda Wakes Up

ALISYN CAMEROTA · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The Devil Wears Prada meets Primary Colors in this breezy summer read, as seen in The New York Times, People, and O MagazineWhen Amanda Gallo, fresh from the backwater of local TV, lands the job of her dreams at FAIR News - the coveted morning anchor slot - she's finally made it: a six-figure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between Heaven and the Real World: My Story

Steven Curtis Chapman · Flemming H Revell
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

For decades, Steven Curtis Chapman's music and message have brought hope and inspiration to millions around the world. Now, for the first time, Steven openly shares the experiences that have shaped him, his faith, and his music in a life that has included incredible highs and faith-shaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hail to the Chin: Further Confessions of a B-Movie Actor

BRUCE CAMPBELL · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Introduction by New York Times bestselling author and famous minor television personality John HodgmanIt's been 15 years since his first memoir but Bruce is still living the dream as a "B" movie king in an "A" movie world.Bruce Campbell makes his triumphant return from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Away with Words: An Irreverent Tour Through the World of Pun Competitions

Joe Berkowitz · Harper Perennial
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
Theft by Finding: Diaries

DAVID SEDARIS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

One of the most anticipated books of 2017: Boston Globe, New York Times Book Review, New York's "Vulture", The Week, Bustle, BookRiotDavid Sedaris tells all in a book that is, literally, a lifetime in the makingIt's no coincidence that the world's best writers tend to keep diaries....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sam Shepard: A Life

JOHN WINTERS · Counterpoint
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

With more than 55 plays to his credit, including the 1979 Pulitzer Prize-winning Buried Child, Sam Shepard's impact on American theater ranks with the greatest playwrights of the past half-century. Critics have enthused that he "forged a whole new kind of American play," while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird in a World That's Not: A Career Guide for Misfits, F*ckups, and Failures

JENNIFER ROMOLINI · HarperBusiness
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An honest, sharp-witted, practical guide to help you get and keep the job you want - from an outsider whose been there and done it, a woman who went from being a broke, divorced, college dropout to running some of the biggest websites in the world.Jennifer Romolini started her career as an awkward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Letterman: The Last Giant of Late Night

Jason Zinoman · Harper
Pages: 345
Format: Hardcover

New York Times comedy critic Jason Zinoman delivers the definitive story of the life and artistic legacy of David Letterman, the greatest television talk show host of all time and the signature comedic voice of a generation.In a career spanning more than thirty years, David Letterman redefined...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Vibrations: My Life as a Beach Boy

Mike Love · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

The New York Times BestsellerMike Love tells the story of his legendary, raucous, and ultimately triumphant five-decade career as the front man of The Beach Boys, the most popular American band in history -- timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of "Good Vibrations." As a founding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Wayne: The Genuine Article

Michael Goldman · Insight Editions
Format: Print book

John Wayne: The Genuine Article provides readers a rare glimpse into the life of one of the most iconic movie stars of all time through a treasure trove of memorabilia, stories, and interviews. This definitive book includes John Wayne Enterprises' collection of never-before-seen letters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

Annie Spence · Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A Gen-X librarian's laugh-out-loud funny, deeply moving collection of love letters and break-up notes to the books in her life.Librarians spend their lives weeding. Not weeds, but books! Books that have reached the end of their shelf life, both literally and figuratively. They remove the ones...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Rich?: A Novel

Matthew Klam · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age - the long-awaited first novel from the the acclaimed author of Sam the CatEvery summer, a once-sort-of-famous forty-two-year-old cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How To Play And Win At Bridge: Rules Of The Game, Skills And Tactics

David Bird · Southwater
Format: Print book

A guide to bridge, its history, and how to play it with skill, this clear and effective tutorial for beginners covers all the basics to learn and improve your game.
Read More check catalog