Back | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Opening Wednesday at a Theater Or Drive-In Near You: The Shadow Cinema of the American '70s

Charles Taylor · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

"Movie criticism's Dostoyevsky . . . Taylor reveals a national identity forged from the innocence we claim to have lost but never had in the first place." --Steve Erickson, author of ZerovilleWhen we think of '70s cinema, we think of classics like The Godfather, Taxi Driver, and The Wild...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Wants It: Desire, Power, and Toppling the Patriarchy

Jill Soloway · Crown Archetype
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of the Emmy and Golden Globe-winning series Transparent, a poignant memoir of personal transformation set against the profound cultural upheaval and shifting power dynamics that continue to shape our society.In She Wants It, Jill Soloway takes us on a patriarchy-toppling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nevertheless: A Memoir

Alec Baldwin · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Sprinkle Glitter on My Grave: Observations, Rants, and Other Uplifting Thoughts About Life

Jill Kargman · Ballantine
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

The star of Bravo's breakout scripted comedy Odd Mom Out shares her razor-sharp wit and backhanded wisdom in a deeply observed and outrageously funny collection of musings, lists, essays, and outrages. From her unique lingo (things don't simply frighten her, they "M. Night Shyamalan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Love Story Ever Told: An Oral History

NICK OFFERMAN · Dutton
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

At last, the full story behind Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman's epic romance, including stories, portraits, and the occasional puzzle, all telling the smoldering tale that has fascinated Hollywood for over a decade.The year: 2000. The setting: Los Angeles. A gorgeous virtuoso of an actress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anyone Who's Anyone: The Astonishing Celebrity Interviews, 1987-2017

George Wayne · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From former Vanity Fair magazine's celebrity interviewer George Wayne comes a collection of piquant, poignant, and nostalgic interviews with some of the iconic personalities of our time, curated from his legendary magazine career.The man behind some of the most notorious celebrity interviews,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Murder of My Aunt

Richard Hull · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Paperback

WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY MARTIN EDWARDSEdward Powell lives with his Aunt Mildred in the Welsh town of Llwll. His aunt thinks Llwll an idyllic place to live, but Edward loathes the countryside - and thinks the company even worse. In fact, Edward has decided to murder his aunt.A darkly humorous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Just a Person

Tig Notaro · Ecco
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

One of America's most original comedic voices delivers a darkly funny, wryly observed, and emotionally raw account of her year of death, cancer, and epiphany.In the span of four months in 2012, Tig Notaro was hospitalized for a debilitating intestinal disease called C. diff, her mother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Calypso

David Sedaris · Little
Pages: 259
Format: Hardcover

David Sedaris returns with his most deeply personal and darkly hilarious book. If you've ever laughed your way through David Sedaris's cheerfully misanthropic stories, you might think you know what you're getting with Calypso. You'd be wrong. When he buys a beach house on the Carolina coast,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thanks, Obama: My Hopey Changey White House Years

David Litt · Ecco
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover

Remember when presidents spoke in complete sentences instead of in unhinged tweets? Former Obama speechwriter David Litt does. In his comic, coming-of-age memoir, he takes us back to the Obama years - and charts a path forward in the age of Trump. More than any other presidency, Barack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lou Reed: A Life

Anthony DeCurtis · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

The essential biography of one of music's most influential icons: Lou ReedAs lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground and a renowned solo artist, Lou Reed invented alternative rock. His music, at once a source of transcendent beauty and coruscating noise, violated all definitions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Body of Work: Dancing to the Edge and Back

David Hallberg · Touchstone
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

David Hallberg, the first American to join the famed Bolshoi Ballet as a principal dancer and the dazzling artist The New York Times described as "the foremost classical stylist of our day," presents an intimate journey through his artistic life up to the moment he returns to the stage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Balancing Acts: Behind the Scenes at London's National Theatre

NICHOLAS HYTNER · Knopf
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

From the Tony Award and Laurence Olivier Award-winning former director of London's National Theatre--this is a fascinating, candid, eloquent memoir about his career directing theater, producing films and opera, and working closely with some of the world's most celebrated actors. The list...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eat Cake. Be Brave.

MELISSA RADKE · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

My name is Melissa Radke, and there is a very real chance you have no idea who I am or why I wrote a book. But admit it, you're curious! Even though millions of people seem to like watching my videos bemoaning the trials of parenting, marriage, French braiding, faith, and living life...
Read More check catalog