Back Entertainment | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Peter O'Toole: The Definitive Biography

Robert Sellers · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

Peter O'Toole was supremely talented, a unique leading man and one of the most charismatic actors of his generation. Described by his friend Richard Burton as "the most original actor to come out of Britain since the war," O'Toole was also unpredictable, with a dangerous edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jewish Comedy: A Serious History

Jeremy Asher Dauber · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A celebrated scholar's rich account of Jewish humor: its nature, its development, and its vital role throughout Jewish history. In a major work of scholarship both erudite and very funny, Jeremy Dauber traces the origins of Jewish comedy and its development from biblical times to the age of Twitter....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bolshoi Confidential: Secrets of the Russian Ballet from the Rule of the Tsars to Today

Simon Morrison · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 507
Format: Print book

An enthralling, definitive new history of the Bolshoi Ballet, where visionary performances onstage compete with political machinations backstage.On a freezing night in January 2013, a hooded assailant hurled acid in the face of the artistic director of the Bolshoi Ballet. The crime, organized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Montaigne in Barn Boots: An Amateur Ambles Through Philosophy

MICHAEL PERRY · Harper
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The beloved memoirist and bestselling author of Population: 485 reflects on the lessons he's learned from his unlikely alter ego, French Renaissance philosopher Michel de Montaigne."The journey began on a gurney," writes Michael Perry, describing the debilitating kidney stone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Vibrations: My Life as a Beach Boy

Mike Love · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

The New York Times BestsellerMike Love tells the story of his legendary, raucous, and ultimately triumphant five-decade career as the front man of The Beach Boys, the most popular American band in history -- timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of "Good Vibrations." As a founding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine

Joe Hagan · Knopf
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

The first and only biography of Jann Wenner, the iconic founder of Rolling Stone magazine, and a romp through the hothouses of rock and roll, politics, media, and Hollywood, from the Summer of Love to the Internet age.Lennon. Dylan. Jagger. Belushi. Leibovitz. The story of Jann Wenner,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlton Heston: Hollywood's Last Icon

Marc Eliot · Dey Street Books
Pages: 576
Format: Print book

This is the definitive biography of one of the most iconic, complex and enduring legends of Hollywood's golden age, whose major presence in American film, radio, television, stage and theater lasted beyond the second half of the 20th Century, and whose classic films are known throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Have What She's Having: How Nora Ephron's Three Iconic Films Saved the Romantic Comedy

ERIN CARLSON · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A backstage look at the making of Nora Ephron's revered trilogy--When Harry Met Sally, You've Got Mail, and Sleepless in Seattle--which brought romantic comedies back to the fore, and an intimate portrait of the beloved writer/director who inspired a generation of Hollywood women, from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minecrafter 2.0 advanced : the unofficial guide to Minecraft & other building games

Joe Funk · Triumph Books LLC
Pages: 127
Format: Print book

In Minecrafter 2.0 Advanced, those who mastered the basics laid out in the first Minecrafter strategy guide now find tips on more complex areas of game play, including Redstone circuitry and other inventions, and advice for beating "The End."
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Leon: Philosophy of a Fool

BLACK. · Gallery Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Everyone's favorite houseguest who never left, Leon Black (played by award-winning comedian JB Smoove on HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm) drops his wisdom and good-bad advice for the masses. Learn the secrets Larry David has gleaned from the Falstaff of television. Live your best Leon. Bring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Call Me Supermensch: My Amazing Adventures in Rock 'n' Roll, Hollywood, and Haute Cuisine

Shep Gordon · Anthony Bourdain/Ecco
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

An eye-popping peek into entertainment industry from the magnetic force who has worked with an impeccable roster of stars throughout his storied career.In the course of his legendary career as a manager, agent, and producer, Shep Gordon has worked with, and befriended, some of the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between Heaven and the Real World: My Story

Steven Curtis Chapman · Flemming H Revell
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

For decades, Steven Curtis Chapman's music and message have brought hope and inspiration to millions around the world. Now, for the first time, Steven openly shares the experiences that have shaped him, his faith, and his music in a life that has included incredible highs and faith-shaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Steven Spielberg: A Life in Films

Molly Haskell · Yale University Press
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A film-centric portrait of the extraordinarily gifted movie director whose decades-long influence on American popular culture is unprecedented "Everything about me is in my films," Steven Spielberg has said. Taking this as a key to understanding the hugely successful moviemaker,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Rich?: A Novel

Matthew Klam · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age - the long-awaited first novel from the the acclaimed author of Sam the CatEvery summer, a once-sort-of-famous forty-two-year-old cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind...
Read More check catalog